We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,044 results
Traveller rating
399
400
154
51
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
400
154
51
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelsuperior roomprivate beachnice poolpastriesbreakfast buffetold townpaid eurospoolside bardesk staffshuttle service to the beachlarge selectionhire carother hotelsmain beachwalk uplarge balcony
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 1,044 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I've travelled all over the world and have stayed in great hotels and hovels.... this hotel was fabulous! At eight years old it seems like it opened two weeks ago. Everything is fresh and new... very well maintained. The design and decoration is beautifully done, with quiet little spots to relax and enjoy. A full service spa... had an excellent massage too. Food well prepared and plentiful. I ate out several nights and should have just stayed at the hotel for a better meal. I want to mention several of the staff that went out of their way to make my stay memorable... Rosa, Arina, Salvatore and GianLuca! I was a solo traveler and they did so much to make me feel comfortable and at home, like looking up time schedules and recommending places to visit or dine. I called the owner over to tell him what a great hotel I thought he had.

Room Tip: Try staying in the rooms on the top floor. They might be a little smaller, but are beautifully decorated and excellently priced.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperlonga, Manager at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2012

Dear Customer,

Thanks for the nice words he wanted to dedicate to our hotel and our staff. We hope to be able to still have our welcome guest, and best regards from all of us ...!!

Pino Todaro - Sales Manager - Virgilio Grand Hotel - Sperlonga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Hotel is clean, fresh, very close to the beach, supermarket and restaurants in Sperlonga. Really nice place to stay if you would like to spend few days at the coast close to Rome.
Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were cleaned properly and on time (in the morning)
Breakfast was too sweet to my liking - lots o pastries, but it seems to be common in Italy. Still it was possible to find less sweet alternatives - bread, muslie and so on. It's not complain, just a comment.
If one is on vacations, why not :). Doughnuts were delilcious though...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kroliksweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Hotel is nice , taking into consideration that Sperlonga is not very big . Wireless available only in the lobby . Good breakfast but more italian style with not a lot of options . The rooms were very clean and new ! It was a very pleasent stay .

Room Tip: we book the room through booking.com and we got 135E/night double room in Mid july
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ionut C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The Hotel Virgillio is nice and modern but staff is extremely rude. When we checked in the two women in the office behind the front desk kept looking at us and talking to each other for several mintues before one of them finally got up and handled our check-in. It was like that our entire stay. The eye contact with them practically waiting for us to walk away and when we did not they finally talked to us. The staff at breakfast was warm and always had a smile. We felt unwelcome and for a 4-star hotel that is unacceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagnificentMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Great room, hydromassage shower, complimentary soft drinks, good air con, verandah, quiet, nice breakfast, clear pool, nice gardens. Picturesque town, sandy beach.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_Kayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneAmadeus, Public Relations Manager at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

Great comment? thanks a lot. Last year we changed the management and therefore all our policies and the results are your great comments. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews