We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Welcoming Hosts and Beautiful Homested”
Review of Hoeke Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoeke Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Carterton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2015

The first weekend away in a long while and we choose extremely well. Bill & Coral are the most amazing hosts; extremely well travelled and cultured. Every attention to detail both in the décor of all rooms to our superbly delicious menu. A very quite serene location in the back country of Carterton. Beautiful! Our stay felt like visiting great friends. Thank you Bill & Coral.

Room Tip: All rooms are of exceptional quality and are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KarenLWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2015

We stayed at this wonderful lodge for 3nights. It sits on a hill with expansive views of the Wairarapa. Our hosts Corel and Bill are warm and friendly and instantly made us welcome. Corel is an excellent conversationalist, while Bill is at his happiest in the kitchen cooking up sumptuous dishes; the canapes of whitebait fritters and pork balls to name a few were as good as any we have tasted in the top restaurants of Auckland.
The rooms have exceptional furnishings, and the wet floor tiled shower and separate bath are Gold standard. The room we stayed in had THE most comfortable bed I have had the pleasure to sleep in. No-one could fault this Lodge.
Sue and Rob Butler. Auckland.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SueBAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2015

The week before Valentines day, and my husband decided that we would stay in the Wairarapa as we wanted to spend some time around the Carterton area, visiting Martinborough fair, enjoying the surrounding wineries and walking in the Tararuas.

It might as well have been Valentines day, Hoeke Lodge was such a romantic place to spend a night, it was surrounded by such gorgeous countryside and breathtaking views, and the rooms were lavishly decorated very tastefully and to such a good standard.

Bill and Coral know how to make everything just so, they make sure that you have a truly memorable experience. They run an extremely professional business, making you feel as if you're special, but at the same they are such a lovely warm couple and make you feel very relaxed and welcome. I could have stayed a week not only for the lovely surroundings but to spend some more time with this lovely hospitable couple. If you want a cut above, then I would recommend this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VivienneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015

A great choice to stay at beautiful Hoeke Lodge. Bill & Coral are wonderful hosts who made us extremely welcome. Our room was luxurious with nothing spared. The property is very picturesque & tranquill and the interior is very tastefully done. We will definitely return to Hoeke Lodge.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 227pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2015 via mobile

Throughly enjoyable stay. Location is dramatic with views across the Wairarapa. The rooms are sumptuous and tasteful. Bill and Coral have thought of all the little details and supperb hosts. We went as a group of 3 couples which meant we had the lodge to ourselves. Drinks of the balcony followed by delicious dinner made for a memorable experience. Can't wait to stay again!

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank petermwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We stayed at Hoeke Lodge to celebrate our wedding anniversary. What a good choice we made.
Coral and Bill were exceptional hosts. The lodge is well positioned to make the most of the beautiful countryside. Bill cooked delicious three course meals on both nights.They were definitely of restaurant quality and Bill and Coral matched the meals with lovely wines.
We would totally recommend Hoeke Lodge for a relaxing weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellingtonKiwimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

An absolute luxurious oasis in the Wairarapa, Fantastic warm friendly hosts, Bill & Coral have a beautiful lodge in a picturesque setting. Great food & wine. The rooms are comfortable and spacious with a great bathroom everything was perfect, Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hoeke Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoeke Lodge

Address: 36 Hoeke Road, Carterton 5791, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Carterton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carterton
Price Range: $256 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoeke Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the beautiful Wairarapa, Hoeke Lodge, Carterton is the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of city life or the ideal relaxation break for the busy tourist between North and South Island expeditions. Our 5 star luxury accommodation has been newly built to the highest contemporary standards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing