We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, very clean and the staff is fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Decameron Complex
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel is also known as the Royal de Canada, its full of Canadians.
The six buildings all have good points. Building 1 is close to the beach, the sports bar and evening entertainment but the waves are noisy all night and the daytime activities get loud. Building 2 has a great view and also close to the same, but you cane hear the night shows if you go to bed early. Buildings 3 and 4 are closer to the beach and buffets than 5 and 6. Buildings 5 and 6 are quieter and closer to most ala cartes, but a walk to the beach. Their pools are NOT as windy as the beach in the afternoon tho.
I would rate the ala cartes as follows Piccolo (Mediteranean), Wok Wok (Thai), Mexican, Brazilian (lots of meat), Japanese. Thursday night everywhere is Mexican except for Piccolo, and there are more night vendors and games. Get reservations by getting a ticket for the lineup about 7am, for 8am opening, or try at 230. You can get for tonight or tomorrow, but they do save 1/2 of the seats for tomorrow for those that show up the next morning. The 2 buffets are not the same, and both have themes each night. If you need burgers and fries go to the Mexican or Brazillian during the day, or the 70's night in the buffet by pool one.
The place is VERY clean and all of the staff not only tries very hard, they are happy.
The beds were comfy, we had an eggcrate foamy on ours. No fridge.
There are bars everywhere and fresh filtered water at them as well as bottled water in the room, but no waiters at the pool or beach, just walk up and get what you need. The booze is decent quality and not watered down. Everyone takes big thermal cups to get bigger drinks, and if you give them away to gardeners or cleaners when you leave, they really are thrilled. I heard a guy say he missed milk alot, and we would have liked to see more cheese but there is so much variety its a treat.
Go see the rock and roll show at 930 Friday night, it is amazing the energy and continual action those dancers put out!

Room Tip: there are no elevators in building 1 or 2. The waves ARE very noisy at night close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoloVictoriaBCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,006 - 2,012 of 5,014 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

We spent a week at the Royal Decameron from March 19th to the 23rd and had a great time! Granted, it is our first All Inclusive and first time in Mexico but we would definitely go back. I am not sure why some people are complaining about the food. We decided to do the buffets every night because they were great. We got building 6 which is farthest from the beach but has its own pool and bar, towel guy, so nice and quiet. The resort is very clean, the staff are very nice, our kids had an awesome time. Yes, bring your own shampoo/conditioner and there is no clock or fridge but those things did not phase us. Also, you are pretty much right in Bucerias in building 5 & 6. You have to cross a road and there are no gates or security. At first we were a little unsure about this. But within minutes we were fine with it! We felt safe the whole time. Will definitely go back. Also, make sure you book the Las Caletas Beach Hideaway excursion, our family loved it!

Room Tip: If you want to be part of the action and activities stay in 1 & 2 or 3 & 4, also these are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We just got home from a wonderful week at the Decameron. I knew from the price that we paid for this vacation that is was not going to be a 5 star experience, but my expectations were surpassed when we arrived. The rooms are very basic, but as reviewed by others, everything was in working order and very clean. The food was great with lots of variety. The grounds are so well-maintained. I especially appreciated the care that was given to the cleaning of the lounge chairs on the beach every day, and how the beach was so meticulously clean (Is this really Mexico?). Everyone was very friendly, helpful and efficient. Even the beach hawkers are polite. We took in the shows a couple of nights and really enjoyed it. They do a very good job of providing fun experiences for those people who are looking for diversions from beach and books. The bar tenders are knowledgable and fast. We did not have to wait for a drink because the bars are so plentiful. There are 3 bars right on the beach, so no matter where you were located you didn't have a long walk to get to the bar. We always bring along a bundle of US dollars for tipping. You will get better service in the restaurants if you find a waiter that you like, tip him a buck or two, and then make sure to sit in his section next time you return. They do remember you. As a Canadian, it was nice to be at a resort with so many other Canadians and where all the locals know about Canada and the different cities. It was so nice to be able to watch hockey in the sports bar when the Jets were playing. There is such a positive upbeat energy at the resort. If you go, be sure to walk out of the resort and into Bucerias. We just had a great time and would love to go back. We certainly will be recommending this resort to others.

Room Tip: We booked on the beach in Building 1 and loved the ocean. The waves crash loudly at times, and coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BookishBeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This resort is very clean and well laid out- to not look crowded. The rooms are dated and simple (very clean). The food is average and the service is hit and miss. We had some great waiters (which we tipped very well) and some that did not seem too interested in their job. My biggest beef was with the ala carte reservation system. Lining up at 6:30 -7:00AM to get a number that stil doesn't guarantee a spot in the restaurant of your choice is NOT how I want to spend my vacation. If this resort can't accomodate their customers in the ala cartes then allocate two visits per week or something else to fix this problem. I was up early enough but I would rather walk along the beach, than spend my vacation in a line. Pools were great. We were in block 6 which was nice and quiet, with a large pool. For the most part I would call this a 3 star resort based on my experiences at other resorts in the PV area.

Room Tip: Block 6 is quiet but a few minutes walk to the beach. If ala cartes are your thing, line up by 7:00...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biendad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was our first stay at the royal decameron. We didn't know what to expect, so we looked on reviews on here. Everything was amazing. You're first impression will be "What should i start with?"

Food: the food was amazing! there are multiple snack bars and lunch places. The workers where really nice, tip or not. if you go for a few times, they'll remember your drink order. The food was tasty. At the Rodizio snack bar, they have thin pizza. At all of them, I'm guessing they have fries. the fries are WAY better then mcdonalds (I'm a huge fan of mcdonalds). They serve fresh fruit, and alot of juice choices for breakfast. Some may suprise you. At the japanese Ala carte, they have an icecream cart at lunch. There are endless choices. the only problem was the times for the meals. I heard you'll never go hungry here. Which is true, but unless you want to wait for a while to have some food.

Ala carte: The alacarte was amazing! we checked out the italian (piccolos), The brazilian (Rodizio) and the mexican. The italian was nice. Everything was decorated so nicely. The food choices were alot, and the deserts where really tempting. I would suggest going to this one, because everything is fast served, so you don't have to wait to long. I would suggest going with the cheesecake (Don't be dissapointed if its not wait you expected it to be, its not really creamy its more cake like). The problem with this is its to fast to enjoy. The brazilian was my 2nd favorite (italians the first). i'm a meat lover so this was amazing. they serve 6 types f meat. If your a vegetarian. the only thing you would be able to eat is the grilled Pineapple and the food at the salad bar. no problems with this. The mexican one was good. but it was really spicy and not alot of choices on the menu. but the waiters where friendly, and served chips, Salsa and Guacamole while we were waiting for our food.

rooms: The room where amazing. We were in Block 6. The beds where hard bu comfortable for me. the rooms where really clean, the sheets weren't itchy. The maids cleaned everyday and brought us a big waterbottle. To get clean towels, just throw them on the floor. theres no shelf in the shower, so we took the table from the balconey in there. the only problem was the maids sometimes cleaned the room in the afternoon. Was a stress when we needed to get our bathing suits or money.

beach: The beaches where clean, and there are beach vendors, if you don't want to look just say "no gracias". You can rent out a boogey board and other stuff at a shack. boogy boarding is fun, but i got scrapes along my leg. there are no Sharks, jellyfish or stingrays, so it gives you the feel of a lake. There are plenty of chairs, so just go in the early morning to get a good spot.

Shows: we haven't gone to much shows so i can't really talk about it. We went to one and my first impression was "This should be on broadway" it was nicely done, with good music and good dancers, and a good time. We loved going to the kareoke by the lounge. it's run by staff, who are insanely funny. They have more like rock band, and a mini disco.

We stayed here for one week. and it was the best week of our lives, there where 3 of us. We are definately coming back.

Room Tip: Choose block 6. it's a quiet block by a pool and bar. but its far from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graywolf_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Just came back from a fantastic week at the Royal Decameron. It was great., it is true that there is no shampoo or Kleenex, but so what. The price was right and everything we expected. We were a group of 45 people aged 20-64. Everyone had a great time. The drinks were plentiful and no skimping on the alcohol. Every spot int e complex was clean and tidy.
We celebrated my sons wedding at the resort and it was perfect. The wedding planner Claudio did a fantastic job, above our expectation.
Would return in a heart beat... and will.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Rooms are very basic-no shampoo or kleenex, but very clean. The whole resort was kept extremely clean. The food choices were good, lots to choose from. The beach was very nice and lots of chairs to lay on. Took a taxi down town to P.V, went to some bars and Senior Frogs...Lots of fun. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Any rooms in Block 3 and 4 are central, block 5 and 6 are a little farther of a walk to the beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
1 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos Beach Resort & Spa Riviera Nayarit
0.6 km away
Hotel Cactus Inn
Hotel Cactus Inn
#3 of 3 in Bucerias
28 reviews
3.2 km away
Vista Vallarta
Vista Vallarta
#1 of 15 in Bucerias
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Bungalows Princess
Bungalows Princess
#5 of 23 in Bucerias
40 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Suites Nadia Bucerias
0.9 km away
La Posada de Bucerias
La Posada de Bucerias
#5 of 15 in Bucerias
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range: $240 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing