We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back Marcelo ”
Review of Hotel al Caminetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel al Caminetto
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Torri del Benaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

One of the best and most relaxing places I have been... I have been coming every year but not for a little while..... Brilliant family run place with breakfast! Grab a room with a balcony and enjoy some nice wine and nibbles from the local deli!
Hope to be back soon

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

5 - 11 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Came here for 5 days as we had a friend's wedding in garda. After hours on a bus we finally arrived and were so excited to unexpectedly find the hotel had a pool at the front. We were then welcomed by the host and his gorgeous little dog, hercules. We had to wait 20 mins for the room to be ready but in that time discovered we were literally a minute's walk from a little beach area on the side of the lake. The hotel is also across the road from the ferry to mardeno and is 5 mins from the castle and centre of the town. Breakfast was included and we had a wide variety of choice (I got excited to find vegan margerine!) and my carniverous friend found lots of meat and cheese to satisfy. We didn't eat an evening meal there but had a couple of alcoholic drinks (I recommend the godfather which was the strongest i've ever had). Room was always clean, but to be eco friendly you do not get fresh towels each day which we were not bothered by but just be warned if you are used to this. there isn't a kettle either but the hosts are very helpful and I'm sure they would provide something if needed. Also make sure you have Italian plugs for the sockets (universal ones have two thicker prongs to fit) but again the hosts tried to help us best they could in this situation! Overall would definitely recommend and stay here again. Fab little find!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Polerad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Torri is a small quieter town on the lake which makes it a great place to stay. The hotel is on the main road ( and just across from the lake)but as soon as you pull into the driveway the plants, flowers and softly playing music help you relax. Our room was beautifully decorated and we had a view of the lake (somewhat obstructed by buildings) because we were on the 3rd floor. The room was spotless and the bathroom had a good shower. The breakfast was amazing! So many items- one of the better continental +++ we've enjoyed, especially for the price of the room. Definitely a good place to stay if you visit Garda.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RoBah20th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

This was our second stay at Hotel Al Caminetto. Our first was three years ago and it's nice to see the hotel still doing so well. Not a lot has changed - in a good way! The hotel is in a great location just 5 minutes stroll from the harbour. The staff are friendly and will help you however they can.
The breakfasts are lovely and a cocktail when you return from an evening out is a must!
Our room was a very good size and immaculately clean. We had a large balcony and the hotel has a nice public area to sit and relax in. Car parking is very handy just outside the front of the hotel.
We love Torri Del Benaco, it has a lovely relaxed feel and plenty of lovely restaurants. Would recommend both the resort and the hotel to anyone!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

I must say I was a bit skeptical when we arrived, but that feeling was soon gone.
The young man and his father are doing a great job taking care of this nice little hotel. You can see from the start that they are putting a lot of love in this hotel.
Plus the small dog of the owner is a nice plus if you like dogs.
The room was very clean, with a view to the front (you could see a bit of lake) and a huge balcony.
In the evening after we arrived, we had a few cocktails sitting outside and I must say that those cocktails (made by the son) were one of the bests I ever had. We had to wait a while, probably a bit too long, but the waiting was totally worth it. Like with the hotel, you know he was paying attention to the details and doing his best which we could taste right away.
Two little things why they got only four points: The A/C turns off between 8:30 am and somewhere around 2 pm. I wouldn't mind it too much but the A/C was too weak for this summer that the room never really cooled down even 'running' all night. Next upgrade should be some new A/Cs.
2nd point: The breakfast which was included was totally fine. I especially liked that they had a lot of gluten free bread and cookies etc. The only thing is that with a few things, like the orange juice, you could taste that they were trying to safe some money and go with the cheapest version.

The location of the hotel is perfect. If you asked the owner, he will recommend you a nice restaurant and if you are very lucky you will get 10% off for dinner as we did!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katarina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights at the start of our honeymoon travelling around Italy. Would highly recommend both the hotel and the town as places to stay as a base to explore Lake Garda. Room exceptionally clean and we were given a choice between two rooms on arrival. Our chosen room was on the second floor and although the view of the lake is obscured by the hotel opposite, it was possible to see some water from our balcony. It was very pleasant to sit out on the balcony or the hotel terrace with a drink. The hotel is situated around 5mins (walking) from the centre of the town and we ate at a number of restaurants over the days we spend there. L'Olympa was our favourite and situated on the water front. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and spoke excellent English and German (the resort is mainly made up of German tourists). The hotel knew we were on our honeymoon and the final night they made the blankets into a heart shape and gave us a little present. Breakfast was included in the price and a range of cereals, cheeses, meats, eggs, fruit and pastries were supplied daily. Can't fault the hotel and would definitely stay again!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank L87SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

This is an outstanding bed ; and, wonderful full breakfast lodging in Lake Garda region of Italy. They have many rooms with nice view of Lake Garda, with a nice balcony. The rooms are large enough with nice desk for computers. WI FI is offered thruout the hotel; and, is is very fast! The beds are very comfortable, The rooms cleaned daily to perfection. The maid and linen and towel service is equal to many FIVE STAR HOTELS we have stayed at.
The location on the lake could not be better. It is right in the middle, with quick access to bus or ferry service to other parts of Lake Garda. We especially liked the efficient ferry service to Maderno right directle across from Torri. We had several lovely lunches there,
Two cities a must are Malcesine and Riva Del Garda. Both of these are quick fderry ride to each, The castle in Malcesine can not be misses. Riva Del Garda has the very best restaurant in the area in my opinion in RESTORANTE AL VOLT, ViaFlume 73, Riva del Garda. Do not miss it!
Back to Hotel Caminetto. Marcello (English excellent, as with four other languages) really provided us with outstanding service, even room service on two occasions when my wife failed to rise as early as I did.
The bathrooms, shower, etc are very ample in size, with lots of extras in towels, wash cloths, etc.
I must mention how great the breakfasts were. I prefer Granola, yogurt, and fruit; and, they had ample choices for me. My wife prefers eggs, ham, meats, cheese and fruit with great selection of breads, rolls pastries, etc. We were impressed with the numerous selections.
The place inside and out was kept spotless and clean with numerous early sweeping and vacuuming repeatedly.
But above all we loved the central location that allowed us to explore the entire Lake Garda region trom top to bottom!!


Ed Altman

Room Tip: We liked the third floor the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eddiethea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torri del Benaco hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#1 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
295 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel del Porto
Hotel del Porto
#11 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
126 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Garni Marina
Hotel Garni Marina
#2 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#14 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
57 reviews
3.9 km away
Albergo del Garda
Albergo del Garda
#17 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
48 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel al Caminetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel al Caminetto

Address: Via Gardesana 52, 37010 Torri del Benaco, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Torri del Benaco
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torri del Benaco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Torri del Benaco
Price Range: $159 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel al Caminetto 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the slopes of Monte Baldo, known as "the Botanical Garten of Europe", on the Riviera degli Ulivi of Lake Garda, Hotel Al Caminetto offers its guests a pleasant and relaxing holiday favoured by its mild Mediterranean climate. Good Italian food, lovingly prepared by the landlady Mrs. Vanna herself, and a large selection of wines with a guarantee of origin can be enjoyed in the inviting and comfortable dining room. The whole place is clean and well looked after which shows the traditional quality and simplicity of a family-run hotel. The bedrooms, which are tastefully and elegantly furnished, have a balcony and come with bathroom, direct-dial phone, safe, Satellite TV, radiator and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel al Caminetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Caminetto Torri Del Benaco, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing