We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Food!”
Review of The Aberlour Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberlour
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Aberlour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Aberlour B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2017

On the plus side, a very tastefully decorated and comfortable lounge bar, clean modern toilets, pleasant young staff and reasonable prices.
On the minus side After ordering the food it took a very long time to arrive at the table (both starters and main course) then cold plates with barely warm food, the Cullen Skink and Lamb chops would have been lovely if hot as would the mushroom starter, however the Scampi and chips very disappointing, both were under cooked and appeared to have been sitting getting cold before service.

Room Tip: choose carefully what you order!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nessy22121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017

Arrived late for lunch after walking out of The Mash Tun due to very unhelpful staff. The friendly, helpful girl who served us said that the chef stopped at 2pm but she would see what she could do. We had a lovely lunch - thanks to the chep for his extended time and to the helful waitress

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Isobel323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Having previously visited the hotel several years ago, I was not in all honesty expecting much. They have put into this hotel a huge effort and should be proud of the achievement. The rooms were great, evening meal well done and breakfast suitable for the charity ride (Maggies) we were on. many, many thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LordGlencoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Stayed for a couple of nights. The hotel is what I expected. Comfortable, nice, well located. It is within walking distance from the Aberlour Distillery. Does not have a lift; although this was not a problem for me, it might be trouble for those with special needs, or carrying heavy luggage.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarcelloCampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We visited the restaurant on Father's Day, one of us had ordered a prawn baked potato and when we received our food the prawns were raw and still grey, I myself work in the seafood industry so I know what a raw prawn looks like! When we eventually manage to get a hold of one of the 2 waitress and tell her that it was raw, she then started arguing with us saying that they were cooked but they were "special" prawns so that's why it was still grey! She never asked if we wanted something in replace of it and went back into the kitchen and started slating us to the chef (kitchen door was 2 foot from our table) maybe use your inside voice if you want to slate the customers! When they came back to clear our plates they were still arguing that the prawns were cooked! I can guarantee you they WERE NOT COOKED! Don't insult us, we are not stupid!
The attitude of your waitress was shocking and we will not be back! I hope you don't try serve anyone else the raw prawns before health and safety get involved!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Gabby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

We had a group lunch here. The service as excellent. Nice dining area. Well prepared for us so no delays which is so important with a group.
The food was delicious! Large portions of beautifully cooked salmon.
It as much appreciated by all the group

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank janeysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

It was a very nice hotel with a good location and the staff was friendly.. however the majority of our travel group (20) had to take cold showers. We had just finished a hike and needed to clean up badly. This was in the middle of the afternoon, hate to see what would happen in the AM.
If they can rent out that many rooms, they need to make sure their hot water boiler can handle the same amount of people.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Anja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberlour
0.6 km away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
260 reviews
6.6 km away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
215 reviews
2.9 km away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Cardhu Country House
Cardhu Country House
#1 of 6 in Aberlour
428 reviews
3.0 km away
Highlander Inn
Highlander Inn
#4 of 5 in Craigellachie
234 reviews
0.7 km away
Norlaggan
Norlaggan
#5 of 6 in Aberlour
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberlour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberlour Hotel

Address: 87 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Aberlour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aberlour
Price Range: $84 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberlour Hotel is a lovely family run hotel, situated in the heart of Scotland's Malt Whisky Country.Family and Dog Friendly, there is a varied menu serving fresh home cooked food using the finest local produce from the humble sandwich through to scallops and steaks to venison casserole. The well-stocked bars offer cask ales and a variety of drams from Speyside and further afield. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Aberlour Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing