We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful cottage to stay in.”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room
Sitting Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom One
Bedroom One
Bedroom One
Bedroom Two
Bedroom Two
Bedroom Two
Bathroom
Landing
Front of cottage
Front Door
Courtyard Garden
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Bedroom One
Approach to two chapel lane
The local pub - The Railway
Approach to St Mary the Virgin Church, Ketton
The bridge in Ketton (with St Mary the Virgin Church in background)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chatham24
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A wonderful cottage to stay in.”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was absolutely perfect, everything you could possibly want. The area is very picturesque.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, warmth and general ambiance. Perfect beds.
Liked least: We couldnt stay longer?
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2014
Thank-you very much for your kind review - I really appreciate it. Kind regards, Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthmg
Mumbai
2 reviews
“Quintessential country cottage in lovely village location”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a lovely weekend at 2 Chapel Lane with our toddler and parents/in-laws. The cottage is extremely well equipped for children, which means you really can pack light. The decor is lovely, and although small, the cottage has everything one could think of to make a comfortable stay. Would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was very well presented in a pretty village
Liked least: Parking is at the end of the road, but there was always space and only a 1 minute walk up the lane to the cottage.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2014
Thank-you very much for your kind review. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. Kind regards, Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 2, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jan 2014
Thank-you very much for your very kind review. It's always great to know that guests enjoy staying at our cottage and would be happy to recommend it to their family and friends. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2CityLawy...
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Divine little Cottage”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

I can't speak more highly of this lovely cottage. We stayed over the Christmas period and it was a complete delight. Pictures do not do the place justice - it is chic, pretty and cosy. The cottage was spotlessly clean and it has everything that you would need for a home away from home. And the setting in Ketton is wonderful - so quaint and picturesque. The cottage had been decorated for Christmas, which was a lovely touch. I could go on and on but all I really want to say is that I just love this place and that I can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Interior design
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2014
Thank-you very much for your lovely review. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage over Christmas. Kind regards, Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mehile
mechile
2 reviews
“perfect for a cozy romantic getaway and close to Stamford!!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in November 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks as we were getting married at the George in Stamford and were not from the area. We needed somewhere close to the town. We had friends and family visit from all over the world.... and all loved this charming little cottage. The kitchen was beautiful and modern yet in keeping with the old charm of the place. We cuddled up by the fire most nights and just enjoyed the relaxing feel =) Arranging our stay was professional and easy and there was even a lovely bottle of bubbly as a congratulations for us getting married. =) (lovely touch =)....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cozy, comfy, location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2013
Thank-you for your kind review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we helped make your wedding such a happy occasion. We hope to see you both again in the near future. Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laura m
Fakenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A cute, well equipped cottage. A lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The cottage was clean and well equipped. It had everything you need when travelling with small children including a travel cot, black out blinds, steriliser and toys. There was plenty of space in all of the rooms and each room was well decorated. The cottage is located in a pretty village which is well situated to get to Rutland Water and Stamford. The only downside was the noise from the pub next door. As it was warm lots of people were sat out side the pub so we could here them late in to the evening. This would not have been an issue if we didn't have the children with us because we would have been out there too.
All in all we had a lovely time staying in the cottage and would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2013
Thank-you very much for your review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela L
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming well equipped cottage”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had a short mid-week break in this very charming cottage with our two year old. She normally doesn't sleep well but obviously felt very at home here and slept wonderfully! This cottage is well equipped for children - high chair, toys, stair gate, DVDs, children's tv - but equally so for grown ups, stylish design, cosy beautiful beds etc. it also has a safe pretty courtyard garden and our daughter enjoyed watering the plants every day. The village itself is beautiful walking down towards the river and round to the amazing new park, which our toddler loved. The congregational hall next door has regular classes and the highlight for me was joining in on a Feldenkrais class on our last morning. There's also Zumba and yoga and Pilates so you might want to take your exercise clothes. The cottage is very well situated for Stamford and a visit to Burghley house is highly recommended. Great water garden for kids (take swimsuit/rain things for them). And a lovely sculpture park where we picnicked. I would highly recommend a stay here and we hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style and location
Liked least: Last visitors left oven dirty so it smoked a lot when we tried to use it.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2013
Thank-you for your lovely feedback - I'm really pleased you all enjoyed your stay. I didn't realise exercise classes were held at the chapel next door, so will definitely post that on to our Facebook page for future guests. Hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing