We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Better than lots of these reviews would give credit for” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #23 of 79 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than lots of these reviews would give credit for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Having just retunred from a weeks' stay at the Venus hotel, i was surpirised when i re-read the reviews to hear some of the negative comments. We had a fantastic week and found that overall the facilities were at least on a par with the 4 star Aegean Plaza we had stayed at 5 years previously.

We travelled with our 4 year old and 5 month old baby and were provided with a clean and comfortable cot and sofa bed-my 4 year old would have complained if it was uncomfortable and he slept well. The only criticism i would have is that the air con unit was right above his bed so he tended to get cold if we kept it on all night which was necessary due to the heat out there at this time of year.

Our room had plenty of space, and the wardrobe was plenty big enough for clothes for all of us, although we chose to use one of the 2/3 large surfaces available to us to keep the kids clothes on.

One unexpected downside was that there was no kettle in the room which the brochure/website led me to believe and was an essential for travelling with a baby. When we arrived and checked the room out to discover there wasn't one we were toldunhelpfully be the receptionist that there was only one avaiable for the hotel and it was being used, and if i wanted to i could ask the kitchen to boil the water for me. i didnlt think this was good customer service, but when i went back 2 days later another receptionist tracked one down for us to use for the rest of the stay.

Maintenance-wise there were a few minor irritations such as the bathroom door lock being broken and the firdge leaking a bit, but these were only petty things that we didn't bother to report as they weren't a problem to us. the bed was much more comfortable than many of the hard beds you often encounter in Greece, plenty of fresh towels and sheets daily and a friendly cleaning lady who went crazy for the baby every time she saw him!

Food at breakfast was good and plentiful, the service and attitude of the poolside female bar staff and the female waiting staff at breakfast was excellent. It was difficult to get a sunbed in the sun but not particularly more than other hotels i have encoutnered and there was an excellent shaded area with massive cushions which meant the baby and my 4 year old could be outside safely all day in the shade.

I would definitely recommend to anyone staying with a family but if you have a baby take your own kettle.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marriedatsantowines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    219
    101
    27
    23
See reviews for
111
292
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ashford
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed at the Venus part of this complex as part of a Thomas Cook Island Hopping holiday. The Venus is the older part of the duo, and is right on the beach, this means however that the reception is some way off, being on the road front. This meant a considerable slog with our cases, up and down several stair cases for a poor young porter! Our room was clean and spacious, with free air-con and safe, but as other reviewers have mentioned, there is a nasty smell in the bathroom that comes from the floor vent, we got round this by folding the floor mat and laying it over the vent, it was 99% successful. Our room had a sea view and small, but adequate balcony, but was noisy on occasion due to the hotel bar being underneath and a rooftop restaurant next door. We found the breakfast to be on a par with other B&B places we have stopped, and it's always fun to find you have something sweet on your plate because it was next to the fried stuff! The pool was fine, the pool bar good, and we found the best thing to do was to hit the free sun loungers after breakfast and stay till it got too hot, then go back to the pool, we had no trouble getting a bed.All in all, not too bad, location good, plenty of places nearby to eat and drink, but if we were to return, we would go to Perissa, it's a bit quieter.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crisandick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stayed for 1 week at the beginning of September, having booked a package holiday the week before for around £500 per person for the week for B & B. Rack rate for these rooms is 150 Euros per night - the price we paid at around 75 Euros per night feels about right.

ACCOMMODATION

We were in room 505 which was on the ground floor (pool level). The room had 1 wardrobe (but only 9 hangers) and bed side tables but no drawers or chairs - there was space so not sure why not. We had a good size double bed which as other people have commented on was very hard - thanks to a previous reviewer who suggested asking for a matress topper which did soften it enough to not wake up with numb bits - although make sure you ask the reception staff, the luggage staff are pretty unhelpful.

The en-suite was roomy enough and the shower pretty good. A few people have mentioned a slight waft coming from the bathroom and occasionally there was a bit of a smell but nothing that lasted and not enough to bother you. It was fairly hot (around 30 degrees) when we were there and it did mean that the bathroom was more like a steam room after a shower so you felt like you needed another shower after coming out of the room - being on the ground floor by the pool you couldn't open the small window while you were showering and there was no extractor which would probably have helped.

The fridge was big enough and unlike some hotel fridges did actually chill the drinks however it also had a bit of a mind of it's own and would often sound like a motor bike starting up and so did tend to wake you up in the middle of the night. The aircon was adequate - again not the quickest or quietest but did the job.

We also had a comedy balcony which was so small that the 2 plastic chairs had to be positioned 1 behind the other nestled up to the air con so needless to say we didn't use that - it seemed that all other balaconies seemed fine though so I think we were just unlucky and as we were next to the pool it wasn't needed.

The reception ladies were very friendly and always happy to help - they orgnised car hire for us even flirting over the phone with the car hire firm to get us a better deal and booked us a taxi to the airport (18 euro's). Incidentally there are plenty of taxi's waiting at the airport when you land but don't be surprised if they double up and put another couple of people in the same taxi with you - unfortunately that doesn't mean you will get it cheaper just means double fare for the cabbie - if you really don't want to share I'm sure you could argue but it's only a 10 minute drive to Kamari.

Breakfast was pretty good served 7 until 10 and was a well stocked buffet with plenty of choice although no juice, just some horrible orange drink

BUSES AND GETTING AROUND

Kamari itself is a good base with the beach on the doorstep and the bus stop just out of the hotel and left from where you can explore the island. Buses run every 30 mins from early morning until around midnight to Fira from where you can catch another bus to other main sites on the island (Oia, Akrotiri, red beach etc). Bus trips cost 1.60 per journey so 3.20 if you want to go to Oia by bus (around 30-40 mins)

We hired a car for a couple of days for around 75 euros from Loizes via the hotel and they provided a nice car and were very friendly - they deliver and pick up from the hotel. It was well worth doing this to see a bit more of the island which leads to;

PLACES TO SEE (in no particular order)

1/ Pyrgos - this is a seemingly non discript village West of Kamari and South of Fira however it is well worth spending an hour wandering around the small streets and up to the church on the hill which has great views and a nice bar at the top (although quite expensive at 3.50 for a soft drink)
2/ Monastry of Profitis Ilias - just on from Pyrgos, this is the highest point on the island and has incredible views and the monastary itself is worth a visit.
3/ Vlyhada Beach - we drove around to most of the beaches in the South and this was our favourite, quiet with surreal backdrop of weathered sandstone cliffs
4/ Oia for sunset - up to you weather you fancy a restaurant or bar or just sitting on a rock watching it. Busy but not complete carnage.
5/ Drive along the South Western road to Cape Akrotiri - more great views of the caldera
6/ Santo Wines - this is the biggest vineyard on the island and produces the best wines but the best thing about it is the view you get at sunset. We just went, bought a couple of glasses of wine and sat in peace on an enormous terrace watching the coulours unfold.

PLACES TO EAT - Kamari

1/ Nichteri - In Kamari this is the best place to eat by far. Slightly more refined food but no more expensive that most of the other sea front restaurants. We ate here twice and everything we ate was beautiful.
2/ Amalthia - balancing the classyness of Nichteri, this is a good old style taverna, 100 metres inland at the Southern end of the beach. The staff are really friendly and the garden setting with the smell of jasmin wafting around lovely. The food was no better than average but it just had a really nice feel to it so well worth a visit. One of the best house wines we found as well!

PLACES TO EAT OUTSIDE KAMARI

1/ To Psaraki - at Vlyhada. This is at the beach, on a road just above the harbour and is a great spot for lunch and particularly fish which is all fresh. Possibly the best calamari we have ever tasted! Not expensive but a step above in quality compared to most of the places we ate at.
2/ Fish tavern - in Akrotiri. I think that is what it is called but you will find it on your right just as you drive in to Akrotiri and it has 'fish tavern' painted in white on the wall. We only stopped here because we were starving and we couldn't find another restaurant we were looking for. This is a GREAT place. Very local with a self built grill shack attached to the restaurant where all the fish and meat is grilled. We were served by a young lad of maybe 13 who was clearly a bit bonkers(in a good way) but made for a very entertaining meal. We had the best salad tomatoes and cheese saganaki of the trip here. Fish was so fresh you could taste the sea but it also hadn't been gutted so be careful.

Overall, Santorini is a lovely if somewhat over developed island which is really easy to get around, has fantastic sunsets and generally good food.

The Afroditi Venus is a decent hotel, much as would be expected in a holiday resort but don't get your hopes up for a massively relaxing stay what with the aircon, the fridge (which in fairness we could have turned off), the constant door banging and clippity clop feet on the tile floors of the hotel, coupled with the non stop music (albeit at low level) pretty much everywhere you go it came as a bit of a shock to the system to get home and hear silence!

Overall I'd tentatively recommend the hotel as long as you set your expectations.

Happy holidays!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

i have been coming to greece for over 25 years and have spent over 10 years of my life living and working there.it was my first time to santorini.i wanted to go for the incredible views over the caldera(volcano) and was not disappointed.the hotel is in kamari which in my humble opinion is the best combination to stay as it is by the beach(stone like most in santorini) and 15 min bus ride from thira the capital.the hotel is very clean and the buffet half board meals were of very good quality-better than some of the places we ate out in.breakfast was good with a varied choice .al the staff are very friendly and helpful and helped to make our stay memorable.although i did not use the pool it was clean and well looked after like the rest of the grounds.there is a very pleasant spa my partner used.there are lots of sun beds owned by the hotel on the beach opposite the hotel but they do go quickly so best to get down early in the morning.all of the british can heave a sigh of relief as the old trick of "reserving sun beds" the day before by towelling them is prohibited! hooray! there is wi-fi access which always worked like the hot water hooray once again.all in all i would certainly recommend the hotel. problems? the hotel owned beach front restaurant(not the one in the hotel itself) is a bit hit and miss. the decor of the hotel in parts is a bit dated-these are minor things though.i would like to use the final part of this review to correct a few misconceptions .check out time is 12 noon.it may work for you or against you- it depends on your flight time.therefore any review which states "we arrived early and our room was not ready-very disappointed " is simply factually incorrect.12 noon is the check out time.the hotel is rated at 4.5 stars -the greek hotel star rating system is not the same as staying in a same star rated hotel in london.i would say it as better than 3 stars i have stayed in at the uk .we did stay at "la mer " for a night which is a true 5 star hotel from the same group which owns the venus beach hotel.if you want the most luxurious -stay there.prices in santorini are expensive-always have been.beware of some overly negative reviews as some of these are done by ex -members of staff with a grudge to bear!.in thira -the capital two cokes 8.70 was the dearest but worth every penny as you are overlooking the amazing caldera.a meal in kamari is about 30 euros.the prices are dearer than most greek islands but generally speaking the days of greece being a cheap paradise are long over.if you want a combination sightseeing/beach holiday or sightseeing only i would recommend the hotel and santorini. for just a beach holiday -go elsewhere. let the magic of greece wash over you and you will remember the caldera for the rest of your life!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welltravelled001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thessaloniki
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Be sure when you check your room and specially the exact place of the room. Many rooms don’t have balcony ( problem when you want to dry towels or swimsuit), no view at all (looking to walls) and avoid ground floor . Also the room was noisy. No free space (gardens, free area, grass etc). The restaurant in the ground floor have only a few tables outside in the front of the swimming pool and you have to come early to take one of them.
The stuff was very polite.
Umbrellas at the beach and internet were free of charge. The bar at the front was very good.
Kamari is a good place to stay but make sure you check the right room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evdomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

When you arrive at Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa, you will be pleasantly surprised, the hotel actually looks better in real life than in the photos (I think that they should put better photos on the website). Because the tap water in Santorini is not drinkable on the day of our arrival we had a bottle of water in each room.

The hotel is located in the centre of Kamari and also on the sea front, with it’s own private beach where you can also order food/ drinks and rent sun beds (2 sun beds, 1 umbrella and small table for 7 Euros/day). At Venus Beach there are two restaurants and a bar.

The hotel staff was very nice and always helpful and everyone knew English. The food was very nice and everyday we had a different menu. The rooms were quite large and they were cleaned every day and new towels were placed in the bathroom.

The nightlife was very nice in Kamari because there were many tavernas, bars and restaurants on the seafront, but all with a high standard (more classy than other summer destinations).

On the island there are many places to visit. I suggest that you take a tour and see the two volcanic islands in the middle of the caldera. From there you can see Thira (the main island) and Thirasia. If you want to see the most beautiful sunset in the world you must visit Oia.

Perissa can be visited by boat from Kamari, the pick up point is on the beach about 50m from the hotel. If you want to visit the entire island it is very cheap to rent a car (I paid 35 Euros for one day). On the islands there are a series of beaches; in Kamari and Perrissa the beaches have black volcanic pebbles. There is also a red, a white and a single sandy beach.

I would be happy to visit again this island and to stay at Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabi2i42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed at the hotel for a week. The whole place was very clean. We never had a problem getting a sun bed at the pool or on the beach. This is a great place to relax, and a short bus trip to fira where you can get a bus to otherbparts of the island. The room was not large but big enough for our needs. We fully recommend this hotel and village.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.1 km away
Aegean Plaza Hotel
Aegean Plaza Hotel
#27 of 79 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.7 km away
Bellonias Villas
Bellonias Villas
#5 of 79 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.5 km away
Sigalas Hotel
Sigalas Hotel
#31 of 79 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
Kamari Beach Hotel
Kamari Beach Hotel
#18 of 79 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.2 km away
Rose Bay Hotel
Rose Bay Hotel
#22 of 79 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Kamari Beach | Santorini, Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#25 Family Hotel in Kamari
#32 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa is a resort located in Kamari village of one of the most beautiful islands of Greece, Santorini. The hotel offers beach access and majestic view of the Ancient Thira hills. Exclusive hotel restaurant featuring local and international cuisine is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relaxing private spa. Multiple swimming pools & sundecks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel Kamari
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel And Spa
Afroditi Venus Beach Kamari
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa Santorini/Kamari, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing