We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
60
22
5
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
22
5
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 92 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2015

There is great and personalized service, food is awesome, location is near to perfect, although you have to walk about 200 m to the beach it is still fine, it is great to wake up in the middle of the rain forest with nothing surrounding you but trees, probably the only drawback is the lack of AC on the room, but heat its still manageable.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bogarpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Majahua S, Gerente at Majahua Hotel Selva, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2016

Thank you for your commentaries, we are pleased that you enjoyed the food, the jungle hillside and the beach.
We do have now ONE of the Suites "La Puerta" that has optional AC. As you mention depending on the year and "global warming" from November until May the heat is manageable without it. From May until the end of October people that are used to have AC do need it. All the other rooms have a celling fan and a foot fan plus the room cross ventilation.
Thank you again and we hope to host again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I just had a spectacular vacation at Majahua! Our fantastic host, Fernando, picked us up from the airport in Puerta Vallarta. When we arrived, there were already friendly staff waiting for us to help us carry in our bags and show us to our room. The suite was very spacious, clean and elegant. The best part was the ocean crashing right below us! We loved the fact that the grounds around the Majahua were kept as natural as possible. Fernando and staff not only made delicious food at the ocean side restaurant, they made the best Mojitos I have ever tasted! Majahua was the perfect place to get away from the crowd and relax in the sun.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stoverpotpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The location is great, definetly not for everyone(it's on a hill, you excercise on the way to your room), simply nature as it is!!!!, we stayed from April 6th to 9th, THE BEST VACATION EVER, the staff was friendly and always helpfull, so was Carmen and Jose!!! We recomend it to anyone who likes adventure, walk and spend a relaxing time, there's simply no way not to relax!! We rhink of making it an anually trip!!!
Laura & Paco Enríquez
Chihuahua, México.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PacoEH07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2014

You cannot drive to the site. An uphill slog from beautiful Mar de Jade, next door, to the dining area, which does have a fine view of the beach, far below. From there, to get to your room, there are 63 steps cut into the steep hillside. Steps that are of uneven heights, uneven stone, poorly lit, and with no banisters. Dangerous for little kids and anyone with knee or breathing difficulties.
The room had thick walls and small windows, at least half the lights and plugins did not work and wi fi was unavailable. There was a rundown, overall feel of not caring.
However, the stalwart, cheery Francisco was great and Rosa is an excellent cook. We were there six days and spent most of the time at the welcoming Mar de Jade.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Majahua S, Gerente at Majahua Hotel Selva, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for your comments Sir. , as they will help other travelers to understand more about the concept of Jungle Hotel that “Majahua” is and choose the right place for their vacations.
Yes warning! Please read the information and look at the many pictures that are on “Majahua” web page before booking.
“Majahua” Jungle Hotel is built on the flank of a hill by the sea, it is not possible to have a flat hillside. There are many prides of being only six rooms in 2.5 acres, one of them is that you do not park the car by the door of your room ( motel like) ,this is that you walk thru nature from the parking area to get to reception and more to go to your room. If your knees hurt when walking or have breathing difficulties why choose a hillside hotel ?, of course when you get to your room you won t even see the windows . TWO of the SEVEN windows that Suite “A” has measures 1.20 m ( 4 ft ) wide by 2.15 mts (7 ft ) high each.
Yes Francisco is a cheery stalwart, if you have told him any problem in your room he was there to listen to you and to solve the problem. Thank you again and have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I spent 9 days in Chacala over Christmas break and happened upon Majahua on our first afternoon exploring. We rented a house in town so do not have any experience with the hotel aspect of this place. What I can vouch for are the dynamite margaritas in a magical setting overlooking the water, as well as the attentivenes of the host and owner. We were with another couple and there were few days in the whole stay that someone in our party didn't walk the beach and end up for a beverage and sunset at Majahua. The setting is so unique and tranquil - very intersting architecture and design with killer views. The paths can be tricky to navigate in the dark so come prepared with a flashlight and wear sturdy shoes if you are walking from town. We spent our last evening enjoying the seafood paella we had heard so much about from the owner, as well as an octopus starter. FANTASTIC! We ordered ahead of time (you need to tell the owner a day in advance or at the very latest by 3 the afternoon of your dinner if you want the paella). By ordering ahead of time, we substantially cut down the wait time that some reviewers mentioned. Everything was ready to go when we arrived.

Last but not least, the owner gave us a map and gave us excellent instructions on climbing to the crater on the hilltop behind the hotel. We had heard tell of this nice hike to the crater and could not find any sort of path until the owner helped us out yet again! He let us walk through the interior of his property to access the road/trail to the top. Highly recommend checking out this place, at the very least for sunset drinks!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TXND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews