We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice deck off the room. Only place in New Zealand where I was served instant coffee- YUCK!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Kuiti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Simply the Best Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Te Kuiti B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Instant coffee and NO WIFI at a time we needed to accomplish some work made this an impossible place for us.
If your work can wait and you prefer tea this might work for you. Other parts of the cooked breakfast were tasty. The place was clean and we were required to remove our shoes before entering which helps keep it clean. Take some slip on and off shoes if you can. The hostess seemed energetic but spoke to us without eye contact which puts me on edge especially in New Zealand where most everyone seem to be at ease with themselves and others.
She directed us to town to restaurants which were fine . We were able to arrive quickly from here to the Waitomo glow worm caves where we meant to visit ( see my review and do visit the glowworms.) The hostess incorrectly told us the caves opened at 9 when they really open at 8AM.
IN my OPINION THIS WAS THE WORST PLACE WE STAYED IN OUR 3 WEEKS IN NEW ZEALAND on both North and South Islands. Not terrible but not a first choice.
There is a lovely garden and deck area if you are relaxing there. I am rating room as 4 stars due to the deck with a view.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that exits to the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2016

There was a disappointing mix-up with our rooms as we had specifically booked 2- rooms, each with a private bathroom, but ended up with 2-rooms and a bathroom shared between four of us which was quite inconvenient. Our host took full responsibility for the error and did apologize but insisted we pay the full amount for our down-graded accommodations.

Regardless, we enjoyed our 2-night stay. Our room was nicely decorated but a bit small with little room for our luggage. There wasn't a guest living room available to us, although I've double checked and their website does indicate there is supposed to be one, so we made good use of the large back deck with a spectacular view of the countryside in the evening. Breakfast was a very simple affair with fruit, toast, eggs, homemade jams and instant coffee. We all enjoyed conversation with the hosts who were welcoming and very helpful with tours and restaurant suggestions.

I'm a little uncertain about recommending this place as it didn't fully meet our expectations but all-in-all, our bed was comfy with plenty of warm blankets, there are some beautiful gardens on the property and it is a terrific location for visiting the caves. No WiFi available.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

Where else can you wake up and see sheep roaming around the grounds. Bedding was comfortable, bathroom was modern with a terrific shower, the kitchen was new, stocked with jelly, bread, orange juice, and honey. The view from this hilltop home was spectacular

Stayed: March 2016
Thank danfriedmanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016

This is a really welcoming home-from-home b&b (apart from the slightly irritating issue of having to take your shoes off in the house). Our room was light and spacious looking on to the lovely garden and Margaret and Graham were were friendly and helpful with useful advice about the (limited) eating options in Te Kuiti. Nice breakfast. No TV in the room or wifi anywhere. We could have done with a bit more shelf space in the bathroom for our toiletries. A good choice if you're visiting the Waitomo Caves.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bobcat605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

We stayed at this B&B for our first two nights in New Zealand. Margaret and Graham were so accommodating in allowing us to check in early after a red eye 14 hour flight. Our room and our bathroom were lovely, comfortable, and clean with amazing views, garden doors and a deck. This home has the most delightful views, gardens, cat, birds, and sheep. We were the only guests and we were treated extremely well. Our hosts were invaluable in helping us decide what we really did and did not want to see, how long it would take us to drive to Fjordland, and the ins and outs of picking a caving experience. Whenever we came "home" they were excited to hear about our day. Graham fixed my reading glasses ... the glue held for three weeks! Breakfasts were sufficient with so many choices of jam. We did not come away hungry. The only downside of this accommodation was the lack of internet. While we found it quite difficult to not be able to inform our family we had arrived safely, this was a very minor inconvenience. When we left this little piece of heaven it felt like we were leaving home. It simply was the best.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank JoKen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

This home is situated on top of a hill, and the views of the surrounding countryside are outstanding. Margaret and Graham are charming and hospitable. The home was clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed our overnight stay.

The location was good - a short drive from the Waitomo caves area. We stopped in Otorohanga for dinner (Indian food at Castle 91 - very good) before settling in for the evening at the B&B.

Do note that there is no internet/wifi at this B&B. This wasn't a problem for us, but you should be aware in case you're counting on having it. (I was surprised to find free wifi at Waitomo Glowworm Caves!)

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SusanElisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Views, cleanliness, whatever you look at this was just a fantastic place with everything attended to. You really deserve the best accolades for this so keep up the good work. I would recommend this place to anybody:)

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Awful_accomodation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kuiti
8.1 km away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
270 reviews
2.3 km away
Motel Te Kuiti
Motel Te Kuiti
#2 of 3 in Te Kuiti
36 reviews
1.2 km away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
Waitomo Boutique Lodge
#2 of 5 in Te Kuiti
66 reviews
3.5 km away
Panorama Motor Inn
Panorama Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Te Kuiti
60 reviews
6.9 km away
YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simply the Best Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply the Best Bed & Breakfast

Address: 129 Gadsby Road | Waitomo District, Te Kuiti 3985, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Te Kuiti
Price Range: $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing