We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Nottingham Derby
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

stayed here one night as we had an early flight from east midlands airport the next morning. i hadn't checked anything about the place before i booked except the price, so i was pleasantly surprised. it looks like it's recently been refurbished and they've done an excellent job. nicely decorated rooms, modern, very clean and well furnished. nice touches like a real hairdryer (not those usual hotel screwed-to-the-drawer jobs) a selection of teas and coffees in the room, and a full size iron and ironing board. you don't often get those small touches at this low of a price. it's only about 6 miles from the airport and RIGHT next to the M1 so is excellently located.

dinner in the grill/bar adjacent to the hotel was both humourous and good value. humourous, because the young waiting staff seemed like they were all on their first day at work - it seemed like they were lacking focus - lots of them standing round chatting amongst themsleves while customers were trying to get their attention, the food took ages to arrive as we had to order twice as the kitchen didn't get the ticket (or something like that) and i witnessed wrong food being brought to other tables a few times. there seemed to be a private function in a section of the bar that the barman informed us was for the owner and his family so maybe they were just nervous?! the food itself was really good though, and excellent value. would i recommend this hotel and would i stay here again? without hesitation - absolutely yes.

Room Tip: a room on the side of the hotel not beside the motorway might be a bit quiter, but having said that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cre4tive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJohal, Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Should you need any further information on the hotel in the future please do contact me on 0115 9460000.

Thank you for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely

Leanne Chapman

Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    269
    141
    52
    15
See reviews for
152
199
33
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Very Nice rooms reasonably priced & surprisingly quiet considering close proximity to M1. Few teething problems with new restaurant will hopefully soon be resolved as food is really quite good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 158dobbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJohal, Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I'm pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0115 9460000.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Kind Regards

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Pleasant stopover, room clean and tidy and staff vey helpful. Plenty of parking. Restaurant very convenient but a bit basic.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJohal, General Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I'm pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0115 9460000.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Just needed a hotel near the motorway and near Nottingham for a night and this fitted the bill. We were worried that it might be noisy being right next to the motorway but didn't find the noise a problem (our room was at the other side to the motorway though). Had a pleasant evening drink in the bar next to the hotel. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was all buffet with the usual choices - cooked food plus toast/cereal etc. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0nB0nJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJohal, General Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0115 9460000.


Yours sincerely,

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed here for 1 night in March having booked on price and the promise of free wifi. I arrived mid evening and received cheerfully by Helen on the desk. My room on the first floor was spacious clean and tastefully decorated. The bathroom looked felt like a plastic pod (along the lines of a steam room) containing a quite large shower and a toilet. The wash basin is in the room which I didn’t find to be a problem. The only annoying thing was the fan in the bathroom was noisy (even with the door shut) and took quite a long time to turn off. The bed was a little hard but I managed 6 hours sleep so I had no complaints. The wifi was easy to connect to and much relatively fast. Dinner was in the grill next door which I will rate separately.
Overall I was pleasantly surprised and the rooms were much better than that of a well know budget chain I have been staying in recently

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cltboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJohal, Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Should you need any further information on the hotel in the future please do contact me on 0115 9460000.

Thank you for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely

Leanne Chapman

Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

It was a shame that we had not been notified at the time of booking that the new bar/restuarant would not be open. We were therefore at the hotel with a limited menu ( which we were not inspired to eat at) with waitresses who had to go over to the new bar to get drinks, which taseted dusty. Therefore we were forced to go somewhere else to find an atmosphere and something to eat and drink.
However I must add the room we stayed in was lovely.
Breakfast was interesting, we were checked in by someone who claimed "I should not be working" and was not in uniform. It was OK.
Moan aside our room (which was an executive one was fantastic)
The bath was deep enough for a swim and the shower was lovely. It was great that there was a seating area and I loved the fact that there were bottles of water. That ups the anti a bit!
Although we only had one packet of biscuits in the room.
Would definitely return to give the dining another chance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterfly34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJohal, General Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I'm pleased to read your comments about the hotel and am glad you had an enjoyable stay and liked the room.

I apologise that you were not informed of the restaurant being closed and us operating a more limited menu. We are now fully open and would be delighted to welcome you back to see the improvements.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0115 9460000.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager
BEST WESTERN Nottingham Derby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Can't believe the high ratings. We booked a 'Deluxe' room but had to decline. Smelly from old smoke and noisy from the motorway. Very, very bad. So we moved to a regular room which on first impression looks ok. Less smell and away from the motorway, but still very noisy. The bed however is an insult. It is completely worn and the springs make noises just sitting down. Once you lay down every spring can be felt. A desaster. Every one of the premier inns we have been to was better. Would never return to this hotel! Be good to yourself and stay away!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank -_--_---_--_-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJohal, Front Office Manager at Best Western Nottingham Derby, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We practise courtesy calls to guest’s shortly after check in to check the suitability of the room, and also check with guests on check out as to how their stay was. I wasn’t made aware of any issues of this nature. As you state, as a rule our feedback is excellent and we take pride in our high standards, I sincerely apologise that in your case these standards were not met.

Should you wish to discuss this in more detail with me please do contact me at the hotel on +44115 9460000.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Chapman
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Eaton
0.2 km away
Hotel Novotel Nottingham Derby
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Derby - Nottingham M1
4.0 km away
Village Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#3 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,638 reviews
8.1 km away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
6.6 km away
Days Inn Donington A50
Days Inn Donington A50
#1 of 1 in Shardlow
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Nottingham Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Nottingham Derby

Property: Best Western Nottingham Derby
Address: Bostock Lane, Long Eaton NG10 5NL, England (Formerly Java Hotel Nottingham / Derby)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Long Eaton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Long Eaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Nottingham Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Junction 25 of the M1 and only 10 minutes from Nottingham, Derby and East Midlands Airport, the Java Hotel offers everything you need for a comfortable, yet affordable, night’s stay. 101 modern, comfortable bedrooms, 2 conference/meeting rooms. Ample free parking for hotel guests (150 spaces), FREE wireless internet (Wi-Fi) throughout the ENTIRE hotel. 24 hour reception. Delicious buffet breakfast, including cooked English – 7.00am – 9.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Nottingham Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nottingham Derby Hotel Long Eaton
Best Western Nottingham Derby Long Eaton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing