We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Ecclefechan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Was driving back from Loch Ness on New Years eve and ended up staying at this lovley place ,, So Welcoming and John was the perfect host , Louis the doggie showed us up to our room ",like im sure he has done with many guests before" (too cute) , anyway tired and cold from driving and the days events , We decided we would not see the New Year in ,, Well after sitting infront of the great open fire in the foyer and having a few brandies John told us there was a New Years Buffet later on ,,Of course coming all the way from the States we ended up seeing the NewYear in at the Kirkconnel hall hotel ,, food was great ,, champagne toast and ,, may I say Even though we were exausted we managed to get second wind for "Auld lang syne",, So glad we had a great time ,, Breakfast was the best room was awesome and hosts were great ,, As for Louis" just love that dog "
,, And The biggest Christmas trees ive ever see in a hotel ,, thought I was in the White house !! best ever

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank money007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    34
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
81
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Booked this hotel at the last minute, managing to get a cancellation, for New Year break. How lucky were we.The New Year buffet and entertainment were terrific and ticked all the boxes. Special thanks to John & Babs for all their efforts.Met some great people,Kevin,Francis, Di, Alex Ian and Linda who all helped make it a great couple of nights. Sorry we hogged the log fire! Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tattie2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesmahagow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

myself and my partner spent two days at the hotel but took another day because our stay was so relaxing and enjoyable.the entertainment was good and a very good time was had by all. thanks to the hard work of owners John and Bab's once again thanks for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Just ask the owners and they will do all they can to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
We are over the moon you enjoyed your Hogmanay break with us, and apologies for the delay in responding to your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Warm welcome, comfortable accommodation, good food. Dog friendly. Well looked after by owners and Louis the dog!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Thank you kindly for your lovely review, we are all pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and as ever I am jealous Louis has received all the accolades.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We'd been driving from Inverness after quite a heavy night and needed a place to stay for fear of falling asleep at the wheel. Kirkconnel Hall Hotel had vacancies, and were pleasant and helpful even though we called in past 9pm! The couple that run the hotel are lovely, the hotel quirky, and the breakfasts are fantastic.They have a lovely little dog too, who is very friendly, and comforting. There is a fantastic expanse of whisky in the bar which we enjoyed (a little too much) in front of the open fire. We would recommend this hotel highly, and are definitely going to stay again. Thank you!

Room Tip: Some rooms are noise because of the motorway, but it didn't bother us, we were tired!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viccoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thankyou very much indeed for your kind review, and we hope you had a safe journey once you departed. Louis (our little dog) is very happy to get a mention, he does appear to be more popular than me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

just been with 16 family members for daughters wedding. hotel & staff brilliant, they were very friendly & couldnt do enough for all of us. rooms were spotless & dinner after wedding at gretna was fantastic. they made the happy couple very happy with how everything went for the special day. most thanks to john who made us all very welcome. will be going back in january for my 50th birthday. thanks rosemary & gordon campbell

Room Tip: room 1 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemary12409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
We are over the moon you enjoyed your stay with us and we do pride ourselves in ensuring that all weddings are bespoke as much as we can. We hope you will visit us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

On arrival were told the boss was not in and we would have to come back later! Found this very odd as this is a hotel. Anyway we did return later and met the owner John, he said he had a hospital appointment hence the reason we were sent away. The hotel was very nice, lots of character. John the owner is also a bit of a character as was his pet dog. All in all was a nice enough stay and had a meal in the restaurant which was plentiful and quite tasty. The room was comfortable. Not much to do in the local area but a good base for Carlise etc.

Room Tip: get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annemcginnity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkconnel, General Manager at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Thankyou for your review of our property, unfortunately on that day John did have a pre arranged appointment and the usual receptionist we have was unavialble to cover.
We are please that this did not take away any enjoyment from your stay.

Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecclefechan
1.6 km away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
139 reviews
18.8 km away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
8.1 km away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
The Corner House Hotel
7.9 km away
Ravenshill House Hotel
Ravenshill House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lockerbie
41 reviews
14.0 km away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkconnel Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Property: Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
Address: Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ecclefechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel has a highly visable location adjacent to junction 19 of the A74M on the edge of the country village of Ecclecfechan. It is only 10 miles north of Gretna and is well located in an area of south west Scotland popular for both short breaks, weddings, functions and business conferences. Originally home to the Arnott family Kirkconnel Hall dates as far back as the 15th century, providing the property with great historic interest. It was home to Napoleon's physician in the late 18th Century and although extended in the 1870's and again more recently, it retains much of its period charm. Aquired by its present owners Kirkconnel Hall is now a family owned and run business and we look forward to welcoming you and hope that you have an enjoyable stay with us. Kirkconnel Hall has 11 en-suite bedrooms which are decorated to a high standard, bar, lounge, restaurant and extensive and well planned conferencing facilities. Kirkconnel Hall has extensive gardens and grounds extending to approximately 3.75 acres. The hotel has ample car parking and to the rear, accomodating bus tours, there are areas of lawn, a children's play area and grounds which have a range of mature trees and shrubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Kirkconnel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing