We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Perfect”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Tubbercurry, County Sligo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

jeanjohnc
Monasteraden, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed March 14, 2019 for a stay in March 2019

How lucky were we to find this absolutely beautiful cottage. We were so warmly welcomed, along with our two dogs and came into this lovely warm cottage to fresh flowers, cake, fresh fruit, beautiful farm produce, fresh farm eggs and lovely surroundings. The cottage has everything you could possibly need, is cosy and warm and has great forest walks through the owners 35 acre grounds just out of the door. We all loved our 10 days here. Lots to see and do around the area, good pubs and food and just about perfect for us. Loved watching the birds on the feeders each morning. John & Maria are the most wonderful hosts and really lovely people. Many thanks. Just loved it all.

Date of stay: March 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Relaxedtr...
Trenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Charming getaway”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at Hawthorn Farm Cottage for a week. The setting is serene and tranquil.
The cottage has been lovingly restored with many history touches left intact or featured. The owner's love the history of the area is evident in the decorative touches.
The furnishings are comfortable and in excellent condition.
The kitchen is well equipped with excellent appliances and every utensil needed to cook any meal.
The beds were extremely comfortable. The bed linens were of excellent quality with extra high quality pillows for each bed.
The bathroom was very well fitted with both a separate shower and a bathtub.
The surroundings are beautiful with a great woodland walk well marked out.
The hosts were friendly and very helpful. They were always available if needed, but not obtrusive.
We would stay here again if we were visiting the area.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Not a thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your break at Hawthorn Farm Cottage, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. What you describe sounds wonderful from top to bottom, in particular having lovely comfortable beds and a great nights sleep is of the highest priority whilst on holiday! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owners and hope you return again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mouette17...
Saint Augustin sur Mer, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yeats woukd have been content here!”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Yeats found Inisfree we found Hawthorne Cottage!!! While we recognise "liking" is matter of taste, this tranquil jewel in the South of County Sligo is where for us, "Peace comes dropping slow."
Add to this the hospitality, sociability, knowledge and friendliness of John, Maria and Cho and you have a formidable mix of peace, contentment and reassuring local knowledge. While it is deep in the countryside the cottage is not remote. Five minutes in the car sees you into the local village with a shop, pub, food etc. and ten minutes to the bigger towns of either Charlestown or Tubbercurry.
The cottage itself is a converted, single level traditional West of Ireland cottage that has been restored to a practical and comfortable standard. John has built in many of his own creative features to make this a gem of comfort and tranquillity.
We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality, peace and calm
Liked least: periods of rain!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TeriMelbo...
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An idyllic country escape”
Reviewed May 20, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The owners, Maria and John have sympathetically restored their original family homestead to proved this idyllic farm holiday cottage. They have retained some of the original features and added some beautifully crafted wood touches which together with all the modern amenities and tasteful decor provide a comfortable and charming home.
The cottage is set on a working organic farm. It is surrounded by a very pretty cottage garden which has an adjoining private woodland. The owners are warm and informative and welcome visitors to their farm. We were delighted to see their menagerie, which included some newly hatched ducklings and two very cute little puppies and to see their sheepdog at work rounding the sheep. I would highly recommend Hawthorn Cottage as a perfect base for those exploring the historical sites and rugged countryside of Sligo and nearby Mayo.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Exceeded all expectations
Liked least: Faultless
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 May 2016
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Hawthorn Farm Cottage, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. The property and its surrounds sound delightful, it certainly sounds like a place to really get a taste of farm life! We will be sure to pass all of your lovely compliments along to the owners and hope that you return for another holiday very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.