We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Robin J
London, United Kingdom

Very comfy hotel in a picturesque setting

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 20, 2022
Spent a very comfortable night here in April. Room was a good size, with a bath and shower and a very large balcony space overlooking the village. Even though we were right above the dining rooms, any noise (lots of Easter Sunday diners) wasn't apparent once the door was shut.
The beds were super comfy, we slept very well. Breakfast was varied and tasty and the hosts and staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent base for exploring this region of the Black Forest.
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
2.9 km from Gasthof Hirschen-Dorfmuehle
Free parking
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Gasthof Hirschen-Dorfmuehle
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.1 km from Gasthof Hirschen-Dorfmuehle
Outside of hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$132
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Gasthof Hirschen-Dorfmuehle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wohnbereich
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$149
  • Hotels.com
7.7 km from Gasthof Hirschen-Dorfmuehle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotelaußenansicht
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$269
  • Hotels.com
3.4 km from Gasthof Hirschen-Dorfmuehle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$122
  • Hotels.com
4.2 km from Gasthof Hirschen-Dorfmuehle
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.7 km from Gasthof Hirschen-Dorfmuehle
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
6.7 km from Gasthof Hirschen-Dorfmuehle
Free Wifi
Free parking
14.5 km from Gasthof Hirschen-Dorfmuehle
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Biederbach
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
28
13
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
28
13
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 45 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2018

We chose this hotel at random because it was in a small village in the Black Forest. We were greeted warmly and given a choice of rooms. We took the larger one as it had a balcony with a lovely view of sheep in a pasture. There was also a single bed in the room in addition to the double. Everything, including the bathroom, was spotlessly clean and there were plenty of hangers in the wardrobe. The shower itself was simple, not overly complicated as so many are, and easy to set the preferred temperature. My wife was delighted to see that there was an electricity socket next to the mirror so she could dry her hair after a shower without having to dodge back and forth.
The restaurant was obviously a popular resort for local people as well as guests and we could understand why. The menu catered to vegetarians as well as carnivores, though we tried most sections of the menu and found every dish a delight. My venison was wonderfully flavoured and tender with sauces that complemented the meat perfectly. We do not normally eat in the same restaurant every night, but we made an exception here as the food was a delightful selection of local produce cooked to perfection. There was also a variety of another of the Black Forest's abundant items - wild mushrooms were served with the venison and the pork and they were delicious. The service was again friendly and helpful with advice offered when needed.
Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was also fresh, varied and abundant.
The parking was free, and the free internet connection gave a strong service without dropouts or failures.
The owner explained a service offered by local authorities to visitors - free transport on trains and buses and reduced entrance into a number of local attractions. We were given the card to access these services and we made good use of them.
To sum up this is a friendly, comfortable rustic hotel with a superb restaurant. The price to quality ratio is outstanding. I can't imagine who wouldn't be happy to spend time here.

Room tip: When available choose a room with a balcony. Sitting outside on a warm evening is a great relaxant.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillBDalheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Lovely hotel , clean,, and very friendly staff, this seems to be a family run hotel Father who works reception and does all the cooking too , Beatrice the mum who is so lovely and bouncy and speaks really good English too she will try to meet your every need , The rooms are very large and airy with a massive king size bed , but they are quite low so a bit of a struggle for the elderly, there is an annexe with rooms too which I am told are lovely, ( I stayed in the main Hotel and as of writing I am still here ) en suite bathroom which is compact but has everything you need, shaver point , loo ,shower, wash basin and towels liquid hand soap I found a bonus and not just the horrible little tablets of lux soap that I hate, also a hair dryer and plenty of storage space for your toiletries. The room has brilliant storage and plenty of it too this really impressed me , there are snugly blankets in the cupboard if you need them and plenty of extra pillows on the landing etc so no need to be going to reception to ask for more. The room has a large desk and desk lamp so if you have your laptop you can leave it set up and a great place to work . small Balcony which has a table and 2 chairs and a beautiful view too. The food is lovely, continental breakfast and also fried or boiled eggs cereal toast etc , no English breakfast. wonderful coffee too. Evening meals are German food but also offer salads and omelettes too, Beatrice also offers walks and tours around the area and I am told she is very good at these they last about 90 minutes . All in all a lovely welcoming hotel that will cater for your needs no matter what .

Room tip: Low beds so if you need maybe a higher one then maybe ask on booking
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WENDYs160
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Quiet place in the black forest. Room was large. Bed was comfortable. We had a room on the third floor. Had a balcony over looking the fields. We opened the windows and listen to the stream.
We ate supper in the restaurant. Very good meal. The staff were very nice.
Very clean.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank grace1794
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 13, 2015

The guesthouse is situated in a quiet and green setting. The room was spacious with a nice balcony. The breakfast was rich and tasty, and beyond everything the hosts were very kind and warmhearted.
A very cozy guesthouse to visit the central black forest and even to jump to Alsace in France.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank david1947_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 4, 2014

what a lovely guest house, the owners were friendly and spoke English. The food was excellent as were the rooms. The one we had number 5 I believe had been redecorated to a very high standard, with a lovely balcony. What a lovely area to spend a week in exploring the Black Forest. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and would love to go back again sometime. Thank you to the owners for making our stay lovely.

Room tip: Double rooms are excellent
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews