We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now a private residence”
Review of Hoeke Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoeke Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Carterton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 February 2017

I'm sure this place was great according to the other reviews but I just rang to stay there and it is now a private residence. I'm posting this for the benefit of the new owners who must be getting many calls!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2016

From the exquisite afternoon tea laid out on delicate china, to the warm welcome and gloriously appointed room in the beautifully decorated house, this experience was complete and utter luxury. The hosts are congenial and vivacious and bring a wealth of charm and wit to gatherings over drinks. They are attentive and pampering and I felt like I was royalty at the dining room table. The cooking was absolutely exquisite and the opportunity to bask in the gorgeous sun walking the grounds afterward was amazing. The two cats on the property are friendly and I spent quite a bit of time just relaxing and reading with a purring bundle in my lap - my kind of bliss! This is well worth booking and staying - you won't be disappointed by the Lodge or the excellent hosts.

Room Tip: All of the rooms available are simply exquisitely appointed and luxuriously comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MTAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Coral and Bill are great hosts, the facilities are first class, very convenient location for a few days in the Wairarapa and a yummy breakfast.
What was amazing about our experience was meeting fellow guests - good to talk to people from other cultures. A lovely couple from Finland had rental vehicle difficulties, Bill took them to a local garage and when he heard their car was irreparable he helped them contact the tow truck and get transport to Wellington to catch the Picton ferry. Service far exceeding what you would expect from your accommodation!

Room Tip: Three rooms, all outstanding views of the countryside and Coral's beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceB36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015 via mobile

We went looking for luxury, comfort and to get away from it all for a few days, and found it. Bill and Coral were fantastic hosts, with Bill's cooking a wonder to behold. Location-wise, Hoeke Lodge is convenient to most of the Wairarapa and provides a great base for day tripping. We were sorry to have to leave and would gladly stay there again in future.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

If you are visiting the Wairarapa or looking to have a weekend away this is just the best place to stay, we had 2 nights here again after visiting 18 months ago, we love the Wairarapa for its cool shops and wineries. Hoeke Lodge hosts Coral & Bill are lovely and are very welcoming. Its location is very private and peaceful and the rooms are beautiful, everything about this place is total luxury. My favourite is the food just amazing i give it 6 stars, thank you Coral & Bill for looking after us again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015

We had a wonderful stay in the Hoeke Lodge. The room, the scenic location and the food were all excellent. Bill and Coral were very helpful and welcoming. The lodge is beautifully decorated and I'd would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone looking to stay in the Wairarapa.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyMM977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

The first weekend away in a long while and we choose extremely well. Bill & Coral are the most amazing hosts; extremely well travelled and cultured. Every attention to detail both in the décor of all rooms to our superbly delicious menu. A very quite serene location in the back country of Carterton. Beautiful! Our stay felt like visiting great friends. Thank you Bill & Coral.

Room Tip: All rooms are of exceptional quality and are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KarenLWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hoeke Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoeke Lodge

Address: 36 Hoeke Road, Carterton 5791, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Carterton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carterton
Price Range: $239 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoeke Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the beautiful Wairarapa, Hoeke Lodge, Carterton is the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of city life or the ideal relaxation break for the busy tourist between North and South Island expeditions. Our 5 star luxury accommodation has been newly built to the highest contemporary standards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing