We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location but Overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aria Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aria Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location but Overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

We recently returned from an 8 day stay at the Aria with my husband's family. The accommodation was booked on our behalf by my in-laws who had stayed there before and really loved the place. Before staying, I had read the reviews and was wary to say the least, particularly in relation to the management. However, my experience with the management has been a very positive one - I exchanged numerous e-mails before our stay and they were all answered very promptly and politely. One request of mine was to have the balcony doors made "child-proof" so my adventurous 4 year old son could not venture out unsupervised. Within 10 minutes of our arrival on a late Saturday afternoon, the on-site manager came and attended to this request - very impressive.

We stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment and it was very spacious. We requested, and were given, an ocean-view apartment which was great. The apartment was well-appointed with everything you could possibly want - including 2 ironing boards! The air-conditioning was a bit laboured in the living area but that suited us as we didn't want the apartment too cold. It wasn't as clean as I would have liked, the carpets and floor rug were pretty worn and stained.

The bedrooms were surprisingly large, in particular, the 2nd bedroom was very roomy. The master bedroom was very spacious.

The bathrooms were large and modern - with the master bedroom having a glass wall separating it from the ensuite - which our son loved having his bath in as he could see the view outside! The laundry was spacious which was great as it was well-utilised by us during our stay.

The best feature of the Aria is its location. It is right in the centre of Broadbeach and 5 minutes walk from the supermarket, although on weekends the supermarkets closes very early - not in line at all with Victoria or NSW. There are plenty of restaurants around, of varying quality as to be expected, and the area is well-serviced by public transport. Pacific Fair Shopping Centre and Jupiters Casino are a stone's throw away. There is quite a bit of noise travelling up from the street below at night, however, this seems to subside after midnight. The noise level is only to be expected as you are in the thick of all the action.

I would recommend the Aria - but would not necessarily stay again as I think it is expensive (over $400 per night) in comparison to comparable accommodation, and that you could find better deals elsewhere from the myriad apartments in the same area.

ps - all the reviewers who wrote about the toilet roll supplies are absolutely correct - you are given one roll of the cheapest possible variety! So, BYO or buy some as soon as you can...

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertsMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ariabroadbeach, Manager at Aria Apartments, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Since new management has taken over, we have made it a priority to listen to our guests feedback and as such are taking the issue regarding toilet paper into review. Our prices are season sensitive, booking off season is always your best chance at a bargain. To learn about our seasonal specials and rates please contact us directly prior to booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    48
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
76
10
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
launceston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed 7 nights in apartment 802 at the Aria Resort and found it absolutely fantastic. We have stayed at other places on the Gold Coast but none as nice as the Aria. The view from the apartment was excellent and we even spotted whales from the spacious balcony! The sliding doors open right back creating an open flowing area from the living area which was wonderful of an evening to enjoy the sea breezes. The two bedroom apartment is spacious and is very modern with good quality furniture. The beds were extremely comfortable and even the bedrooms are very generous in size. I don't know what some of the negative comments from previous travellers were on about as we could not recommend it more highly. Some people must be hard to please and appear to complain about trivial things.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peteLaunceston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ariabroadbeach, Manager at Aria Apartments, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you so much for your quality review. The room you stayed in has recently recieved a revamp! So it is now, even better! We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

Stayed in a 3b/r on 8th (801) floor with so so views especially from the balcony only looked out onto back of another apartment. A gold fish bowl apartment in relation to other buildings invading your space from master & lounge so beware any little or lack of clothing while in the apartment with the blinds up.
Pros: Large sunny apartment close to everything
2 queen b/r's 1x2 singles with the master having a TV also the single b/r
Lge LCD TV in Lounge (not a lot of chanels)
Cons: Floors not cleaned especially behind blinds & under beds (advised management who more or less said we usually do not have any probs with our cleaning staff) yeah maybe because most guests do not complain)
Dust on furniture
Roller blinds not working (although management fixed problem asap)
Could not work oven even though there were instructions
Continual "fan" noise from a/c vents even though a/c was OFF
Not enough toilet paper & no tissues
Very noisy location from clubbers on weekend nights & very early mornings & with all windows closed
No luggage trolleys (luckily we found a couple of shopping trolleys)
We have stayed in a number of apartments/hotels on the coast & whie very modern & a big apartment there are better apartmnets with little or no maintenance issues or lack of toiletries ie toilet paper & lets face it in a 3b/r apartment that can slepp up to 6 people 2 half used rolls is not going to go far at all & it didn't thankfully we had planned a hinterland picnic & had our own in case.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peggysue45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ariabroadbeach, Manager at Aria Apartments, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
ARIA Apartments wishes to thank you for your review and advise that we are now under new management and with that came a whole hoard of changes. Many of the issues you mentioned have now been rectified. Should you choose to return to Broadbeach we hope you would consider staying with us again in order to see how different it is for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

Just stayed at Aria for 2 nights with a group of 18 friends/colleagues. I can't speak highly enough of the place. We had three apartments, one being a Skyhouse (penthouse) and the others being three bedroom apartments. We arrived late and had no trouble gaining access via night service. The Skyhouse is FANTASTIC, a huge apartment that I could easily live permanently in. It was modern, clean and very very big with stunning views east toward the water. It was in a great position, close to Jupiters, Oasis and great restaurants. Even though we had a kitchen we opted to have breakfast at Sage Restaurant in the street below. Had a beautiful meal at Thai Thai. You could easily walk to the beach as well. The staff are excellent and very helpful. Thank you to Pauline and Lorna. We all loved it and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RazzaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ariabroadbeach, Manager at Aria Apartments, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We also wish to advise you that we now have a Penthouse apartment available. With even more rooms and space then the Skyhouse and equally as beautiful. In room dining is now also offered by some of Broadbeachs renowned restaurants - so now you don't even have to walk downstairs!! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

My sisters family and I booked a three bedroom apartment and an additional 2 bedroom apartment. We had previously organised cots for two toddlers and they had not been provided. We had to argue with the disinterested lady on reception to get them put in. On arrival in our apartments, the 2 bedroom on the 9th floor had a great view but was light on the supplies. 1 roll of toilet paper, 1 sachet for the dishwasher and washing machine. No dishcloth. No servicing and not enough towels. Beware, pack your beach towels as they are not provided. The 3 bedroom apartment was on the 5th floor and had a view of other buildings. It had two half used rolls of toilet paper, the same paltry supplies and was very dirty with built up soup scum in the main bathroom. The whole apartment needed a good clean and there were maintenance issues in the apartment that had not been addressed ie. wobbly toilet seat, marks in the plasterboard etc.

The noise was loud at times with sounds of partygoers, especially karaoke, but was ok overall.

The building would have been stunning when first built and the location is right in the middle of all the action, but overall the management of the place was below par and it is showing signs of wear and tear.

The ladies on reception, when it was manned, were never overly friendly and half the building is owner occupied by oldies who take over the pool in the mornings for their exercise routine and frown upon the tourists and their children.

We got the feeling that every penny was being watched, especially when they charged us for antiquated cots with hospital linen when we checked out. When I did an emergency nighttime dash to the Pharmacy across the road for toilet paper they said "are you staying at ARIA? This happens all the time."

At checkout when I raised the issues about the cots and the lack of cleanliness, it turned out the customer is always wrong and after a heated discussion they asked me to leave. They blamed my travel agent for not telling them we needed cots and charged us $70 each for the use of them.

These issues left us all feeling very bitter after what should have been a great family holiday.

I had read the unfavourable reviews on this site before we booked and I thought that people may have been overly fussy but they were spot on. I could not ever recommend ARIA to anybody. There are far more pleasant places to spend your money and your precious time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank allawahglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ariabroadbeach, Manager at Aria Apartments, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
ARIA Apartments would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and advise you that we are now under new management. Many of the issues mentioned, particularly those regarding staff, would not be tolerated by present management. We now have very strict maintenance processes and have overhauled our housekeeping procedures. Whilst there is a cost attached to any extra bedding hired out by ARIA we ensure that it is in exceptional condition and the prices are nowhere near the charges you incurred - if you are booking online and have additional requests or needs please contact us directly beforehand. We strive to do our very best to facilitate all guest requests. We would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again to show you just how much we've changed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed at Aria for 8 days just after Easter in a two bedroom apartment. The location was excellent as other reviewers have advised, a block from the beach and with a supermarket and many restaurants right at hand. We had a pool facing room, and even on a low floor didn't find it particularly noisy at night. There was the odd construction noise during the day but quite bearable.

The rooms were spacious and clean. They were unserviced which I hadn't realised prior to arrival, but there was a full laundry so after buying three beach towels to supplement the laundry provided we were fine.

The apartments are modern and very light. The kitchen and appliances were good. We disliked the glass partition between the bathroom and the main bedroom. No privacy which would be of concern to some, but more difficult to us was that lights in the bathroom fully lit up the bedroom area- not practical at all. I asked and apparently all apartments have this design, and it is the major complaint they get.

The level of supplies provided could be improved. Maybe this is because we normally have serviced apartments but it felt stingy ( 4 towels for two bedrooms, sachets for one wash of the dishwasher and one wash in the washing machine, one roll of toilet paper for each bathroom etc).

We also had some minor issues with the service and the apartment. Reception was functional but not friendly. We had to ask for a cloth, dishwashing powder and a tea towel three times before they arrived. The prior guests had attempted to disconnect and move the DVD to the bedroom, and it no longer worked. Also a screw came out and jammed the balcony door so we had to leave it open overnight. Neither of these problems could be fixed until the next day when service was available. Not major (it was a fine night so the balcony ajar was okay- if it had been raining it might have been a different story). Security was excellent so we didn't have any concerns on that score.

This all sounds a bit negative, so let me end by saying overall we had a great time and liked the apartment and thought it was great value for money. We would probably look around at Wave, Air etc next time as a comparison, but if we ended up back at Aria it would be fine.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ariabroadbeach, Manager at Aria Apartments, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about us. We are so pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and wish to apologise for the poor service you recieved with previous management. Our guests are our priority. New management is in the habit of prechecking rooms before each arrival to ensure that all guests are greeted with their required amenties. All urgent maintenance will be attended to by on site management as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment on the 19th floor. The apartment itself is very nice with amazing views- ocean oneside and jupiters casino and the canals on the other. The furniture was very comfortable and the unit is very modern. However at the intial check in the lady seemed quited disinterested and my mother mentioned the noise which we discovered on trip advisor after the booking was made to be told you have to be very noise sensitive to hear it. Well is was noisy live music and constant traffic noise!!!!. On arrival my bedroom still had some rubbish on the floor. The intial supplies are quite poor 1 garbage bag,cloth ,toilet paper- I know everyone just supplies the basic but it was quite expensive stay and the toiletries were awful and cheap comfort care soaps. I stayed on mantra on salt at KIngscliff In January and they were very generous with all supplies and nice lemongrass toiletries from australia and came in day 4 to clean and top up -wonderful. The free to air Tv also didnt work but with a few calls finally the handyman came and fixed this the following day.It was a shame that during our whole stay in poured with rain so we only managed to sit by the pool once for an hour. The Pool and spa was very nice. It was very handy to restaurants below -Sage is a great restaurant. Overall I wouldnt stay at Aria apartments again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ariabroadbeach, Manager at Aria Apartments, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
ARIA Apartments new Management wishes to thank you for your review and inform you that we have restaffed and overhauled old housekeeping procedures. We recognise that some apartments are noisier than others and whilst this is largely out of our control, we are investigating our options regarding this matter. Under new management, mini services (this includes fresh towels and toiletries) are available by request. We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadbeach hotels
0.4 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.3 km away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,490 reviews
0.7 km away
Mantra Sierra Grand
Mantra Sierra Grand
#7 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
0.5 km away
Jupiters Hotel & Casino Gold Coast
0.1 km away
ULTIQA Beach Haven on Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Apartments

Property: Aria Apartments
Address: 19 Albert Avenue, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aria Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Aria Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aria Apartments Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Australia
Aria Apartments Hotel Broadbeach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing