We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(Lockerbie)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Arms(Lockerbie)
US$128
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Corner House Hotel(Annan)(Great Value!)
US$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Townhead Hotel(Lockerbie)
US$128
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$163
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
89
36
18
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
36
18
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastbath waternothing too much troublewarm receptiona lovely evening meallots of hot waterquirky hotelspent two nightscomfortable bedhomemade fooddecorated to a very high standardovernight stopsteak piesalmonhome madedouble roomfeel very welcome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Warm welcome, comfortable accommodation, good food. Dog friendly. Well looked after by owners and Louis the dog!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Thank you kindly for your lovely review, we are all pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and as ever I am jealous Louis has received all the accolades.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We'd been driving from Inverness after quite a heavy night and needed a place to stay for fear of falling asleep at the wheel. Kirkconnel Hall Hotel had vacancies, and were pleasant and helpful even though we called in past 9pm! The couple that run the hotel are lovely, the hotel quirky, and the breakfasts are fantastic.They have a lovely little dog too, who is very friendly, and comforting. There is a fantastic expanse of whisky in the bar which we enjoyed (a little too much) in front of the open fire. We would recommend this hotel highly, and are definitely going to stay again. Thank you!

Room Tip: Some rooms are noise because of the motorway, but it didn't bother us, we were tired!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viccoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Thankyou very much indeed for your kind review, and we hope you had a safe journey once you departed. Louis (our little dog) is very happy to get a mention, he does appear to be more popular than me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

just been with 16 family members for daughters wedding. hotel & staff brilliant, they were very friendly & couldnt do enough for all of us. rooms were spotless & dinner after wedding at gretna was fantastic. they made the happy couple very happy with how everything went for the special day. most thanks to john who made us all very welcome. will be going back in january for my 50th birthday. thanks rosemary & gordon campbell

Room Tip: room 1 is lovely
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemary12409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

We are over the moon you enjoyed your stay with us and we do pride ourselves in ensuring that all weddings are bespoke as much as we can. We hope you will visit us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

On arrival were told the boss was not in and we would have to come back later! Found this very odd as this is a hotel. Anyway we did return later and met the owner John, he said he had a hospital appointment hence the reason we were sent away. The hotel was very nice, lots of character. John the owner is also a bit of a character as was his pet dog. All in all was a nice enough stay and had a meal in the restaurant which was plentiful and quite tasty. The room was comfortable. Not much to do in the local area but a good base for Carlise etc.

Room Tip: get what you pay for
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annemcginnity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2011

Thankyou for your review of our property, unfortunately on that day John did have a pre arranged appointment and the usual receptionist we have was unavialble to cover.
We are please that this did not take away any enjoyment from your stay.

Thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Just got back from a 2 night stay.
Room clean tidy, John and louis (the dog) very welcoming, cont breakfast good.
Must say the hall is superb and well kept
Me and my partner stayed for 2 nights, just wish we had stayed longer, def going back with our daughter in the summer.
Good selection of food and whiskeys ;)
Worth every penny.
Hotel in fantastic location for Galloway and Dumfries.
Places we visited and was very happy we seen are:
Sandy Head, Galloway forest, caeverlock castle, thread castle, dumlanrig castle, BUT we travel to port patrick for 1 night stay and was very surprised, absolutely stunning bay and great sea food. will be going back for a summer holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo-Femma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2011

Hi, thanks a great deal for your review, we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and Louis always appears to be the favourite with our guests, i am somewhat jealous!!!!!
Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews