We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
40
55
36
23
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
40
55
36
23
31
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 185 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

Beware this place is the worst we saw in 2 weeks in Crete. Not only is it a dump that should be condemned but the owners are also very dishonest. We booked the room through Airbnb which shows only 3 bed and 4 bed rooms as the options available. We went for the 3 bed option as we always like to have a bit of extra space. Upon check in they gave us the key for a room with 2 beds, so I wondered off to the reception to explain what I thought was a mix up. Unfortunately they told us that there were no 3 bed rooms available in fact she told us that they do not have any 3 bed rooms, which is untrue. So we had no choice as it was already late and I had just driven 4 hours across the island, we had to accept the room. When I got to the mosquito filled room and tried to have a shower which was not possible as there was no hot water. I checked the internet on other platforms to find that the room that we were given was half the price of what we had paid. We had been completely ripped off. So for the first time ever, we checked out the next day and were confronted by the lady telling us we will not be able to get a refund as we can't prove anything. To top it off she claimed that she knew that I was also a hotelier which is complete rubbish. We stayed in 4 other places in Crete which were far superior to this disgusting little place. Before the lady comes back by saying we knowingly booked the economy package that is totally untrue because they claimed to have '20 A class rooms' (see photo). Anyway we decided to leave Matala straight away which is a shame because it looks like it is a nice place but unfortunately Dimitris left a bitter taste in my mouth.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank englishman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatalaDimitrisVilla, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dimitris Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

Dear Mr Warner
first of all i want to thank you for your choose to use our Hotel for your stay in Matala with AIRBNB.
About your comments probably you have forget to write all the truth.
1) About triple or double let me remind you that your Reservation is for 1 Double-BB-ECONOMY room from the AIRBNB platform and NOT a Triple room as you request from our Manager , in AIRBNB the system when you put the choise "persons" and you choose the number "2" show you ONLY the Double rooms
2) After we show you all the AIRBNB papers about your Reservation you receive the room and you stay for the day and the next day the noon you have decide to let the Hotel without to pay and you have request the total ammount back...of cource we dont agree with that.
3) About the HOT WATER is totally untruth all you say becouse 30 days ago we have change the Solar System of the Hotel and the hot water is really to match for the 30 guest we have in the Hotel.
4) About the dirty room also is totally untruth becouse EVERY DAY there is a Cleaner who be in the Rooms and spend 30-40 minutes for every Room for Cleaning
5) ...and final after a "search" about you we found in many Hotel Guest Databases your "name" with similar problems who you do last year in June in your holidays in some others Hotel
Thank you again and try to be more honest when you write something just to receive some money back from your holidays.
Regards and i wish to you the best for the rest of the summer

Houstoulakis Dimitris
Hotel Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2019

We had booked this hotel and unfortunately the flights we had originally booked were cancelled so we had no choice but to rebook. When I emailed and asked if the property could recommend a taxi firm we might use for the transfer I received a rather rude response. Needless to say, I cancelled the booking so cannot comment on the hotel facilities.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank alisono22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatalaDimitrisVilla, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dimitris Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2019

Dear Mrs Alison hello
about your comments for our Hotel i have to remember you some things ...
1) i dont know how a Traveler has a "opinion" for a Hotel without never stay on the Hotel, as yo uhave never stay in our Hotel.
2)About your Reservation you forget to write that you have 2 times book a room with a Partner of us (TravelRepublic) and both times you have Cancel the Reservation after 2 months keep the Room "locked"
3)After your second CANCELATION you have send to me a email and ask me to give you information to use the Taxi Service becouse you will come in Matala but ....in ANOTHER HOTEL !!! and of cource i answer you to ask the "another Hotel" all this information about the "Taxi Services"....
i thing when you write comments for other people is not polite to hide all the story .
I wish you the best for your visit in our friendly Island
Regards

Houstoulakis Dimitris
Hotel Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018

It is not luxurious, but the a/c and refrigerator both work and are both quiet. The bathroom is cramped but works. The place is QUIET. Wonderful. Our hostess was friendly and sensibly attentive and the pool was just splendid. And it was exceptional value.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CretanEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

Lovely family run accommodation. Breakfast was good, especially the bread.
Nice pool.area which can get busy with not enough sunbeds.
Rooms cleaned regularly and are a good size.
Problems with checking in as arrived to find our room occupied so had to.use a different room and move next day. Our transfer driver though was very helpful.
We asked to keep our room til the evening but unfortunately someone was booked in. We were however offered another room for €30 until we left. It's a shame it wasn't ready until well in the afternoon.
Manager and staff were friendly.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jackie672015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights, the family of dimitris resort are amazing, full of good energy and they make you feel at
home.
The rooms are nice
And
The swimmingpool is amazing and the view is beautiful.
They can also help with a texi from the airport

We really recommend.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Maay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews