We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful setting.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Moorland view barn

spaciuos outdoor area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
spaciuos outdoor area
view from barn relax in front of the log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
spaciuos outdoor area
view from barn
relax in front of the log burner
perfect location for walking holidays
enjoy the beautiful views from the breakfast bar
fluffy bathrobes provided
luxury master bedroom
superking or twin beds
well behaved dogs welcome
4 star rated
an initial supply of logs are supplied for the log burner
extendable dining table
superking bed which can also be split into 2 singles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Baslow, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gezkell
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 4 friends, meeting up from Yorkshire and London. The location of this cottage was ideal for all of us. The view from the cottage and garden is of the moorlands and is beautiful. The cottage was clean, well furnished and comfortable. We lit the log burner (however, there weren't any firelighters or kindling - so we purchased some from a shop in Baslow). We did enjoy the log burner once we got it going. The kitchen was well equipped. We cooked on the Friday night, went out to the Devonshire Arms for a meal in Baslow nearby on the Saturday (5 minute drive away and we left the car, got a taxi back). Chatsworth is a lovely place to visit nearby (about 15 minutes drive). I was not disturbed by any noise from the road nearby, as I had read was an issue for others in other reviews. We all slept soundly. It is a peaceful location. The upstairs bedroom is the biggest and the best and has an ensuite, the bedrooms downstairs were smaller with a shared bathroom but perfectly adequate for what we needed. I would have thought if you also used the sofa bed the cottage would be a bit of a squeeze if there were just adults in the group. There was plenty of room for our group. The instructions given to find the cottage and key were sent in good time and were clear.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angela w
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Super location and everything we needed was provided. We want to return next year.Everyone loved it and our ages were from 2 to 60. The road alongside the cottage was closed during our stay so I cannot comment on whether or not that might affect the stay but it looked a minor road. The friendly lady with a small holding further up the road introduced the young ones to her horses and lambs and the children wanted to take the local dogs back home with us

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in great location”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely house with far reaching views over the moors. We were blessed with good weather which made us really appreciate the garden and outside space. The house was very clean, tidy and well presented and it was in a great location for visiting Chatsworth House, Bakewell and Matlock, along with all the other delights that Derbyshire has to offer.

I've given it 4 stars as the fridge in the kitchen was very small considering the house could hold up to 8 people and we struggled for space and the sofa bed was uncomfortable to sit on and could possibly do with a bit of a revamp.
Also we couldn't get the tumble dryer to dry our towels but this could have been used error!

The owner's dogs came to visit us most days which, as a dog loving family, we didn't mind but I'm not sure if this would be a negative if you didn't like dogs!

All in all though, a lovely cottage which I would recommend to families.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica D
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic retreat.”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this very beautiful cottage with stunning views. 4 adults, 3 children and 2 dogs had such a great time. The cottage is well equiped and very cosy. Would highly recommend. We visited Ashbourne, bakewell and managed to see the viaduct on the Monsal trail as well as Go Ape and Pooles Cavern. Such a fab holiday and Sarah makes your booking very easy and makes you very welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becclint
1 review
“Perfection!”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed on Moorland view barn last weekend and we had the most amazing time. The barn is beautifully decorated and when we arrived was spotless we couldn't fault it. I have seen a few people complain about the main road however we didn't hear a thing once we were I bedthe road is very quiet.

There is plenty to do in the area, at the moment the Christmas market is on at Chatworth house which is beautiful and only a short drive away. Also plenty of pubs and restaurants around for the evenings.

We will definitely be coming back to stay here we have made some wonderful memories.

Thank you X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic C
1 review
“Comfortable, homely, & quiet”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great comfort, warmth, and facilities. Perfect for holidaymakers who want a comfy base to cook in in the evenings, and relax. An array of pots, pans, and crockery made the stay like a home from home.

Previous reviewers have talked about the closeness of the roads; they need to get a grip. Yes, there are roads, but they're hardly the M25 - The one closest to the cottage features sporadic traffic, which you barely hear - the other one is busier, but far in the distance...and they both go quiet after 6ish. The cottage is basically in the middle of nowhere, with great parking. It's perfect for a group of friends or family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern interior, with a homely feel, and great facilities
Liked least: A friendly suggestion would be 2 or 3 lamps in the sitting room to add to the homely feel & faster internet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for such a lovely review!
Guests like yourselves make my day a happy one
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenW3...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but disappointing due to busy main road!”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a nice barn, with some lovely features and good kitchen facilities. Visited as a family with 2 children and a dog, and was looking forward to going on walks. However the property is sandwiched between two busy main roads with no footpath which made walking out of the property impossible. Whilst nice to see the dogs from the neighbouring property on occasion, this became quite frequent and somewhat annoying. Also the property could do with some maintenance especially outside (rusted BBQ, broken plant pots etc) and several light bulbs needed changing inside as well as paint peeling off the en-suite shower ceiling. Good location for sight seeing in Derbyshire but only if travelling out by car!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Hi Stephen,
I'm afraid that we were away on holiday ourselves when you visited so the minor maintenance such as lightbulbs should have been sorted by the cleaning staff, my apologies that they weren't.
The other things that you mention have all been done too.
The dogs were originally trained not to go to the cottage, but after so many guests welcoming them over and giving them treats, it has made them 'forget'! We have since put up more fencing to try and avoid this happening.
There is a pavement that runs along the bottom of the field all the way down to the Robin Hood Pub, I'm sorry that you didn't see this and will add the information in the guest info.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing