We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic sea view”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sandcastles

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bacton, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gill R
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic sea view”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

If you like a sea view, you would be hard pushed to find a closer one. The view is spectacular. We had a storm first morning and the waves at high tide were hitting the wall and soaking the gardens. Watching it from the conservatory was lovely. On the last morning, we saw a seal. Tide was half way out, and it popped it’s head up, whiskers and all. Ships sailing by in the distance and sea birds skimming the waves.

Because we had our dogs with us, we didn’t want to eat out. We found a pub in Mundersley, The Ship Inn, where we could ring through our order (you can look the menu up online) and then collect. Not only did the food travel well and was hot; lovely crunchy vegetables and generous portions, but they give you a substantial discount if you take away. So the meals were a bargain and very good.

I think you would be hard pushed to find ANYTHING at Sandcastles that Laura has forgotten. It’s so well equipped and comfortable. The place is warm as toast and bedding/towels clean, bathrooms spotless. Nice welcome tray with fresh bread, tea etc. and milk/wine/water in the fridge.

The only slight negatives were; the place is a little tired in places but Laura said they are planning a refurb soon. So that is in hand. And specifically to us, we were disappointed we could not get our 2 large dogs down on to the beach outside the property. I think we must have been really unlucky, as after reading previous reviews, we couldn’t figure out how to get our 2 large dogs down there, as other people seem to have managed it. It’s tantalisingly close but there are two sets of steps (one concrete and fairly easy, but second one is metal and a bit more treacherous, with holes). There was a large drop and we could not lift them up and down. Which wouldn’t be a problem if you had dogs that didn’t need a free run on the beach, so you could go up and down the path or were small enough to lift. Not sure I could’ve made the climb either. If there were a better way of getting onto that beach, it would be perfection, as we rarely saw a soul there and would be so private. We ended up driving to Mundersley beach to give them a good free run. But that beach is not open to dogs during the summer season. Laura did say the sand shifts and sometimes it’s further up to the steps, so maybe we were unlucky with the time of year and in summer the sand is higher up. We also took them to Bacton Woods. This is a great dog walk. We had awful weather so our dogs were caked in mud. But, back at Sandcastles, there is a hose outside on the back patio (for hosing off sand) but, if you don’t want to walk mud through the property, there is a very handy second hose in the left hand side alley. Perfect for hosing off the mud and our muddy boots before we went back into the property. As I said, she’s thought of everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Difficult access to beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed September 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Having stayed in many properties around the world, Sandcastles has to rate as one of, if not the, best. It is well equipped for the needs of 4 adults. The conservatory is a delight with a view directly onto beach and sea horizon beyond. Many happy hours were spent tracking progress of ships in the distance, whilst consuming a glass or two. Little touches like the provision of dog towels, and an unexpected anniversary card on our arrival were much appreciated.
Beach behind property is cleaned by tide each day, and is a delight for children and dogs alike. Further afield, Bacton Woods is a good dog walk, and National Trust properties at Felbrigg and Blickling are easy drives. The Norfolk coast at Wells next the sea, and Blakeney are a little further afield.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyka29
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect settings”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Have just returned from a wonderful restful week at Sandcastles. We were with the family to celebrate birthdays and could not have wished for a better setting.
Easy to find, thanks to clear instructions, and what a view when you go through the door and see the beach for the first time.
A very helpful info pack is supplied (very useful when you need a vets phone number due to an over excited dog hurting her leg through total over exuberance while trying to chase sea gulls). We had the beach to ourselves on plenty of occasions which was fantastic.
It is a real home from home and the dishwasher and washing machine made life easier especially when you have little ones.
We all enjoyed it so much I am about to book another week next year, which is a real testament as that is not something that we do very often.
Thank you for letting us stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaAndA...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing bungalow with amazing views”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a lovely place to stay! If you haven't been here then you really should go. The beach is just outside the back of the bungalow and the views of the sea are lovely whatever the weather or time of day. I stayed here with my husband and two children (aged 9 and 2) and they loved it. I loved the fact that we could just go out the back gate and get straight onto the beach, no worrying about lugging loads of stuff to the beach with you because it is literally like going out into your own back garden :) The beach felt very private and there were times when we had the beach to ourselves. The inside of the bungalow is lovely too and there is plenty of space, it is comfortable, and has added extras that other places don't have, like free wifi, a dishwasher, and a washing machine. The welcome pack was very thoughtful and we particularly enjoyed the wine and the biscuits, and the kids loved the bucket and spade sets. There is a lovely little ice cream place about 10 minutes walk from the bungalow and a shop selling souvenirs and groceries. There was loads of information in the bungalow about things to do in Norfolk. We went to Potter Heigham and fed the ducks, you can hire boats out there if you want to. Would definitely recommend this holiday home and location to others.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views! I wish I could take them home with me! And the direct access to the beach.
Liked least: Leaving to come home.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona M
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find! Still can't stop thinking about our perfect holiday........”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at Sandcastles. Our family is made up of mum, dad and our 5 lively boys aged between 6 and 14. I've had my eye on this property for a few years but I didnt know if there would be enough for our boys to do, so hadn't booked it until now. Well I wish we had booked it years ago rather than spending our annual holiday in a caravan holiday park or Butlins. The house is huge and is much more spacious than the photos show. We loved all the cute hearts and seaside touches that were everywhere. It is very well equipped and we made good use of the dishwasher and washing machine while we were there. The conservatory is large, spacious and a perfect place to spend time watching the spectacular sea view, eating, relaxing or playing cards. Actually, the conservatory at night was beautiful, lit up by pretty lights and I loved spending time in there every evening with a glass of wine. The beach on your door step is just glorious. Perfect stone free sand for making sandcastles and it stays shallow for a long time if you walk into the sea, making it very child friendly. We had the beach to ourselves most days and our boys found this a great place to play beach cricket, frisbee or to just run in and out of the waves. There is loads to do nearby. We had days out in Blakney to see the seals, Great Yarmouth for rides, met animals at Amazonia Zoo in Cromer, went to Davenport's Magic Kingdom and bowling in North Walsham and ate ice creams in the bustling quaint seaside town of Sheringham. We loved the fish and chips from Walcott. Also the food at the local Sugar and Spice Cafe and the Burger Shack in Bacton was delicious (huge portions too!). There was free children's entertainment every evening (Mon - Thurs) throughout the Summer holidays in a marquee a The Lighthouse Inn in Walcott, which was pretty good. The hubby said the Poachers Pocket in Bacton was also a good pub to visit. After our days out, it was lovely to come "home" to Sandcastles and the fact that there was Wifi too, meant that even having an old fashioned seaside holiday, this modern family still felt a bit more connected when we felt the need to go online (this especially kept the boys happy and mum too, who loved uploading her pics to Facebook, whilst dad could keep up to date watching the cricket via Sky go). All in all, just perfect. Can't wait to go again and have never felt so relaxed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The conservatory, the beach on the doorstep and the sea views from the house.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilys_m0m...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I can't rate Sandcastles highly enough! I have just returned from my second visit to the property with my husband, mother-in-law, 2 kids and 2 dogs.

The location is second to none - right on the sea front overlooking the beach. The property is very clean and spacious with an open plan kitchen and living area plus a huge conservatory and outside patio area. There are 3 bedrooms - a double master bedroom with en-suite shower room, a twin room and a single room - all with bags of wardrobe/storage space. There is also a large family bathroom with a shower and bath. You'll also find a very thoughtful welcome pack when you arrive (thanks, Laura) complete with all your holiday essentials including a bottle of wine, tea, coffee, milk, sugar, etc.

You can be on the beach in under 60 seconds! The steps down to the promenade are only a short distance from the garden gate. The level of the sand on the beach rises and falls each year. So some years you can just step off the promenade onto the beach, but other years there is quite a gap (although there are metal steps).

Bacton is a very seaside quiet village but it does have all the key things you'll need on your hols - couple of pubs, chippie, chinese takeaway, grocery store, etc. You can do as much or as little as you like at Bacton - you can just kick your shoes off and enjoy the beach or you can go a little further afield and visit the busier towns such as Cromer and Sherringham, both of which are just a short drive away.

The nearest local pub 'Poachers Pocket' is just a couple of hundred yards along the beach and does great food - it is also dog friendly. Another couple of pubs nearby which are also dog friendly and serve good food are the 'Ship Inn' at Mundesley and the 'Lighthouse' just passed Walcott - all are highly recommended.

If you want fresh seafood I would highly recommend a visit to Mundesley (10 mins car drive). There is a fresh fish stall (the lobster pot) located in the car park in the centre of the village.

The only downside to staying at Sandcastles is that you're so spoilt re the location that you'll find anywhere else far inferior!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, spaciousness and cleanliness of property
Liked least: Leaving to come home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan K
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“absolutely stunning property & location”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

just come home from our 2nd holiday at this property. very sad to leave as this is just perfect for us. location cannot be faulted and many happy hours can be spent watching the waves. beach is quiet and very clean. local pub is very good for food and a drink. all in all, the best holiday home we gave ever stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing