We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
320
144
51
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
144
51
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town beautiful beach located right family run return next year cold meats seaside hotel great selection di mare fantastic hotel night stay room overlooking the sea large room beachfront location fantastic holiday rooms are comfortable beautiful flowers and plants
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The old town of sperlonga is quite cute and tiny. Looks a bit like Mykonos ( many white buildings and alleys). Mostly old crowd and not much young or night life options here. Most restaurants offer pizza and pasta and not much sea food although it’s on the sea. the restaurant choices are quite limited. The old town is also on a hill. So better have a car with you because it’s not an easy walk from the beach or the hotel up to the town. Hotel has a good beach at its doorstep. Nice water quality and sandy. Also there is a cold spring from the mountain which is nice to dip your feet! Rooms are ok. A bit old though.Hotel falls in the three star category. Not more. So wouldn’t recommend paying much for accommodation as facilities are below average. If you decide to come, secure a good ( low rate) or I would recommend another city and hotel. Stayed two nights there and bed sheets were not changed ( it’s hot and humid here!!!).some lights in the room were yellow neon and some were white neon which created an ugly ambiance at night. Safe box is with an old styled heavy key. So if you decide to use it, you have to carry that key with you which is not practical! breakfast is ok but with limited choice ( juice offered not fresh). I asked for an omelette as the ready made ones had cheese which I am intolerant too, and the chef said they can’t make it. Finally, I got my omelette which was one of the few items that I could eat in Their breakfast. The manager at the breakfast room mr Massimo is a professional man and a very service oriented man and his staff too. He made the experience much better. Thank you me Massimo. It’s a pity because the beach is nice and there is much potential here. City is too quite for young travelers. There is a bar overlooking the sea in the hotel and the Bar man is very sweet. I hope the hotel gives more attention to detail and customer service ( welcoming and booking guests by Laura needs improvement as could could be better).

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank uclasummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you auroro for another amazing visit .This hotel you cant fault .The staff are so friendly and the sevice is first class .it has been our 3rd visit ,soon to be our 4th.The hotel boasts a beautiful beach and sitting on the terrace watching the sun set is a memory we will treasure .see u next year .

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our holiday this year was to be sightseeing in Rome followed by a week or so's stay near the beach somewhere between Rome and Naples. I found Hotel Aurora in Sperlonga online and booked. This decision has turned out to be almost life changing! We have found a hotel, and town, to which we intend returning every year, probably in combination with a visit back to Rome or Naples and the Amalfi coast.

Though ranked just 3 star the atmosphere, attention to detail, cleanliness, ambiance and dedicated staff (this is a long-standing family hotel), and of course beach location, for us put it among the very top. Breakfast is beautifully set out offering a huge range of dishes with very attentive staff. Though inside, the dining room overlooks the beach. The public areas are tastefully furnished and fitted in numerous shades of blue as the principal colour theme, paintings adorn the walls and the cool garden is a delight with pretty tables and chairs, an abundance of flowers and shrubs and a pond with waterfall. The bar and adjoining outside terrace overlooking the beach are very comfortable where we enjoyed many a delicious lunch or cocktail watching the sun set into the Tyrrhenian Sea.

Each guest is designated their own parasol and sun lounger for the duration of their stay which is a huge bonus if you've ever been to hotels where guests get up at 5 am to ensure they have a parasol for the day but then don't appear until lunchtime. Pure relaxation here.

Our room and bathroom were spacious and we had a balcony overlooking the garden and old town up on the hill where we could easily sit out. The hotel does not offer dinner but there are many good restaurants to choose from in Sperlonga.

Two points that we feel could be improved, first the laundry. We submitted a number of items on the Thursday which according to the hotel information would be returned within 48 hours. Unfortunately our clothes weren't returned until Monday. Second, the hotel shuttle bus uphill to the old town doesn't start its service until 9PM - we know dinner is eaten much later in Italy but we felt the shuttle service could have started at least an hour earlier.

However, as I said we will be back and can't wait.

Room Tip: A Gardinie room provides a balcony with table and chairs though no sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicky_TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Aurora for 2 idyllic weeks in August. The hotel backs onto the beach and the front is on the main promenade where many bars and restaurants are found. Within 10 minutes walk you are also in the old town where there are many more bars and restaurants. It is perfectly located, very clean and the staff are lovely. Once a week they normally have a singer or group playing free of charge in the garden area. The breakfasts are really good with a wide choice and lots of variety and normally something different each day.
Sperlonga is a small holiday resort with mainly Italian tourists....and we loved it!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Trebleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for four nights late August in a double room with garden view and balcony. Room 219). The hotel is beautifully appointed with great thought put into the design for the comfort for guests. Great breakfast, helpful staff....especially the English speaking Laura, relaxed atmosphere, boutique hotel without being too formal. Reasonable size room with good shower, good bed and nice linen. Internet a little slow...probably due to Sperlonga internet infrastructure, rather than the hotel. Sitting areas included a beautiful tropical garden, casual restaurant / bar & more formal dining area - both with a view of the beach. The hotel is well located on the beach, close to restaurants, supermarkets and a short walk to the old town on the hill. Sperlonga is a holiday resort with mostly Italian clientele. Great vibe...highly recommended

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GailNZ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews