We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal family getaway!”

Review of Hagg Hill Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
172 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
New Tupton, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 172 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Geoffrey...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal family getaway!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Four families stayed together for a Golden Wedding Anniversary. The hall was large, comfortable and kitted out with everything we needed. Warm and welcoming, many intriguing rooms - two huge rooms where all 17 of us could gather for meals. Comfortable beds (several four poster!). Pool and hot tub were a hit with young and old alike. Plenty of places to explore in the area. Altogether, we had a wonderful weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirkiness, pool, conservatory, character
Liked least: Lack of openable windows
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherryMc
UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Hagg Hill Hall looks impressive on the website but, having stayed at a number of these large scale properties, I know photos can deceive. Not so with this house, which despite being centuries old still manages to be warm and cosy, provide lashings of hot water for showers and have all the modern amenities a mixed age group could wish for. So that's internet access and Sky telly for the kids, a fabulous AGA for the cooks and a well maintained hot tub for everyone. The owner is a character, happy to share the history of the house and advice about the local area but also extremely helpful, going out of his way to provide extra heaters when there was a problem with the radiators in two of the rooms. Our only disappointment was that the stunning hotel-sized swimming pool wasn't quite finished in time - but the hot tub helped cushion the blow!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warmth and cosiness despite its age.
Liked least: Kitchen perhaps a little small for a very large group who like to cook.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
161sharon...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Terrible owner”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
21
people found this review helpful

I stayed with a group of eight friends, all women, and Mel, the owner, would just knock and then let himself in. There is no lock on the kitchen door. He seemed to be over all the time for no reason. We were snowed in and the house is at the top of a long steep hill. Mel made no attempt to help us to get our cars down the ice covered road. We had to dig it out ourselves. He would not go out to buy any more salt. The house itself is nice, but dirty and needs a good clean. The downstairs wc stinks of urine and we spent the weekend pouring bleach down it. Mel has fallen out with all of the immediate neighbours, who dislike him intensely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A nice character house
Liked least: The dirt and the nosy owner
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2013
I knew from what the customer had written in my visitor book that her submission to TRIP ADVISOR would be negative but I still allowed it to be registered , I am a believer in free speech which of course gives me the right to reply ,
on the Friday afternoon prior to their arrival myself and my son cleared and heavily salted the lane to our property during the night we had the equivalent of 10" of snow, on the lower levels of the lane the salt had dissolved the snow but at the top of the hill snow drifts had overcome the salting,
so my guests , my self and my neighbours were all snowed in , we could not get out to get anymore salt and we could not get any deliveries, we were in the same position as 100,000 other people in Derbyshire and the majority of the country,
she told me I should dig them out, I am 71 years of age, she also rudely told my neighbour that they should help dig them out and they told her where to go in a manor a shall not repeat, in the 20 months I have been operating I have had over 1,200 guests without complaint , I ask you to look at the guest comments the week before and the week after this visit, as it says on the website I welcome inspection visits prior to booking and I am one of only a few holiday homes that encourage this,
over the weekend I checked on them twice daily as is my norm to make sure everything was ok , they had used the free logs I provide for the open fire they had also used the display logs from the kitchen, but as they were snowbound I even chopped an extra supply of logs to keep them happy and showed them how to dry them on the AGA,
she was right when she says there was no lock on the kitchen door, I have 7 external doors at Hagg Hill Hall and for the convenience of guests they only have 1 key for the main entrance all the other doors have large cast iron bolts so they may be locked internally if they wanted to lock out the world they could have done so,
and as for my house being smelly or dirty I am very proud of Hagg Hill Hall its contents and standards and I welcome all to view

yours most sincerely
Lord Melvyn Humphreys
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laneste
La Barthe de Neste
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb house for relaxing holiday”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent xmas 2012 at Hagg Hill & had a marvellous family holiday. Mr Humphries was an excellant host, always on hand if needed but never over zealous. His disguise as Santa delighted my 2 young grandchildren! As well as those older! children!
The house is old & comfortable, cosy, like a pair of well worn slippers. We absolutely loved it! The hot-tub a definate bonus especially for those who took advantage of the position of the house for long hikes!
We will definately be back, see you soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: Cobwebs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerrymg
kerrymg
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Superb weekend in lovely surrounding”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

really enjoyed our stay here - 16 of us from the family having a chill, plenty of food and drink! House was lovely, surrounding beautiful - highly recommended. Be aware of the stairs though with little ones or elderly people

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub
Liked least: lack of bathroom at one end of property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing