We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hogmanay at the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 2011/2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lesmahagow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hogmanay at the Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 2011/2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

myself and my partner spent two days at the hotel but took another day because our stay was so relaxing and enjoyable.the entertainment was good and a very good time was had by all. thanks to the hard work of owners John and Bab's once again thanks for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Just ask the owners and they will do all they can to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
We are over the moon you enjoyed your Hogmanay break with us, and apologies for the delay in responding to your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    33
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
78
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Warm welcome, comfortable accommodation, good food. Dog friendly. Well looked after by owners and Louis the dog!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Thank you kindly for your lovely review, we are all pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and as ever I am jealous Louis has received all the accolades.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We'd been driving from Inverness after quite a heavy night and needed a place to stay for fear of falling asleep at the wheel. Kirkconnel Hall Hotel had vacancies, and were pleasant and helpful even though we called in past 9pm! The couple that run the hotel are lovely, the hotel quirky, and the breakfasts are fantastic.They have a lovely little dog too, who is very friendly, and comforting. There is a fantastic expanse of whisky in the bar which we enjoyed (a little too much) in front of the open fire. We would recommend this hotel highly, and are definitely going to stay again. Thank you!

Room Tip: Some rooms are noise because of the motorway, but it didn't bother us, we were tired!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viccoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thankyou very much indeed for your kind review, and we hope you had a safe journey once you departed. Louis (our little dog) is very happy to get a mention, he does appear to be more popular than me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

just been with 16 family members for daughters wedding. hotel & staff brilliant, they were very friendly & couldnt do enough for all of us. rooms were spotless & dinner after wedding at gretna was fantastic. they made the happy couple very happy with how everything went for the special day. most thanks to john who made us all very welcome. will be going back in january for my 50th birthday. thanks rosemary & gordon campbell

Room Tip: room 1 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemary12409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
We are over the moon you enjoyed your stay with us and we do pride ourselves in ensuring that all weddings are bespoke as much as we can. We hope you will visit us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

On arrival were told the boss was not in and we would have to come back later! Found this very odd as this is a hotel. Anyway we did return later and met the owner John, he said he had a hospital appointment hence the reason we were sent away. The hotel was very nice, lots of character. John the owner is also a bit of a character as was his pet dog. All in all was a nice enough stay and had a meal in the restaurant which was plentiful and quite tasty. The room was comfortable. Not much to do in the local area but a good base for Carlise etc.

Room Tip: get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annemcginnity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Thankyou for your review of our property, unfortunately on that day John did have a pre arranged appointment and the usual receptionist we have was unavialble to cover.
We are please that this did not take away any enjoyment from your stay.

Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Just got back from a 2 night stay.
Room clean tidy, John and louis (the dog) very welcoming, cont breakfast good.
Must say the hall is superb and well kept
Me and my partner stayed for 2 nights, just wish we had stayed longer, def going back with our daughter in the summer.
Good selection of food and whiskeys ;)
Worth every penny.
Hotel in fantastic location for Galloway and Dumfries.
Places we visited and was very happy we seen are:
Sandy Head, Galloway forest, caeverlock castle, thread castle, dumlanrig castle, BUT we travel to port patrick for 1 night stay and was very surprised, absolutely stunning bay and great sea food. will be going back for a summer holiday.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo-Femma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Hi, thanks a great deal for your review, we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and Louis always appears to be the favourite with our guests, i am somewhat jealous!!!!!
Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

We had just come back from New york and had taken the KGB deal. From the start to the finish we were looked after superbly by John and Marg. We only paid £59 for 2 night b and b and do not agree with the comments about the continental breakfast being rubbish! there was 5 or 6 cerals , 3 fruit juices, tea ,coffee, croissants, yougurt, fresh fruit every morning. we opted for the cooked breakfast and each morning it was delicious. I am a vegetarian and my husband a meat eater and we both enjoyed not only the breakfast but the superb service with that "extra touch". The evening dinner was amazing and as I am a good cook I am not easily impressed! My salmon was huge and cooked to perfection and my husband's scampi was a huge portion. we both has wine and beer with our dinner and as we were entitled to a free bottle of wine with the kgb deal with dinner when I told John I could only drink a glass he said no bother I will give you the bottle to take home! The 4 breakfasts and 2 dinners and drinks came to an amasingly low price of £63 pounds. A great thanks to you both and we will definately return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Hello again!
We are very pleased you enjoyed our stay with us, and hope to see you aggain at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecclefechan
1.6 km away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
8.1 km away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
18.8 km away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
7.8 km away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#6 of 7 in Lockerbie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
14.0 km away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Property: Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Address: Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel has a highly visable location adjacent to junction 19 of the A74M on the edge of the country village of Ecclecfechan. It is only 10 miles north of Gretna and is well located in an area of south west Scotland popular for both short breaks, weddings, functions and business conferences. Originally home to the Arnott family Kirkconnel Hall dates as far back as the 15th century, providing the property with great historic interest. It was home to Napoleon's physician in the late 18th Century and although extended in the 1870's and again more recently, it retains much of its period charm. Aquired by its present owners Kirkconnel Hall is now a family owned and run business and we look forward to welcoming you and hope that you have an enjoyable stay with us. Kirkconnel Hall has 11 en-suite bedrooms which are decorated to a high standard, bar, lounge, restaurant and extensive and well planned conferencing facilities. Kirkconnel Hall has extensive gardens and grounds extending to approximately 3.75 acres. The hotel has ample car parking and to the rear, accomodating bus tours, there are areas of lawn, a children's play area and grounds which have a range of mature trees and shrubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kirkconnel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing