We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palazzo Versace
Nearby Hotels
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sea World Resort(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
US$253
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maldives Resort(Main Beach)(Great Value!)
US$240
US$161
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$256
US$243
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$406
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rhapsody Resort(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$861
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpha Sovereign Hotel(Surfers Paradise)
US$117
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Sun City(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$313
US$284
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Resort Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)
US$168
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Meriton Suites Southport(Southport)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,185)
Filter reviews
2,185 results
Traveller rating
1,114
472
282
161
156
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,114
472
282
161
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teail baroccole jardinsuperior suitevie restaurantthe gold coastturn down servicelagoon suiteseafood buffetbeautiful hotelmarina mirageoil burnerpool areapool staffspa bathlittle thingsacross the road
Filter
Updating list...
1,908 - 1,913 of 2,185 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2011

me and my wife spent our first to nights here and i have to say what a place to unwind and relax to get over the jet lag. we had the cheapest room which was plenty big enough for 2 people ,the bed was to die for , the shower was a little small but did the job very well, the bath we did not use but looked fantastic. the staff could be a little slow on reception at times but looked after your every need. the pool area is the best bit the staff are very attentative and the pool and loungers are 5 star.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheardy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Where do i begin.....at $700 to 2K per night for a room or 2 br condo you would expect world class service/resort. First, it's located on a postage size location in Main Beach (this is really not a resort folks....it's very small) which during peak times it is impossible to get out of resort due to Sea World traffic. If you are fortunate to get out it takes 45 min. to get back to the postage stamp due to the traffic issue.

Lack of space: There is clearly no space when the resort is near capacity. There is a limited amount of space in pool area and on most days many people were turned away from obtaining a chair due to lack of availability. For the fortunate few who could get a beach chair they were crammed together like a Coney Island July day with no spacing. The resort has allocated a significant part of pool area to fountains which detract from space for sun bathers...dumb idea Palazzo. Finally, you could only get one towel per person that was utilized for your chair.....at $2K per day, couldn't we have another to towel off after using the pool? Having stayed at the Ritz Carlton Grand Cayman over US Thanksgiving in which the attendants not only setup your chair but also brought towels, refreshments such as pineapple juice and fruit periodically to the guests I'd suggest the Palazzo needs to significantly upgrade their pool service to meet world class standards.

Food Qualiy: Buffet is underwhelming with limited and poor quality. There are few hot foods and a poor selection of healthy foods such as fresh yogurt. Lunch/Room service were comparable to Hungry Jacks. At $42 a person for their buffet, McDonalds and Gloria Jean coffee became a good alternative at the local Australian Fair Mall (remember to get up early since you'll never get back due to traffic)

Cleanliness: Health Club has reasonably decent equipment but was crammed into a space adjacent to sauna/indoor poor/SPA and it felt like an August day in Tokyo. As well, has the Palazzo realized that cleaning machines and/or providing cleaning accessories for workout members is essential in today's environment. We stayed at the Peninsula Tokyo and Ritz Carlton Singapore in which both had attendants wipe down machines after use. Wouldn't you think a "world-class" resort such as the Palazzo could do the same. There was a desk attendant who took the word desk literally and never left her area. Even a Gold's Gym in the US has cleaning equipment.

Rooms: Base rooms are very tight with one of the noisiest ac units I have ever experienced. Condos were significantly better and if your budget can afford them (up to $2K per night at peak) I'd strongly suggest going that way. In the non-condo area, elevators are slow and there was NO wireless service in the rooms...only ethernet. You had to go to the lobby to get wireless and for the five days we were there it was only working 2.

People: If you are into star gazing and being surrounded by unhappy/arrogant people the Palazzo is the place for you. New year's day had a few AFL players and a few entertainers (U2 and other prominent groups have stayed there in past) that got some people excited to see but candidly I have rarely been surrounded by such a collection of narcissistic, plastic and surgically enhanced people in my life. This place puts Miami Beach to shame on arrogance but without the body shapes.

Overall service attitudes were bad with a few exceptions in the pool and check in area.

Nightly chocolates are the highlight but at these prices not of value.

Finally, Gold Coast is considered the tattoo capital of Australia.....be prepared to see an array of characters when traveling to the Gold Coast. It reminds me of the US Myrtle Beach area.

Finally, escape the resort and head over to the beach area. GC has great beaches with wonderful water quality....just be careful re: rip tides and rough surf.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 300nitesayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Following some friends' advice we spent Christmas at Palazzo Versace (Gold Coast). What a disappointment!! For a 5 stars hotel rate, this one offers the quality of a 2 stars one. The rooms are in bad shape and the housekeeping service is not very efficient. We tried to book a table at one of the restaurants for Christmas evening and there were no places available. However, we noticed that most of the restaurants were almost empty on the 24th. In some sense it was a good thing since the food at the restaurants is of very poor quality.
Finally, a major issue is the fact that the air conditioning doesn't work in the corridors (saving money?) and it couldn't go lower than 21 degrees in the rooms.
In summary, we are still looking for the Palazzo!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chevalierlatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We recently had the pleasure of spending Christmas, including Christmas dinner, at Palazzo Versace. We have stayed in top hotels in Europe, Asia and the US and this is the best. We have never anywhere in the world had service as good as what we experienced here. The Christmas lunch was magnificent and the white chocolate fountain with strawberries and marshmallows for dipping - to die for.

We couldn't recommend it highly enough. Our friends have already decided to try it for Christmas 2011.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jredcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2011

This was our second stay, and the service was terrible in almost every regard. The hotel itself though, including the fitout and amenities are superb.

We returned to our room on day 1 to find a message under rhe door demaning wet attend reception and provide an alternate means of payment (with the implied threat that you'd be booted out) turned out to be they forgot to swipe the credit card. The rest of the stay was spent fixing their problems. From chasing down an inroom dining menu yourself after asking 4 times over an 8 hour period to collecting your own drinks from the bar since you could no longer stand to see them sitting there a minute longer than the ten minutes they'd been there.

The final straw was the raised eyebrows from a waiter, having been asked by his manager to come and take our order after a twenty minute wait, only to have me ask him to wait a sec whilst I attended to our children.

It seems a common theme here ... Whilst some staff are terrific, the majority simply aren't up to the standard required for a hotel that costs $2000 for a weekend ... Try the park guards in Sydney or Melbourne instead if you'd like to experience the level of service that should be at the versace

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeeks02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews