We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveller rating
581
171
42
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
581
171
42
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests buggy taxi airport dunes pool wind centre beach
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 825 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2018 via mobile

I would highly recommend this resort! The grounds and lobby were stunning and very well kept. Plenty of shade with all of the umbrellas and palm trees. Very peaceful environment. We practically had the place to ourselves (only 30 of us in the whole resort) when we went the first week of June as it was "off season" and the rush of kite surfers hadn't yet arrived. However my husband had plenty of constant wind to kite surf off the beach every day (the wind starts to pick up around noon). It was great having the glass paned wall blocking the majority of any strong wind while relaxing by the pool or beachside hot tubs. The food was top notch: very fresh, a lot of great seafood, and prices were great (for American dollars). Definitely recommend the frozen caipirinha (with cachaca of course) and their mojito. Customer service was the best I have ever experienced as well! The workers went out of their way: passed around samples of frozen caipirinha by the pool and chilled hand towels, stored and reheated any leftovers (their portion sizes are huge!), helped my husband launch and land his kite. Some of them speak English. Jesse in particular was very nice and accommodating and hard working. No tipping necessary like at the usual all-inclusive resorts in Mexico (but it's nice to be a blessing to those who deserve it). We did a sand dune buggy tour for 3 hours one morning early and it is a must do!!!! Spectacular views and a once in a lifetime experience. They typically all stop at small natural "water park" which is cool. I would recommend going with a buggy instead of an ATV/4 wheeler. There are tons of local kite surf schools near the resort and have low prices to rent any gear (my husband rented a board and vacuum sealed his kites on a check on bag). If you want to do an downwinder, you can typically find a group of people to kite with and pay a buggy to follow you to drive you back. We grabbed an Uber to Cumbuco's Main Street once for dinner and the seafood at Sabor de Praia was great! My only complaint if I had to choose was that the beds weren't very comfortable.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank T4477SYcaroliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelHoteis, Gerente de relações com clientes at Carmel Cumbuco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Mrs. Caroline,

Glad you enjoyed the experience you had with us, we cherish for providing outstanding moments to our guests and it is satisfactory to read your comment.
We remain at your disposal and await your brief return.

Regards,
Relationship Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

A perfect hotel to spend a relax holidays with good quality in all aspects, breakfast, room, swimpool, etc. The people are very friendly and a especial recognition to the Paulo and Jacqueline but all were very nice. The hotel is very good and prepared for kids. Is very next to the cumbuco village, 2 minutes by taxi, and cumbuco is very small with a few stores and some restaurantes. Buggy`s ride in dunes is fantastic.The only negative points are the shower space is very short and the sea in front of hotel normaly has strong waves. So the principal question? would i come back? OF COURSE YES.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FilipeDiogoMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

Best hotel in Kategorie resort and spa !I will not forget breakfasts with excellent few on ocean .. beach perfect ,I ran every morning with the sun service best and quality of the food excellent .One moment it is chlorine content in the pool my melting changed color

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank patrick00991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2017

Swimming pool, room view, food, the hotel is excellent, I would recommend it to everyone. To improve: kids room is very poor, I was expecting much more. The kitchen has only few things to cook and wash all the baby’s stuff. The play area is also very limited. A lot of room to improve in this topic.

Room tip: Quanto mais alto, melhor. Todos têm vista para o mar e piscina
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xito_Cunha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelHoteis, Gerente de relações com clientes at Carmel Cumbuco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Mrs Xito,

We are grateful for your comments. Your contributions have great value for us!


Regards,

Manegement Relationship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

If you like to feeling as in your home, you need to stay at this hotel. People are very nice and if you have luck, maybe they will give an up grade room. This hotel is near good restaurants and in front of the beach. The best place to kitesurfe!!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CHPINTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelHoteis, Gerente de relações com clientes at Carmel Cumbuco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Dear Chpinter,
In fact, we have as a proposal to make our space and structure in a place conducive to rest in a relaxing environment linked to nature. We are glad that you felt this in your stay with us.
We look forward to your brief return.
Regards,
Relationship Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews