We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
13
16
9
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
16
9
7
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 49 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2017

I had read some of the reviews and was apprehensive about our accommodation but was pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean and comfortable and we had no issues with bugs. It was hot but the fans were effective. One negative was that the shower did not drain well so we got water all over the place. We had been warned about the lack of hot water but it was so hot while we were there that we didn't need it! We had breakfast there and it was great - lots of fruit and good coffee. The staff were friendly.

What really sets the place apart is the view from the pool area - it was fantastic. Seeing the sunrise in the morning over the ocean was a real treat.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you get the key - not all rooms are up to the same standard.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2017

This review is more about what the hotel is not, rather that what it is.
The photos do sort of show what it is like, but dont show the cockroaches or the ants.
Yes it is near the beach, but the beach is at the bottom of the cliff with a steep slope, to the hotel rooms at the top.
Eco resort is a term to describe a place with no hot water and somewhat suspect plumbing systems.
Mostquito nets are provided. Its a shame they are full of holes, as is the mosquito netting over the windows.
The restaurant is ok, just very disorganised.
Staff are very pleasant, just a little disorganised.
Rooms range from light and massive to small and very dark.
Wifi was available but mostly didnt work unless close to the restaurant.
Plenty of hammocks to relax in
Only place I went in Mexico where they dont give free water when you arrive. Yiu can buy it from the restaurant.

If you are looking for a cheap place to stay and have the energy for the walk to the beach and the village then this could be good for you. It wasnt my cup of tea.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2016

There aren't many nice things to say about this hotel. The pool is amazing and has views out to the sea. The sunrise over this aspect (also visible from the rooms) is stunning. The hammocks on each balcony are a nice way to spend an afternoon. The beach at the bottom of the property has warm, calm waters to swim in.

The hotel is set of a big hill. You have to hike up there from town and also up many flights of stairs from the rooms to the reception/pool area. This was particularly horrible with taking our luggage both up and down the stairs. We arrived at night, and the stairs are not illuminated. The staff did not make any attempts with helping us with the luggage.

The rooms are spartan at best. The beds are really short and the mosquito nets over them had holes. The rooms are terribly hot with only a fan to keep you cool. There are mosquitos and ants everywhere!

The bathroom had no door - just a piece of muslin cloth. The shower had only cold water, and was more like a shower at the beach for rinsing off. Absolutely no water pressure.

Book this hotel if you're looking for an experience closer to glamping, and don't mind stairs.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2016

The place is actually really nice, the views from the dinning area and pool are great!
But service is poor, we got there at 8pm and it was raining nuts, they told us the room and I had to go looking through the hotel under the rain! (it was far and their instructions were poor). they told us there was no more food service (however their kids were having dinner) and we had to go to the village under the rain with no guidance from them (this is another thing, hotel is like 10mins walking and no lights during night time).
Room is nice and clean but FULL OF MOSQUITOES! so beware.
At check-out, they told me they had cancel my reservation the night before because they didn't know if we made it to the hotel the night before!! (makes no sense). Hence, no review possible on Booking.
I wouldn't recommend the place.

Room Tip: Good views, poor service and rooms for the price
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2016

Our stay at Altamira Mazunte was about as perfect as it gets. This beautiful facility had easy access to both the beach and to town, but was off the beaten path enough to be quiet and private. Altamira provides opportunities to hike out to Punta Comeda and to other local beaches, and to take a motor boat wildlife tour of the area. The room was clean and the view from the room's deck was an ever-changing seascape of clouds, color, and light. While we chose to split our meals between cafes in town, bringing food home to prepare, and the on-site restaurant, we could have been perfectly happy taking all meals at Altamira. The foods was excellent and the ambiance on the open air dining area was delightful as evening enveloped the diner. My daughter spent many hours in the hammocks. My Spanish language skills are rudimentary at best, and while I was willing to muddle through, I was admittedly happy to discover that Lydia spoke perfect English. I am already planning my return.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank puma572016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altamiramazunte, reception at Altamira, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2016

Thanks a lot for your comment, it is always a pleasure to satisfied our guests, and to be sure that they enjoy the view, the food and the place.
We hope to see you soon, we'll be here to make your second experience we'll be as good as the first.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews