We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Chef's Great Ristorante!”
Review of Walter Redaelli

Walter Redaelli
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Bettolle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed August 24, 2017

Returning another year to enjoy a week of lunch and dinner at Walter Redaelli's was a real treat! We book early with Angela to stay at Relais la Leopoldina, a lovely 6 room B&B above the restaurant with a beautiful pool. It is great to be able to walk to our room after a wonderful dinner with wines. We always begin our dinner with a glass of sparkling wine and follow with a bottle of Brunello di Montalcino recommended by Massimo. The service is excellent! Dinner after eight on the patio in summer is surprisingly cool and delightful. On our first night, a crew from England were filming a TV show with couples that make visits to restaurants in Europe. They discuss the restaurant, menu, food preparation, and wines as they select their meal. However, they couldn't tell us the name of the show. It was interesting to observe the filming as we enjoyed our dinner at a table nearby. We shared the Chianina beef, Bistecca alla Fiorentina, served with Tuscan white beans, green beans, and my favorite "potatoes pie". Ask if it is available when you dine there. Don't miss the desserts! During our stay, we were able to try almost all of the varied menu with no disappointments! The porcini mushroom dumplings with truffle sauce and cheese cream is also one of my favorites! If you are anywhere near Bettolle, make a reservation for dinner for a memorable evening of great food and wine!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 577 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

Just 60 EUR gives you a terrific 6 course Tuscan taste experience. Dishes were consistently good but perhaps not earth shattering. Very gluten free friendly. First class service. Restaurant lacks bit of atmosphere but you will eat well.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank RossW221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017

Five of us made a reservation for 8 PM on a Tuesday evening. We showed up on time and were promptly seated (we chose to dine outdoors). We found the menu to be extensive, as was the wine list. The atmosphere was lovely, and the wait staff were very attentive. All spoke passable English which was very helpful, and the menu was in Italian and English. Most of us ordered appetizers and firsts, I also had a second (the grilled pork). We also had a bottle of white and red wines. Everyone raved about the ambience and food. It was a terrific experience. My only issue was the cost ($275 Euros + 20 Euro tip) which I felt was a bit excessive--but I knew it would be from the previous reviews and we didn't hold back on ordering what we wanted.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mrmitosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017

We enjoyed a meal as a family here in early July. The setting is exquisite, be sure to eat outside. Among our favorites here was the 'free' olive oil tasting offered with the bread course, and the excellent Florentine steak. Don't leave without trying a cheese course as well. The service was good & they have an excellent wine list. It's a fine dinner out - pricey, which was no surprise.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TimDonnaCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

Visited for Easter Sunday lunch, a set menu which we knew about beforehand. Lovely surroundings, stylish restaurant and top quality food and wine at a reasonable price, certainly great quality for the cost of the meal. Welcoming and helpful team - certainly not in any way intimidating. Must be close to a Michelin star. We have been several times over recent years and the standard is always excellent. A favourite destination for that special occasion meal.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Lsboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walter Redaelli also viewed

 
Foiano Della Chiana, Province of Arezzo
Sinalunga, Province of Siena
 
La Fratta, Sinalunga
 

Been to Walter Redaelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing