We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful group holiday that will be remembered...”

Review of Hagg Hill Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
167 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
New Tupton, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 167 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chophie
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A wonderful group holiday that will be remembered by all forever!”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

It's hard for me to describe this place in words as the very essence of Hagg Hill Hall captures you from the moment you arrive and leaves you wanting more in every way possible.
We were looking for somewhere special to celebrate my friends 40th birthday and when Hagg Hill Hall came up in our search we were delighted, not only could we all sleep in one building sharing all the important communal areas but this place boasted a rural location, a hot tub, a swimming pool, a fabulous country kitchen, a choice of two sitting rooms, a wonderful large dining room and many bathrooms. It also seemed to have bags of character and promised a stay to be remembered so we went ahead and booked with the lovely Ann who was very helpful and efficient and then waited with eager anticipation.
On arrival we were greeted and welcomed at the front door by Melvin, Hagg Hill Halls vivacious owner and taken on a tour of the rooms and facilities. Melvin is a fabulous, eccentric character, we really enjoyed him sharing the interesting history of his home and he had us all in peels of laughter from the moment we entered. The bedrooms were all very different in size and shape, many having four poster beds, en suite bathrooms and beautiful looking antiques. We had great fun exploring all the rooms over the weekend and discussing where everything might have come from. The beds were extremely comfortable and we had endless hot water and fluffy towels. Each room had a tray with red or white wine and bottles of water, what a lovely touch!
We felt right at home from the start as Melvin stated "this is your home for the weekend, I want you to feel comfortable and not to worry about anything, just relax, enjoy yourselves and knock on my door if you need anything at all!" So we did as instructed and had the most amazing weekend away possible. We had a Hawaiian pool party in the pool room decorating the areas with banners and inflatables, enjoyed afternoon tea at the huge 18 seater dining table, we shared drinks and laughter round the roaring log fire, wondered around the lovely local country park, celebrated with a candlelit Chinese takeaway in the fabulous garden room (China Rose who were recommended on HHHs website, delicious!), giggled our heads off in the hot tub and cooked breakfast on the Aga in the beautiful country kitchen. There isn't an aspect of this house that didn't draw us in and entice us! I only wish we could have stayed longer. Melvin thank you so much for your warm hospitality, your entertaining stories, the beautiful flowers and for making our friends birthday one she will never forget.
Hagg Hill Hall has been the topic of conversation since we all returned home, if you are looking for a group getaway then this place has everything you could need and more, we didn't have any children in our group this visit, but mine would have absolutely loved it. We're already discussing when we can all get together and go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirky yet comfortable feel of every room.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdanger
lincoln
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“So much to offer”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a group of 12 adults and 3 children for a long weekend.

The house is amazing so much to see! The four posters and gorgoeus bathrooms; the pool, gardens and hot-tub were all excellent.

We had a bit of a funny time with the lights- but it started a great conversation about ghosts at the dinner table! oh and what a fab dining room too.
We invited caterers in for saturday night and the dining room was perfect for a dinner party.

If we had to make a comment it would be to add in a sofa in the lounge to allow more seating for all.

Thanks to Mel for being a welcoming host, we really enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Wells-next-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!!!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Just returned from our first visit to Hagg Hill Hall, family & friends aged 4 - 77, we had a wonderful time, the house was so very interesting, full of antiques. The beds and bedding were some of the best we have had (7th year of group holidays), the garden was better than we expected, not used as much as we would have liked due to the lovely August weather, but the conservatory was well used with good light levels. Yes - the house was a little dusty but all the bathrooms were fine and it would be impossible to dust everywhere in the changeover period.
Mel was interesting to talk to and there if we needed advice, but only really saw him when he was checking chlorine etc in the pool. There were loads of little extras provided and the first holiday let that provided pool towels. There was an additional fridge in the pantry along with the American style fridge freezer and we had an Asda delivery when we first arrived.
We will not be returning as my husbands mobility is deteriorating and steps were an issue BUT this was mentioned in the details, we had a super holiday it was all great fun - thank you to Mel.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael S
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star experience...couldn't fault anything at all!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing weekend with friends in the most stunning house. Owners made sure it was very special with little extra touches (who was readily available if any problems). Beautiful period features and plenty of space for 18. Extremely clean and beds were very comfortable. The hot tub made the experience even better. Huge pool allowed all 18 of us to be together for fun and laughter. Certainly felt like our home for the weekend. A house for everyone!!
Amazing value for money and we will definitely be returning again...:-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: That we had to come home!!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costa81co...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a family get together, fantastic memorable weekend!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just had a wonderful weekend with the family at Hagg Hill Hall. Completely agree with the majority of the comments on here. We called in the night before as we wanted to put up some decorations as the stay was a surprise for the father in laws 60th, Mel the owner was very accommodating even though we were interrupting his evening and his tea! he was friendly and left us to it and even let us have a nosey around at the rooms. We had 10 adults and 5 children in our party and on the Sunday were joined by 4 more adults and 4 children, we made a Sunday roast which we enjoyed around the gorgeous pine dining table that Mel told us that him and his son had made, weighing 1/2 tonne! The kitchen had everything we needed to manage the big meal times. The amenities were perfect for our family, the younger children rangeing between 18 months and 4 years old. Mel was a great host, he wandered around a few times, it was nice to know he was on hand if we needed anything, but he wasn't intrusive in the slightest. He even popped in on the morning of our departure with a bunch of flowers for my mother in law. The only minor thing was it could have been cleaner and the rooms a bit brighter, however this did not detract from the overall stay, Hagg Hill Hall needs to be appreciated for what it is, historic and beautiful. The hot tub and swimming pool were great too. Overall it was a wonderful weekend and we would love to return some time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley M
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Return visit to HHH”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This is the second year running we have stayed at HHH. We are a party of 17 from Harrogate, Taunton, Norwich and St Albans, so a perfect middle spot. We love the old creaky floorboards and the quirky furnishings which give the place a fabulous character. It ticks all our boxes in terms of entertainment for 9 children - pool, hot tub, board games, lots of rooms to hide in, tvs in most rooms, a field for rounders and cricket, a country park just 15 mins walk away, and don't forget the horseriding which can be pre-arranged with the neighbour! Also bring your bike and running gear as this countryside is amazing!! Next year there will be even more bedrooms built in the loft and even a restored boat in the back garden - can't wait!! Oh, and Sainsburys delivers along with the local curry, pizza and fish and chip shops. Can't think of anywhere more perfect, thank you Mr Humphreys or should we call you Noah? Hope to see you again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charislc
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wish I could live there.”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

What an amazing house! Hagg Hill Hall is beautiful, interesting and has everything you need. The pool and hot tub are amazing, and Mel was a great host.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing