We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
138
54
14
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
138
54
14
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm welcome high standard friendly hotel bar area was very evening meal was excellent this family run hotel lamb shank haggis vegetarian breakfast refurbished room ongoing project stayed one night shower over bath first class public areas worked fine welcoming place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 210 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2017

We left a nights accomodation unbooked as a mystery stop on our trip to Islay, booked at the last minute online from the side of the road and very glad we did, Steve was a great host and the accomodation was very good for a historic hotel.

Our room was spacious and bathroom very clean, great cozy atmosphere in the snug with a good selection of meals.

Melbourne VIC

Would highly recommend to anyone travelling to Scotland wanting a unique experience in a pretty little village.

Room Tip: Some rooms are being upgraded so check
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017

We were blown away by the quality of this accommodation. Our room was equal to the best we've experienced. The bathroom was the best. The facility was clean and the service excellent - very obliging, friendly and genuine. Breakfasts were great with special dietary needs provided happily. The pub meals were excellent. We really enjoyed our stay and were sad to have to move on to the rest of our trip. We would love to visit again!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor!!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

I stayed two night at Ecclefechan Hotel 26 & 27th July and I was delighted by the warm welcome I received from the staff both at check in and in the bar. Very attentive and nothing is a problem to them.
I ate both nights in the bar and have to say that the food was delicious. There are no frills, but the menu is quite extensive for such a small hotel.
This is a family ran hotel, which is currently undergoing renovation. Don't judge the hotel by initial appearances, downstairs it is quite old fashioned, however once you get to your room you can clearly see the owners started the renovations from top down. The rooms are very nice indeed, well appointed with modern fittings and fixtures. The bathroom in my room was huge, with a large shower cubicle and very nice vanity fittings.

Tea and Coffee provided, along with a TV.
The bed was extremely comfortable.
I cannot say enough about the quality provided throughout the Hotel.
I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Hollinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2017

An old building obviously in the process of renovation, I agree with most recent reviews from other customers, Our Room was spacious, bedding was nice and clean, room was clean, could have been slightly better ie hoovered a bit better but ok for us. Our room had obviously been renovated, nice clean new bathroom, lovely hot water for a bath, didn't try the shower so can't comment.
Bed was comfortable, lovely quiet village, slept like a log. WiFi would not connect which I found a bit annoying as needed to do some work but was only staying the one night so watched tv instead as that worked fine.
Yes the hall and downstairs rooms smell of damp (suggestion to the owners - please put some diffusers/air fresheners on the stairs/lobby/reception areas - so simple and cheap it will really help) by the way our room did not smell bad at all. We live in an old farm house so we know what these old buildings are like, it looks like the owners have their work cut out here, they also have a gem of a place if they can make it work and keep guests coming in.
Breakfast was good (but could have been better), our evening meal was good(but again could be better) and unfortunately we did have to wait 2 hours after ordering for the evening meal to arrive which was not so good and no recompense for this, free drinks or some crusty bread and butter whilst we were waiting may have softened the blow, we were told just over half an hour wait after ordering for the meal to arrive, talk to people if there is a problem, give them the option if the wait is going to be that long to go elsewhere.
Certain areas are in an appauling state unfortunately mostly in the public areas, these areas however could be screened off from view.
Think the problems here just need a little more thought, hope that the owners take these comments on board as I would really like to see this place succeed for them, it has a lot of potential and it could be made into a gold mine if you can just get it right and keep the customers coming in.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lassieWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017

It would appear that this hotel is the only accommodation available in the town, and it has been run down quite a bit, but resurrection is nigh. The owner's family have seized the opportunity to renovate, but the process is demanding and slow. The passageway from the car park to the hotel reception is a disgrace, but it is top of the list of projects to improve those first impressions, so don't be too depressed as you walk to check-in. This is positively the least attractive aspect; the welcome, the food and the cleanliness of the room will be much better. I had a bar snack of lamb shank with mint jus, and thoroughly enjoyed it, not haute cuisine but good honest food after a tiring day's drive from Skye.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the bar area, and the late night noise.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Samwac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews