We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
127
50
13
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
50
13
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarm welcomeecclefechan tarthigh standardfriendly hotelfirst classopen firebar area was veryevening meal was excellentlamb shankvegetarian breakfastongoing projectshower over bathpublic areasfamily hotelbroke our journeyspecials boardwelcoming place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 194 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2018

There were 11 of us and we were made very welcome the owners and rest of staff could not have been more helpful .Even bringing sandwiches to our room as we prepared for the wedding .The rooms have all that is required foe your stay ..

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank JeanStrathaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2018

I was looking to stay outside of Glasgow to combat the high prices charged by hotels for the overnight business traveller. The Ecclefechan Hotel offers parking and wi-fi (throughout); so that's one over most city centre hotels with the parking.
Travelled with a colleague and received a warm welcome with room keys and a breakfast menu ready and waiting. Rooms are a good size, clean with full amenities. OK, it's not The Ritz (thankfully) but service is quick and friendly.
Have to say the meals are hot, well proportioned and very tasty and, according to my colleague the cream teas are worth trying (he had one as a second pudding !). Our pre-ordered, bespoke breakfast was served earlier than advertised as we had to be in Glasgow (an hours drive away) before 09:00, not a problem. The choice was great and the breakfast matched. If you don't have to stay in the big cities I suggest The Ecclefechan Hotel; get some great fresh air, good food and save yourselves a good few quid. Top marks guys, thanks for your hospitality; Gary.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gary Endon Joll... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

Been staying here for 4 weeks whilst working in the local area.Like some of the other reviews dont be put off by some parts of the hotel that hasnt been refurbished yet.The rooms are newly refurbished and really nice and always kept spotless by the very nice staff.Great food and the breakfasts are superb.Cant fault this place at all.Excellent.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Derick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2018

We broke our journey from Devon to Edinburgh here, and were very happy with our short stay. Our bedroom was a good size, comfy and lovely and warm on a chilly night. The food in the bar was excellent (check out the fechanburger!) and there was an admirable range of ales and single malts. Recommended.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BruisedPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

Decided to split our journey to Newcastle and found the ecclefechan hotel. Friendly welcome, large, clean bright room, with great en-suite. Bar/lounge was very casual and cosy with open fire. Good menu + specials, lamb shank melted off the bone. Nice selection of beers, and everything was very reasonably priced. Lovely breakfast set us up for the day. Made to feel at home, really friendly owners and staff, would definitely stop here again.
John,
Fort William

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews