We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
141
99
35
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
99
35
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews children's pool kids club hotel sits rooms were cleaned every day mini disco breakfast and dinner main building clean and modern hotel both bedrooms wardrobe space lovely hotel half board meal times beach bar croatian coast sun loungers split airport
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 303 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2016

Not one to write reviews but want to offer my opinion, good and bad on this hotel.

Upon arrival, we were allocated different rooms to those that we had booked, (despite my reiterating our request by email twice). The staff at reception really couldn't have cared less and said the hotel was full, so tough. We asked for the manager, first we spoke to a female duty manager who seemed to really want to sort out the situation and was really trying to be helpful, then her superior became involved and he was less polite and they offered various options which were really unacceptable and after much wasted time and annoyance we were offered 2 rooms but with an extra camp bed added to give us enough beds. Really, we had no other option, so we accepted this and the discount offered for the problem they had created.
Upon checking out the male manager denied offering the discount but then checked with his female colleague who agreed that we had been offered this and our bill was reduced accordingly.
The rooms were actually pretty nice with stunning views of the bay and a nice balcony but we were under the restaurant and the noise from the chairs moving was ridiculousand woke us up every morning. The maids mostly did a very good job keeping the rooms very clean but didn't turn up one day so we advised reception and they sent them.

We ate in the restaruant on the first evening as resolving the room problem left us with little choice as it was so late. The restaurant manager is excellent, extremely attentive and great customer service, she even arranged for them to make me a fabulous birthday cake. The food was buffet style with a lot of choice. Breakfast was also good, lots of variety and very nicely presented.

The pool area is very noisy (water shooting out of pipes and loud music) but would be good for young families. They have an entertainment team which takes over when they do the aqua aerobics, zoomba and kids games, all seemed well organised if you want to take part. The staff around the pool, towel service and the pool bar were very helpful and polite.

The beach was absolutely lovely and plenty of sun beds and parasols, cabanas and the most comfortable bean bags. The beach is pebbly so you need to wear shoes. If you walk along the promenade, there are watersports and lots of restaurants and bars to choose from. The hotel owned restaurant at the beach and the cocktail bar were very good offering great drinks and also food that was more upmarket than a lot of the local restaurants.

Evening entertainment was "interesting" - one night we chatted to the "rock star" male singer and his school mate who claimed to be the CEO (he promised to sort out our room problem but we never heard from him again so wonder if he was really the CEO?!) The female singing group were really good.

The Wellness centre is very nice, two saunas, a jacuzzi, steam room, shower and cold pool with a relaxation area. The treatments are reasonably priced and we had massages and facials and can only praise the staff in the spa. It would be good if water was available in the spa area.

The beds were very comfortable with nice crisp sheets.

All in all a good holiday and we would recommend the hotel, but advise to avoid rooms under the restaurant (7th floor) and although we recognise that we are all human and mistakes happen, we were very disappointed with the reception staff and the male manager's attitude and the amount of time wasted in trying to resolving the problem with the wrong rooms that we were allocated.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms under the restaurant, ie not 7th floor
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 7, 2016

Dear Guest,
I sincerely thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Croatia. Also thank you for sharing your both positive and negative remarks because they help us in focusing and providing better service to our guests. We deeply apologize for all inconvenience you have encountered upon your arrival. I ensure you our staff tried to do their best to sort the situation about the allocation of rooms with twin beds. Unfortunately we do not have adjacent rooms with twin beds in the property so finally, you were provided with two rooms of higher category than reserved. As to my knowledge unpacking two times for you was not an option as well as allocation of two twin rooms with few rooms in between as you have stated to our staff, and therefore we did our best to find you the best possible rooms that are next to each other so you can enjoy your holiday as you deserve.
Its s not a small thing to be chosen as the place for birthday celebration and I hope you liked all small tokens of appreciation we have gladly shared with you during your stay. Deduction for room charge was as agreed.
I also thank you for your recommendation. By this we will be free to understand that we managed to meet your expectation in almost all segments of service.
I ensure you we will never stop developing and investing in hotel amenities all in order to provide the memorable holiday to all our guests.
We will be delighted to have you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Nenad Marić
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Medora Auri is the best and most modern hotel in Podgora.We stayed in Medora Auri for 10 days as a family and were really pleased with the facilities as they had a gym facing the seafront,spa,2 swimming pools,a great restaurant with a variety of foods to choose from, and a beach around 50 meters away from the hotel. They offered a range of different activities for children. we would like to mention one of the staff from the event team marjan who played table tennis with our 2 children everyday. Like all the other staff he was very kind and made our stay enjoyable. The rooms were very clean and had air conditioning . Also facing a beautiful view of the mountains. we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lula182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 5, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words, that surely will encourage other travellers to stay with us. We are more than happy to hear that you felt at home in our Medora Auri htoel und hope that you will soon find time to visit again.
Best regards.
Nenad Marić
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Excellent position in front of crystal water sea, accommodation, facilities, service, polite attitude

Special credit for Marian personally and the animation team. Our kids that love table tennis had great time with Marian who managed and organized for smaller and bigger matches and training for the whole group. Everybody united had an exceptional good time. Bravo !!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Taraboulous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 1, 2016

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Sincerely,
Nenad Marić
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2016

Medora Auri is the most modern place in Podgora.
The Staff is nice and helpful, the only thing is that not all of barmans/waiters are ok with english :) Anyway, everyone tries to be useful and to make your stay unforgettable.
They also have an event team that offers different activities like yoga every day.

Restaurant of the hotel is a fantastic place too (being honest, it was the best restaurant in Podgora we`ve tried), and evenings in their bar near the beach were really lovely...

And the last thing... High floor lounge bar - the best thing ever!

Room Tip: We were in block near the main building... It was really good!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anastasiya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded August 24, 2016

Dear Guest,
On behalf of all Medora Auri team, I would like to thank you for your recent stay in our hotel and for taking few moments of your precious time to share such positive impressions with other voyagers
We are truly glad we have met your expectations and we will be delighted to welcome you again in our Auri home.
Until then, please receive our kindest regards.
Sincerely,
Nenad Marić
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2016

Newly renovated hotel, perfect location, stunning panorama, excellent services, very good amenities.
Stayed there in August one week, I've seen many hotels in the area and I'm sure this is the best one.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonijacoran, General Manager at Medora Auri Family Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018


Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your fabulous comments about our Medora Auri hotel. I am happy that we have met your expectations as we pride ourselves in delivering the best service to our guests and create memories to last.

I hope we will see you again soon.

On behalf of the whole team, receive kind regards

Antonija Ćoran
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews