We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Review Highlights
friendly helpful service

great experience renting canoes there and have the staff take the time to explain and make sure all... read more

Reviewed November 28, 2018
Udi_Avital
,
Jerusalem, Israel
Classic outfitters and very up-to-date!

I dearly wish they had had this equipment when I was a young camper. It makes my stuff look... read more

Reviewed August 29, 2018
ww507
,
London, Canada
via mobile
Read all 36 reviews
  
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
28
5
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
5
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canoe trip rent a canoe store outfitters food camping algonquin rental staff equipment stop canoeing location point oxtongue stuff lake
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 36 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2017

We have dropped by this store a couple of times over the past few years. This is the first time we have purchased anything as it is a bit expensive. We got a couple of really nice t-shirts and a great pair of hiking shoes on a great sale. The store is really nice and has a great variety of outdoor products. The staff is all very friendly and it was a nice experience to just look around. It was a beautiful day so the store was busy and yet not hectic. Nice place to stop on your way to Algonquin Park.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AORandy, Marketing Manager at Algonquin Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2018

Thanks for the 4 Star review Wendy. Glad you were able to pick up a few things off of our sales rack, including a great pear of hiking shoes, a must for any visit to Algonquin Park.

Did you know that we have a Price Match Guarantee to insure you aren't paying more for the same product that you could buy elsewhere? Often people equate the quality products we sell to being expensive, but often they find that they hold great value. Hope you enjoy your hiking boots for many years to come. See you back again soon, ~ Randy M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Found items expensive but convenient if heading into algonquin park, bought our gifts down the road at the trading post in Oxtongue lake over the bridge on the right.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank wendyseagate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AORandy, Marketing Manager at Algonquin Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Wendy.

Many of the products we carry are of superior quality and thus may indeed hold a higher price. If you do find that our prices are higher than elsewhere for the identical item, we do have a price match guarantee policy that can address this, even with souvenir items if they are from the same supplier. Many people find when they actually compare pricing we are often lower priced on the same item.

http://algonquinoutfitters.com/price-match-guarantee/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

They make it an easy process to rent a canoe or a kayak, even for for one day. We would use them again.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank MaryMandKenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AORandy, Marketing Manager at Algonquin Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

MaryMandKenM, thanks for the 5-Star review, hope to see you back again soon. ~ Randy M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2017

Wonderfull trip with a tripple-canoe and a kajak at an early time (8 a.m.) brought best weather condition but unfortunatly not much wildlife. Great staff and a great and caring guide Randy!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Familienvater40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AORandy, Marketing Manager at Algonquin Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

I always say the more time you spend in Algonquin Park the more wildlife you'll see so it can only get better. With more paddling experience you'll find canoeing is like riding a bike and any unsteadiness will soon disappear. Hope to see you back to Algonquin Park again Familienvater40. ~ Randy M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

We booked the 3 day trip and picked up the stuff near Pembroke.
There we met friendly People from the outfitters who had everthing prepared for us. We decided to choose the Food, too. They gave us so much, we could not eat that all over the trip.
Thank you for made this trip possible for us. We would come again to enjoy nature with you.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank 930sebastiank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AORandy, Marketing Manager at Algonquin Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Sebastian glad you had a great trip. Often people choose our complete outfitting packages because of the food. Lots of people say the portions were hardy with lots of choices. Hope to see you back again soon. ~ Randy M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews