We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week!”
Review of Hotel Boton d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Boton d'Or
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in La Thuile
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We stayed here for a week in February in a split level family room - from beginning to end we loved our stay and I have to say that we cannot fault it! Our room was spotlessly clean, the beds extremely comfortable and the shower had plenty of hot water and 3 different settings. The staff are super friendly and efficient - big shout out to John on reception who was impeccable in every way :-) Every evening we would have drinks in the bar whilst having complimentary snacks, drinks were a reasonable price and the lady serving (sorry didnt catch her name) was just devine. The breakfast was ample although a 2 slice toaster wasn't sufficient (only gripe). There is not a restaurant in the hotel but the coppapan is next door where the food is lovely - there are two service's 7.30pm and 9.30pm - we were never able to get in on the early service but possibly because it was high season (book early). John recommended we go to Pepita cafe and I have to say it was our favourite meal - one not to be missed. Finally La Thuile, if you are wanting Apres Ski then this is probably not for you but if you want a great resort, plenty of piste's, spectacular scenery and a good selection of inexpensive beautiful restaurants then you really can't go wrong here. We WILL be back for sure!

Room Tip: Split level family rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tanz1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017

The Hotel is family run and is charming.
We stayed in a fantastic family suite for a week and enjoyed everything about the hotel (spa, children's playroom, fitness center and ski storage area)
Breakfast was superb and aperitif in the afternoon excellent.
The staff were all exceptional
Friendliness, cleanliness and excellent services.

All that at just 300 meters from the ski lift and ski school

Should officialy be 4 star!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TheFlyer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We decided on a short 3 day skiing trip to Cormayeur, which has amazing food on the slopes! The Hotel is family run and is charming. They are all so helpful and rooms are very quiet clean and comfortable. They shuttle you back and forth to the lifts each day which is great after a long days skiing. Breakfasts are delicious. A great place to stay and good value for what service they provide.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 76pilmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Spent a wonderful week at the Hotel Boton d Or in late January. We stayed in a fantastic family suite and enjoyed everything about the hotel. Breakfast was super, the lounge was relaxing in the evening and the spa eased the aches and pains away. The staff were all very helpful, Annalisa was exceptional, it was like having our own concierge to guide us to the best culinary experiences in La Thuile.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank TugsterIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel. Great value for money.
My husband and I stayed here for a 5 night ski trip. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival we were given a map of the area and key locations pointed out to us food/drink/shops etc. Also we were given a local guide book and pieste map..saved us loads of time finding stuff.
The hotels attention to detail was fantastic in every way.
Great breakfast. Lots of choice and very fresh.
Lounge area really pleasant and bar great too.
Room spacious, clean, excellent facilities (tissues, tea/coffee facilities) modern bathroom with luxury power shower.
We would stay there again.
Very very clean everywhere.
SPA area fantastic.
Location within a few minutes walk to main cable car, lift, ski school, ski hire and lift passes.
Great restaurants close by and a good one next door with a separate pizzeria Taverna Coppapan.
Basically this should officialy be a 4 star hotel. For trip advisor I rate it 5 star out of 5.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BlueskysManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Boton d'Or and can say without a doubt it was the best ski hotel we have stayed in. Spotlessly clean, attentive, caring staff, well maintained comfortable rooms, plentiful breakfast and a stones throw away from the main lift up to the slopes. Upon our arrival, we had a tour of the hotel from the manager, he provided us with all the information we required to enjoy our stay, without us having to ask. There is a spa/wellness area which we didn't use as we hadn't brought our speedos with us. A games room, reception area, bar, underground car park. The manager gave us up to date information on the ski conditions and local amenities. Credit to the cleaning staff, the whole hotel is spotless, even the boot room - the boot room smelt nice!! No shed or tiny store at the back of beyond, with manky socks lurking and nowhere to sit and put your boots on without feeling physically ill. The boot room at the Boton was cleaner than some other hotel bathrooms I have stayed in. AND I know I've said it before, but I'll say it again...........IT SMELT NICE...............plus there was seating a plenty (with cushions) and a big table to put your gloves and hat whilst getting kitted up. The only thing I can suggest for improvement is perhaps supply some little milk sachets/cartons for us Brits, we do like it in out tea. The lovely reception staff were always happy to oblige, but I would always forget to ask prior to going up to my room. Thank you, we will return.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

3rd year visiting this hotel, keep coming back as so good. It's close to the slopes, hotel has a warm and cosy feel, great wellness centre to relax after a hard ski, brilliant heated ski and boot room, free nibbles on an evening a really nice touch. Continental breakfast has a great choice and as much as you want.
Staff really friendly and helpful all under the guidance of John. His international experience means he converses with every guest and nothing is too much trouble and knows how a good hotel should be run but also makes it feel like home, so relaxing.
We left 6am to return home and John had arranged a breakfast bag for us to take away for the journey.

Definitely back again next year.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Thuile hotels
0.4 km away
Nira Montana
Nira Montana
#1 of 10 in La Thuile
319 reviews
1 km away
Le Miramonti Hotel & Wellness
0.1 km away
Chalet Eden
Chalet Eden
#5 of 10 in La Thuile
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Planibel - TH Resorts
0.8 km away
Hotel Martinet
Hotel Martinet
#3 of 10 in La Thuile
140 reviews
0.4 km away
Chalet Alpina Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boton d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boton d'Or

Address: Fraz. Villaret n.71, La Thuile, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > La Thuile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in La Thuile
Price Range: $197 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boton d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Boton d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing