We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for lunch”
Review of The Aberlour Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberlour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Aberlour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Aberlour B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Visited today 22 May for lunch. Friend had casseroled steak and commented it was so tender. I had macaroni cheese with the best tasting French fries in a long while. Staff very pleasant and service excellent. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Visited for lunch therefore cannot comment on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank 44Adeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Staff are great really enjoyed our time there. Bar staff second to none always smiling and happy to help. Rooms are awesome very comfortable and clean. Looking forward to coming back next week. Thank you to all at the aberlour hotel and Ross Fire for booking us in.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Thank you Aberlour Hotel for the delicious meal enjoyed by us group of colleagues in February . ✔️


Professional from start to finish , cannot fault a single thing .


The Haggis Bon Bons are to die for ! Please keep those on your menu for next time we are passing through on business !

Your staff and chef are a credit to you. The dining room is beautiful also .


Kind Regards ☺️

Stayed: April 2017
Thank bUbBlEgUm91919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Called in for dinner and just wanted a bar snack. Shown the menu and then, when we had chosen, ushered into the bar which was bare and utilitarian with absolutely no atmosphere. We were then called back to the Lounge Bar when the food arrived.
We had both chosen the lamb hotpot which was 'special' and it certainly was that! It was the Sunday lunch roast lamb thinly sliced and had been put in boiling water with a carrot and broccoli. It tasted very insipid and the saving grace was the mashed potato that the rest was served on. Very disappointing as we were both very hungry and needed to eat it.
We avoided returning since then.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Resource_inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

stayed here for 2 weeks with work. had two different rooms. both were very spacious. the food served in the restaurant was quick and tasty. cullen skink has to be amongst one of the best tasted. plenty of choice for breakfast and nice cheery friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tigercat845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Stayed overnight here at the weekend, room was light airy and well decorated. Big bonus for us was that they accommodated our dog. Reception staff were friendly, breakfast staff could do with a smile but maybe they were having an off day.
Breakfast would good, got food envy when my partner had the haddock and perfectly poached egg.
Would stay again, nice room at a decent rate.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Visited yesterday on our way home to Aberdeen after getting married in Aviemore and so glad we choose the Aberlour hotel to stop by for a bite to eat! We were pleasantly suprised by the light airy modern decor and welcoming feel, the staff were really friendly & helpful especially when I couldnt decide between the macaroni cheese or the chicken goujons!

The service was super quick, and we received huge portions! Everything tasted fresh & homemade - especially the salad, which often in some places tasted a few days old or the lettuce is going brown etc. Not here, it was crisp, and tasted great. I personally cannot stand onions in anything the taste makes me feel sick and so many times when I ask for no onions in my salad I still cant eat it because its clearly been pre made & they have just picked them out - so can still be tasted but they must be aware of how strong tasting onions actually are & dont do that here - so big brownie points for that!

Hubby has haddock & chips which tasted unreal, soft fluffy fish and perfectly done batter. Chips were just right too, crispy and definitely not greasy. I went for the goujons in the end and they were huge!

Very reasonably priced too. As we were newlyweds and we were so impressed with the place we thought about a spontaneous stop over and seeing if there were any free rooms and go exploring Aberlour but decided we will just come back another time.

Really really nice place and will always make a point of stopping for lunch or dinner here going forward. 10/10

Stayed: April 2017
Thank RubyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberlour
0.6 km away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
263 reviews
2.9 km away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
614 reviews
6.6 km away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Cardhu Country House
Cardhu Country House
#1 of 6 in Aberlour
428 reviews
3.0 km away
Highlander Inn
Highlander Inn
#4 of 5 in Craigellachie
234 reviews
0.7 km away
Norlaggan
Norlaggan
#5 of 6 in Aberlour
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberlour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberlour Hotel

Address: 87 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Aberlour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aberlour
Price Range: $85 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberlour Hotel is a lovely family run hotel, situated in the heart of Scotland's Malt Whisky Country.Family and Dog Friendly, there is a varied menu serving fresh home cooked food using the finest local produce from the humble sandwich through to scallops and steaks to venison casserole. The well-stocked bars offer cask ales and a variety of drams from Speyside and further afield. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Aberlour Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing