We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!”

Adventures with Elephants
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Bela Bela
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offering way more than the usual “Touch and Feed’ elephant experience, Adventures With Elephants offer unique intimate hands-on educational elephant interactions, elephant-back safaris, swims on elephants, starlight safaris as well as tailor-made events such as weddings, team-building, corporate functions and filming. Info:Adventures With Elephants is an educational elephant interaction facility / venue located on a beautiful 300 hectare wildlife reserve. AWE is situated an hour’s drive north from Pretoria and is a short 35 km from Bela Bela off the R516 on the D1000 adjacent to the Zebula Country Club. Adventures With Elephants is managed by the Hensman family who have been privileged to have lived and worked with elephants since 1988 and as such offer unrivaled elephant experiences.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

I celebrated my birthday by having a day to spend with these amazing animals. They are so misunderstood but amazing to learn and to change your opinion. I was blessed to play with them in the dam which is beyond my wildest dreams. LOVED EVERY MOMENT OF IT

THANK YOU

Thank Lenay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanElephants, Owner at Adventures with Elephants, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Wow, thank you so much & so, so pleased that these amazing ellies were able to make your birthday unforgettable!

Thank you for choosing to spend it with us!

Kindest regards

Jenna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gentle giants"
in 20 reviews
"wonderful experience"
in 31 reviews
"elephant interaction"
in 18 reviews
"amazing animals"
in 16 reviews
"elephant safari"
in 8 reviews
"baby elephant"
in 8 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 16 reviews
"whole experience"
in 11 reviews
"bucket list"
in 9 reviews
"take photos"
in 4 reviews
"these guys"
in 5 reviews
"loved every minute"
in 5 reviews
"humbling experience"
in 4 reviews
"intelligent animals"
in 4 reviews
"well taken care"
in 4 reviews
"the owner"
in 12 reviews
"handlers"
in 47 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 387 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2018

The whole experience was amazing from start to finish. Llewelyn gave us a history of the place and what they’re trying to accomplish with elephants. David was very knowledgeable of the elephants and you could see he loved his job. I didn’t realize how much we were going to get to play with the elephants! In one hour we got to meet each one and see what they’re capable of doing. It was a fantastic experience.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank birdie747812018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanElephants, Owner at Adventures with Elephants, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Thank you so much for your great review! We are delighted that you had such a wonderful time here & we exceeded your expectations. Elephants always have a way of doing this!!

Thank you for visiting!

Kindest regards

The AWE Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2018

Oscar and the team made the whole experience informative with lots of fun and laughter. It was a privilege to interact with these beautiful, intelligent animals. Loved the babies!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank deniseO206SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanElephants, Owner at Adventures with Elephants, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Thank you for your 5* review & we will be sure to send your praise to Oscar too! We aim for lots of fun & even more education, so we are delighted that we met our & your expectations.

Thank you again for visiting!

Kindest regards

The AWE Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018

We had a brief visit on our last day in the area & although I am not overly keen on the whole interaction with animals I do admire the work they are doing here & the aim of the project as a whole. The owners & staff were very friendly & informative & it is worth stopping in if only to hear about the vision they have for the elephants in their care which is commemndable.

Thank DeeRoelRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanElephants, Owner at Adventures with Elephants, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback & taking the time to write to us. We understand your opinion and we are so pleased that you were able to visit us & really see what goes on here with our conservation efforts & the care & research put into our elephants.

We will also be sure to let the staff know what a great job they are doing & thanks again for visiting!

Kindest regards

The AWE Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2018

This is a great experience for the whole family. You get to learn and touch the elephants. The handlers are well informed and they really do a wonderful job.

Thank Thatano031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanElephants, Owner at Adventures with Elephants, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2018

Thank you for your review & we are so delighted that you all had dun & learnt a lot!

Kind regards

The AWE Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adventures with Elephants also viewed

 
Bela Bela, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Adventures with Elephants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;