We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Chalet Setanta”

Review of Chalet Setanta

Chalet Setanta in the Grand Massif
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet Setanta in the Grand Massif
Wakeup to the incredible view Open plan ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Chalet Setanta in the Grand Massif
Wakeup to the incredible view
Open plan ground floor
BBQs on the patio
Super kingsize beds
Dining room and lounge
Satellite TV and Wi-Fi included
Flooded with daylight
The little details
Family dining table
Or eat alfresco
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining room
Library of books, games and DVDs
Soak up the sun
Satellie TV
Twin bedroom
Designer bathrooms
All rooms can be made with super-king or twin beds
3 ensuite bathrooms and 1 large family bathroom
Private parking
View of chalet with Grand Massif in background
View from rear of Chalet
Early morning
Looking up to rear of chalet
Sunset
Afternoon tea during catered winter season
Dinner table setting for catered winter season
Winter Catered Ski Holiday package menus tailored to your family
Gourmet dining with Winter Catered Ski Holiday package
Airport transfer and in-resort driver included in Winter Catered package
Icicles hanging from the eves
Imagine what the powder is like on the slopes!
Chalet Setanta: all you need and could ever want for a perfect holiday.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Morillon, Grand Massif, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Michael M
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Chalet Setanta”
Reviewed January 31, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I highly recommend Chalet Setanta. We were a group of 8 on a ski break. We were looked after magnificently- transported to and from the slopes each day Food was to the highest standard. Accommodation was very comfortable and the open fire in the sitting room was so welcoming after a day on the slopes. Our group had a fantastic time. Sarah and Peter run a great Chalet...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2018
Thank you Michael it was a pleasure to look after you and do hope to see you again Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issy30
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Snowy paradise with fabulous view”
Reviewed January 22, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky to stay in Chalet Setanta when there was great snow in the region. The house was spotless and welcoming from the moment we arrived as it is toasty warm and the fire is the focal point of the entire building. The chalet is spacious (more so than in the photographs) with plenty of storage and the heated boot-room meant our clothes and boots were dry and warm each morning. We ended up eating out only one evening as we enjoyed the raclette evening (machine available) l'escargot, omelette and tarte tatin and an italian and Chinese evening as we all took turns preparing meals (catering is available if required and that would be another lovely option). Each evening we enjoyed board games and chat by the fire tasting French wines. There is a bakery on the way home from the slopes so easy to access fresh bread ( a must in this region). Every dish, pan and gadget that we needed was available in the well equipped kitchen. The restaurant we did go to was excellent. The skiing was really good as there are a variety of runs to suit all abilities. The view from the chalet is beautiful and we looked forward every morning (after super powerful showers/bath and excellent sleeps on really comfortable beds) to seeing the direction of the wind and the level of snow. Ski hire came to the chalet and he was very helpful and accommodating as one of our party tried several shoe sizes before settling on the one she started with! The property manager was helpful and obliging. The location is as described so a car/mini van is necessary (this works really well as you can put the skis into it right at the foot of the lift and leave the skis in overnight and then take them out at the bottom of the lift next day. All on all easier than dragging them around. Cannot recommend this chalet highly enough. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2018
Thank you Isobelle we look forward to welcoming you to our chalet in the future. I will pass on your lovely comments to our team
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliP160
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect holiday!”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Our stay in chalet Setanta could not have been better. The food, drink, bedrooms and hospitality matched and surpassed all expectations! Sarah and her team, were extremely accommodating and no request was too much trouble. The shuttle service to and from the ski lifts was excellent offering easy access to a huge ski area. The chalet itself was beautiful and had lovely homely features including a roaring fire place which was just what the doctor ordered after a long day on the slopes! I could not recommend Chalet Setanta enough and is perfect for all ages. I cannot wait to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your review. I will pass all your comments on to the team and we hope to welcome you back again soon - don't forget the Alps are beautiful in the Summer as well!
Sarah and team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne J
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredable”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Incredable..... I have just come to post my review of our stay at chalet setanta and I can only assume that Melanie of Petersfield had stayed somewhere else!
We have booked Chalet Setanta off and on for over 8 years the one
Thing that takes us back is the fantastic location and cleanliness,
The chalet is really family friendly and a great relaxing getaway space, our communication with the owners was more than accommodating and would highly recommend to friends and family.
Fabulous chalet we will return .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
Hi Jayne
Thank you so much for reviewing the chalet and for your lovely comments. I do hope you are able to return again next Summer
Kind regards
Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie N
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Very disappointing and awful experience. Could only stay one night as smell of sewage, drains and the damp downstairs just awful. Most of the bedrooms locked on our arrival although had booked to use whole chalet and old car parked in drive so we couldn't access chalet properly. Beds not made up for us and old sheets and linen used with stains when eventually made up. Garden unkempt and whole place in dire need of maintenance - for example, infested with insects, tatty kitchen areas with chipped crockery/old grouting, bathroom fan stays on all night, garden area unkempt and not mowed, garden furniture all piled up, windows and inside surfaces and mirrors filthy and smeared, lots of lights not working, front door difficult to unlock.
In our opinion this chalet is not suitable for children under 5 as the stairs are extremely steep and especially upstairs where there is a very small landing area.
We even had to telephone the owners to see if they had made a mistake with our booking as the chalet was so unready for us, even the fridge wasn't switched on.
We couldn't stay another night here as it was just too unpleasant and had to cut our holiday short to come home which was very upsetting.
Really poor accomodation and certainly does not fit the luxury genre as advertised.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Dear Melanie N,

DISPUTED REVIEW

Many thanks for your review posted on trip advisor YESTERDAY.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any issues that you realistically feel are justifiable.

I note from our records that you actually stayed A YEAR ago

The records show also that the guests who stayed the weeks before and after you were extremely satisfied and indeed one family has rebooked and will be staying next week ( A YEAR LATER).

I have no wish to dispute your unfounded comments but note your previous negativity on trip advisor towards other family amenities.

Thank you again for posting the review

Sarah B
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali O
Goodworth
2 reviews
“fabulous, what a wonderful holiday we had”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Chalet is beautifully decorated and maintained well. The roaring fire each evening was a lovely feature. The food was delicious and plentiful along with the wine and beer. We were looked after royally and nothing was too much trouble. The Chalet was within easy reach of several pretty villages and three ski lifts. Sarah was extremely knowledgeable about the area and was efficient at sorting out the different level of skiers and getting us to the right place to all enjoy our skiing. We all said we would return as we had a wonderful holiday, all thanks you Sarah and Katie. We highly recommend you try this one for yourselves.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thank you so much you were a pleasure to look after.
We hope to see you again
Sarah and Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alipenfol...
Goodworth Clatford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

It's a beautiful Chalet with a fab fire place. The hosts were just lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The food was all delicious and the wine was plentiful. Ski lifts no more then 10 minutes away and the area caterers for skiing at all levels, we had real beginners and advanced skiers and everyone enjoyed themselves. Highly recommend you get booked in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments we look forward to welcoming you to Chalet Setanta in the future
Sarah and Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing