We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome - great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Clean, well presented chalet with everything necessary for a relaxed and comfortable stay. The bed was extremely comfy. Very handy for the local shops and restaurants. Nice stroll down the hill to admire the wonderful waterfront homes or slightly longer to the great beach. There is a small swimming pool but I did not try it out as I swam in the ocean. I particularly enjoyed the warm friendly welcome and the helpful advice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJock_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

When we researched this stop we came across a travel magazine that described it as a hotel. Once you reach the town it can be readily seen that it wouldn't be big enought to support an accommodation type hotel. The accommodation can be best described as the type of cabins found in caravan parks with a dividing wall in each one. The cabins themselves are quite sufficient with a lounge/kitchen area, roomy bathroom, bedroom and front verandah. Our request at the time of booking was for a quite location without being disturbed by external noises or neighbours. The cabin we had was in a group of about 10 or more, with the front verandah about 2 metres from the edge of the tennis court. On the other side of the tennis court was a private golf course. I was concerned when on the Saturday a wedding party arrived and almost filled the remainder of the cabins. Fortunately upon their midnight return they weren't noisy but the potential was there all the same. There wasn't any outlook as the front has a bushy hedge between it and the tennis court. I don't know how hot they get in the summer but there wasn't any air conditioning that would cool things down. The town itself is very affluent with only about 250 houses occupied year round and the remainder 'holiday homes' but it isn't particulary well located to any attractions in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanMcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PauanuiRobynG, Owner at Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Hello Dean
I've been waiting for your comments.
I agree we are not a hotel, neither do we promote ourselves as one.
You booked directly online through our website and from the it you would have known exactly what you booked before you arrived here. You would also have seen an overview of our entire property.before you left home.
You did request s quiet room and that is what you got. The wedding group you were concerned about were nine in number and were all elderly, as you claim you are. The likelihood of noise at midnight was very slim. There was also potential for rain on your roof, but that didn't happen either!
The climate here is not as hot as you have at home, so there is little need for airconditioning. The windows do open and there is a substatial pedestal fan kept in the wardrobe. You may have noticed it there.
If there was no outlook, how did you notice the tennis court and the golf course behind it?
There is no one accommodation property that is close to all the attractions on the Coromandel Peninsula, but on a good day out most of our guests find plenty to do. You were back here by early afternoon.
However, I hope waiting for all the potential misfortunes to occur did not distract from your enjoyment of your holiday in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My wife and I stayed one night here as part of a tour of New Zealand - the travel company chose the itinerary and accomodation so we saw lots of NZ hotels. This place and the accommodation was one of the highlights for us.

The town is a small purpose built holiday settlement. When we arrived the season seemed to be over and there were very few people about. But we really liked it.

The accommodation consists of a number of cabin type units. Entry through glass doors into a lounge/kitchen with bedroom and bathroom to the rear. Everything was very clean, well supplied with towels, tea and coffee and everything we needed. Comfortable. Lots of pine panelling.

We were met by the owner (Barry) - very friendly and welcoming. He gave us good ideas for walks and eating. We walked along the beach and then had a lovely dinner in the restaurant in the shopping area which is close to the accommodation. In the morning we bought coffee and buns at the bakery (fresh and hot) and ate them sitting in the harbour mouth watching the birds - heavenly. We could have done food in the unit but we're on holiday!

We slept well in a comfortable bed - not enormous but fine.

Some people might describe the units as basic - I think that would be unfair: they're not luxury but are extremely nice. There's no air con if that's important for you. The grounds are mature and pleasant - and the unit is private. We didn't use the pool - it looks small but OK for a dip if you don't want the sea.

To sum it up - very nice and comfortable. We'd happily have stayed longer.

Room Tip: It's all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dai_the_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Most attractive setting made for an extremely pleasant stay. Unfortunately, we were only able to stay 1 night - we could easily have stayed longer and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere in this area as this is a good centre to tour the Coromandel. The unit we stayed in was particularly well equipped and very comfortable and we were warmly welcomed. The owner suggested a superb walk for us which enabled us to see the local shore area and attractive views across the bay. Pauanui was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We spent a night here during a tour of the North Island. The unit was excellent and the owner was a mine of useful information. We enjoyed our stay and it was a very good stop. The unit was in excellent order and we had a restful and pleasant stay. Pauanui is a fascinating place with a sizeable “weekend home” population so we enjoyed wandering around....

It was only as we were leaving that we found the unit's "guest information" and discovered we could have ordered Continental Breakfast. The guide had disappeared under the TV before we got there. No dramas, the shopping centre is close by but we might have had a better breakfast!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMQuestions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The units are very clean and are an oasis of quietness. Very good stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myriamc421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This was a last minute booking, we were accommodated in a clean friendly environment. I couldn't fault it, staff great, room excellent, location very handy. I would highly recommend the Pines Motor Lodge, we will be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guest20923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauanui
1.1 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
25.6 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
2.4 km away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 km away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
81 reviews
27.5 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
334 reviews
25.6 km away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge

Address: 174 Vista Paku | Pauanui Beach, Pauanui 3546, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Pauanui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pauanui
Price Range: $128 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pauanui Pines accommodation consists of 18 one and two bedroom self-contained motel units, each one offering spacious functional living. One bedroom and two bedroom units have full kitchen facilities, large bathrooms, lounge and dining areas. Some motel units have the ability for alfresco dining. Continental breakfasts can be delivered to your motel unit on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pauanui Pines Hotel
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing