We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“royal decameron complex bucerias”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Decameron Complex
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
GreenLeadersGold level
toronto ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“royal decameron complex bucerias”
Reviewed 18 February 2009

17-02-2009 kenbuddy toronto we just returned on the 10th feb from the royal decameron this was our 7th trip to this complex...as per past experience our two week stay was very enjoyable.we stayed in block 6 for the second year in a row we enjoyed this area as it was away from all the late night noise..the new gym is an excellent addition to the hotel. the hotel staff were as usual very friendly and helpful, the grounds (lawns,trees,flowers,etc) were kept in top condition as were the pools everything was very clean..the food and drink at the various eating places was okay no one would starve and the sky was blue and the sun shone every day what else could be asked for....we intend to return again next year

Helpful?
16 Thank kenbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,719
    2,036
    686
    276
    143
See reviews for
1,219
1,780
108
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We (my wife, 14 yr old daughter, myself) just returned from the Royal Decameron in Bucerias. We stayed there Feb 7 - 14, 2009. We arrived around 1.30am and weren't sure what to expect at that time of the morning. What we were greeted with set the tone for the week. The staff were happy, professional and efficient in getting 2 bus loads of guests checked in. The bellman escorted us with our bags and showed us some things along the way. He was very polite and helpful.

The complex has 6 buildings, 5 pools, 3 buffets, 5 a'la cartes, 6 bars, 2 front desk areas, numerous lobby areas and an enormous beach.

We picked Building 6 based on other reviews that said it was quiet and had the best pool. We got exactly what we wanted. The room was very comfortable and quite spacious. We were on the main floor of this 3 floor building. We had 2 double beds, which were comfortable enough, a patio, tv with 78 channels(about 10 english), and a great bathroom with a huge shower. The pool at our building was huge, with a childrens area at one end. There was a bar here, a snack bar and 1 restaurant, plus the spa and fitness area were located here. It was very quiet at all times of day and always kept clean. In fact the whole resort was always clean.

The food was quite good all week. We ate at the buffet for all our meals simply because our daughter is a little picky with her food. We were always satisfied with the food. Breakfast and lunch were the usual fare with many choices of chicken, pork, beef, rice and potatoes. Lots of fresh fruit and veggies were always available. There was a different theme for dinner every night and we never had to look to hard to fill our plates. The snack bar near our room was open from 11-4 daily and had nachos, burgers, hot dogs, fries etc., and it was always hot and tasty.

The beach area of the resort is huge, probably 1000ft long, and is part of a stretch of beach that is approximately 20km un-obstructed. You can walk from the Riviera Nayarit Marina to the Palladium Resort without ever having to leave the beach. There is a flea market hut on the beach but be prepared to bargain. The prices start high. If you want better deals, there are a few shops on the corner by the main lobby. There is a great water activities area on the beach. Boogie boarding was probably the most popular as the waves are kinda big at this time of year. There was a couple of days when they were crashing around 5-6 feet..

The resort staff are second to none. Always working hard and very helpful. The resort is immaculately clean and well maintained. The cleaning staff kept our room perfect for us. We tipped them even though I think they would have done the same job regardless. The grounds keepers were always singing or whistling and said hello to everyone who passed. Food service was excellent. Tables were cleaned immediately and kept clean while you were there. The servers always introduced themselves to us and we made sure to tip them accordingly.

We went on the Kon Tiki tour, it was great. Saw lots of fish, dolphins and 3 humpback whales.

Overall, this was a great trip. You will not be disappointed if you go here!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
22 Thank jr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

My wife and I stayed at RDC Jan. 22-29 2009.

A lot of ground has been covered in other reviews so I'll keep this short.

We have taken 10 warm weather holiday's and never gone to the same place twice or stayed at a 5 star! We have come to not expect to perfect and we always come home happy with our choices. This is a very clean resort with great staff and lots of good food. You may not like all the food but there is always something good to eat. We ate at all the alacartes and liked them all except the Italian. Breakfast where great and the burgers at lunch at the Mexican restaurant where great.

Beer (Sol) was cold the rest of the drinks where Ok. We forgot our insulated cups but no big deal bought a couple of RDC cups at the gift shop for 140 pesos .

Internet access was good in the lobby.

Stayed in Block 5 nice clean room and the bed was comfortable.

Bucerias was great nice little town about 15-20 minute walk on the beach or strait down the street. A must see.

I'm glad to see that they are fixing the chair game, but with over 1200 guests they could use more chairs on the beach.

Thanks to all who posted reviews and wrote on the forum the information was great.

  • Liked — The rest of the Mexican people
  • Disliked — Tired of saying no to timeshares
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank riders_rule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2009

We were at the Royal Decameron from February 3 - 10/09. This was our seventh trip to Mexico (both sides) and our first trip staying at the Royal Decameron. We've stayed in 5* brand new resorts and several 3* resorts in Mexico. Royal Decameron is graded as a 4*, however, if the rooms were upgraded a bit, it probably would be a 5*. We absolutely have no complaints about the Royal Decameron. While the rooms are a little tired looking, they are super clean. I'm really fussy about cleanliness, and this resort met all of my expectations in that regard. The rooms are clean, the pools are clean, and the grounds are fabulous. You really feel like you're in Hawaii - the grounds are that beautiful. We stayed in block 5 (the quiet adult block) and our room overlooked the beautiful pool area. The first couple of days we were there, we couldn't find a lounger on the beach. The resort implemented a policy on February 5 that if you put your towel out before 10:00 am in the morning, that it would be removed and you would have to pay $20 US for the towel(s) upon check-out. This policy worked beautifully for the remainder of the week. We had no problem getting a lounger right after breakfast. The food was plenty and we had no problem finding something to our liking, especially the way they do fish at this resort. The bread selection(s) and pastry selections are superb. Staff are very friendly. We had a young man wait on us every day in the buffet closest to block 4 (beautiful ocean view from this area) - his name was Francisco and after a few days, he started calling us Momma and Poppa. At our final good-bye, we told him that we would be back and that it was a pleasure to meet him. He was so sincere when he told us that it was truly his pleasure to have waited on us, and he meant it - it almost brought tears to my eyes. We went into Bucerias a couple of times - one time to shop and another time to have dinner with our new found friends from Comox. We had dinner at Adriano's - the tortilla soup was fabulous and the scenery was spectacular. We had a great time and are planning on returning next year with our family and meeting up again with our new friends from Comox. If you are planning on staying at the Royal Decameron, you will truly enjoy your experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank LadyContessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wainrite
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Our first trip to Mexico on an all inclusive holiday about the middle of January was a very good experience. The transfer from the airport to Royal Decameron by bus was excellent. Decameron has a very good resort which we found to be clean and quiet. The staff are very courteous and helpful and they are doing maintenance daily. The room was not fancy but very clean - no clock or shampoo - but we were OK with that. The beds were made up each day and fresh bottled water (sealed) as well. We stayed in Building 6 on the top floor - nice view and quiet. We found the beds comfortable.

The buffets were great for selection and the A La Carte resturants were very good as well. The signing -up for the A La Carte meals could have been streamlined by a simple sign-up sheet instead of the waiting in line at the specified time.

The grounds were very beautiful - staff were sweeping sidewalks early in the morning,watering grass,pressure washing around the pools and pruning foliage - keeping things clean and growing.

The beach was very available - beautiful sand for as far as you would like to walk. We tried Para-Sailing from the beach - which was a good experience. The availability of the beach chairs was somewhat of a concern - most chairs were claimed by a towel hung over the chair back but many of the chairs were not being used for hours on end. Perhaps a solution to that concern has been found.

We walked to Bucerias - about a 20 min walk down the street North, toured the market area which was very interesting, and then walked back along the beach - scenery and temp were lovely.

The Main Highway is just a short walk up the hill (east) - access to local buses which are good for going to Puerto Vallarta downtown and of course other sight-seeing.

We have been very happy with our experience and we have other family members who will also be going for their first time in the next month.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Canadianbirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

Just got home Saturday after a 2 week stay..we have been to mexico before staying at 5 star and 4 star and enjoyed this place the most so far..everthing was perfect, the people all friendly, food very good, everything kept very clean, no problem changing rooms for us because my sister and brother in law met us there and we wanted to be in the same building..our only disappointment was the KonTiki trip, not that it was a bad tour, just that we wanted to go on a whale watching tour and this is NOT one, so be sure to go on a tour that is exclusivley for whale watching and specifically goes out looking for whales...this tour does NOT do that , as we were told..the rhythms of the night tour was awesome and so was the sierra madre tour...we walked to Bucereis 4 times, went to the Mar Y Sol resteraunt for a bucket (or 2) of Pacifico and garlic shrimp!!!MMMMMMM good al a cartes were excellent (didn't try the Mexican one) ...we stayed in block 5 which is the adult block and we really enjoyed the pool without youngsters...room 5306 has an excellent view from the balcony, you can keep your patio door open all night and just RELAX and ENJOY....LOVED IT ALL...wish I were still there and will definatley go back!!

  • Liked — clean, friendly, location
  • Disliked — having to climg stairs
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank diddlescanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton ab
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

My wife and I just got back yesterday it was our second time there first time was five years ago. We love it there the place is very clean and well kept the staff are consantly doing outside repairs, painting, pressuer washing the pool decks then scrubbing them but with no inconvenience to guests. We love building one for the view of the sunsets, watching whales and dolphins (Its the oldest one). The food is great we hit all of the alacarts(some twice). The only compaint I have is some of the other guests were very rude to add to that we also had new neighbors move in and thought it would be a good idea to party on there balcony at 11:30pm I called the front desk and in less than five minutes there was some one at there door and I never heard a thing after that. Prompt service from the staff and I just can't say enough about them in a word AWESOME! They implemented a rule on reserving beach and pool chairs... NOT ALLOWED!! You see it every where you go people putting towels on chairs at 6:00am and going into town or on trips and others at the resort can't sit at the beach but look at empty chairs all day.

We have stayed at nicer resorts but have also paid twice as much you just can't beat the bang for your buck this trip I can't recall a single person complaining about the resort but lots that loved it.

I would say it was 90+ percent Canadian but we did meet some very nice people from the USA.

  • Liked — View from our room.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucerias
1.1 km away
Villa del Palmar Flamingos
15.0 km away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#40 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
17.5 km away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
6.8 km away
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta
#13 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
16.4 km away
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
Now Amber Puerto Vallarta
#17 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Complex

Property: Royal Decameron Complex
Address: Lazaro Cardenas 150, Bucerias 63732, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Bucerias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bucerias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Complex 3*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Decameron Complex composed of three hotel units: Flamingos, Tropical and Royal, is located 20 minutes from Puerto Vallarta International Airport on the most exciting and extensive beach of the beautiful Bay of Banderas in the typical Mexican town of Bucerias in Riviera Nayarit. The colorful architecture of the Royal Decameron Complex offers 5 swimming pools, 4 of which are suitable for children, and long stretch of beach where you can enjoy different activities, non-motorized water sports and bar services. You can also enjoy a large number of buffet and a la carte options with specialized restaurants including: JAP JAP, Wok, MexicanoFusion, Piccolo and Steak House, among others. We also offer 6 bars along the beach and beside the swimming pools. The Royal Decameron Complex also has other installations like the Vallarta disco, 3 tennis courts, one soccer pitch and a fun Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Vallarta
Royal Decameron Hotel
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Bucerias
Royal Decameron Mexico
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Mexico
Royal Decameron Complex Puerto Vallarta
Royal De Cameron
Royal Decameron Nuevo Vallarta
Royal Decameron Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Puerto Vallarta Royal Decameron

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing