We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Baeren
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Freihof(Oberharmersbach)
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Gasthof Zuwalder-Stuble(Oberharmersbach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Pension Kempfenhof(Oberharmersbach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Haus Rose(Oberharmersbach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
36
46
33
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
46
33
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach tourwinter wonderlandsmall villagesatellite tvannexbells
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 151 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

Great location and the rooms were a good size and very clean. However the food did not give you a sense someone had made an effort in any way in what was served up. Not a good advert for the culinary reputation of a area that offers so much. Overworked staff were exceptional in their efforts and should be applauded for their hard work. This hotel is used regularly by a major UK tour company who should seriously review the food being served to their guests. We were not the only people with this view. A good trip ruined by very poor and unimaginative evening meals.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JohhnyBGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2017

Stayed here whist on a Christmas Market tour with Shearings. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff were friendly and pleasant. The rooms were cosy and the beds comfortable. Our room was overlooking the local church and the bells rang loudly during the day but not all night.
As usual when abroad the food was aimed at German customers which caused a few of our fellow travellers to have a whinge.( My answer to that is always "if you want British food then stay at home"). We always like to sample the local cuisine and felt that the food here was OK. It was St Nicholas day whilst we were there and on that morning every guest received a chocolate Father Christmas and in the evening a small Bear (Baeren means bear in German). We found the restaurant staff were friendly but service was a bit slow at times probably due to the large amount of guests. the lady in the bar was very friendly and service was speedy.
There was entertainment most evening, the best being an Oompah band who were very enthusiastic and funny. All the songs were in German but the leader of the band apologised for his poor English and did hid best to tell us Brits what each song was about.
The hotel is situate in a small village which is picturesque and the locals friendly and was decorated for Christmas which added to its charm. The local bakery also served some very tasty calkes.
Last but by no means least is a big thank you to our drivers, Ian and Julie, who did their best to ensure a good time was had by all.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017

Our experience was very upsetting we were ignored by waitresses who when they did arrive claimed they did not understand our language refusing to serve us a jug of water despite being asked 3 times we eventually asked the courier to order it for us but they still refused saying if we wanted water then we pay despite serving jugs at other tables saying that we had to buy wine to get a jug of water even though we had already done so!!! This continued throughout the stay service was poor we shall certainly not be going back

Room Tip: Rooms adequate some noisier than others guest were moved to other accommodation away from main hotel not good
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lesleypshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2016

Our group have stayed here on 3 occasions and have always had excellent service, lovely food, traditional entertainment and great value for money.
The setting is perfect, beautiful and well placed for lots of Christmas Markets.
The staff were very helpful beforehand, recommending excursions, booking things for me and generally just being nice people!
The village is pretty, and the small Christmas market is wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LenSylviaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2016

Good welcome but twin room had both beds together, could not pull them apart. On complaining someone came and made up the bed setter as second bed. Room was the most dismal I have stayed in. Very dark, had to use a torch to see into the wardrobe. Bathroom small and dismal, all brown tiles and old fashioned. It would help if they used decent light bulbs rather than the energy ones. Even those don't brighten when left on. Food good and plenty of it served by helpful staff.
A major problem is the smoke. Reception and the Bar out of the question for non smokers also for anyone in a room above the front or rear doors.
Another major problem is that there is nowhere to sit. As our room was so dire we wanted somewhere to sit and read our books, and hopefully have a drink. This was not possible as the reception area (which only had four seats) was out of the question due to people playing cards and or smokers.
All in all a disappointing visit.

Stayed: December 2015
3  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews