We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”
Review of Les Phoenix

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pauillac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Phoenix
Ranked #1 of 4 Pauillac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We arrived at this (quirky) place and were a bit surprised to find that although we had a short as requested, the loo was next door.

The host is gracious and generous and we quickly got over it with a relaxing laze by the pool (cold water but in the heat it was lovely) and the ice creams that he kindly brought out for us.

The room was clean and the shower excellent.

Breakfast was a large affair with fruits, pastries, toasts, cakes, yoghurts etc. We were chatting with the other guests and the hosts and I explained that due to toothache and tablets my Fiancée couldn't try the local wines which was ironic because I wasn't as keen on Medoc wines. Our host disappeared and came back with a glass of cru bourgeois Pauillac red and cheeses and meat for me to try. I was sold and luckily he stocks as few bottles and I bought one.

Although slightly out of place with it's location, and having a split of two houses the hosts are so eager to help and please that I am happy to recommend it as a chamber d'hotes.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jrapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix-0156, Propriétaire at Les Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016
Google Translation

faire connaitre et apprécier notre région est primordial.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2015

My wife and I stayed here on the 7th & 8th June on our long dstance bike ride across France. We were fortunate at that time that nobody else was staying there so we had the place to ourselves. The premises are spotless and very well equipped. Les Phoenix would have scored full marks had the rooms had private bathrooms. The owner could not have been more helpful and did everything to make us welcome. The weather was very hot and we wanted to get underway on our bikes at 6.30am to beat the heat. In spite of our portestations the owner insisted that he would get up and make our breakfast - which he did at 6am! That is very rare!

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix-0156, Propriétaire at Les Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016
Google Translation

savoir écouter et entendre est une valeur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2014

Great to meet two nice and helpful hosts. Thanks Christopher for picking us up at the train station and also drove us to the two nearby Chateau - the Lynch Bages and Ponte Canet!! A smart choice for us to stay here for a one day trip in Pauillac.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hoho1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2014

We stayed at Les Phoenix after a long day of wine-tasting in the Médoc, as we didn't fancy driving back to Bordeaux. Their price was very good, breakfast was included and they had a good selection of cheese and bakery products. Ice cream was available for free, which we enjoyed. The two things that prevented a higher ratings are the fact that wifi was not included, and that the bedroom walls were very thin, and I got woken up at night by coughing noises from other customers.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KenChanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix-0156, Propriétaire at Les Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016
Google Translation

désolé pour le désagrément cette demeure au départ n'était pas prévu pour accueil touristique.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Christophe and Nicole were excellent hosts. Realising my difficulty walking, they went out of their way to make things easy for us. Treats and meals in the garden. Laundry included. Comfortable room with shower and washbasin, toilet next door. Very useful advice on wine and food and what to see in the area. I can’t thank them enough for making our little holiday such a special one. How we came to arrive a day late will always remain a mystery, but Christophe and Nicole took it in their stride and quickly became good friends.
The whole area smells of vineyards and good wines. If that sounds like a good holiday, this is a perfect base. The seaside to the north is fun too - family-oriented and slightly old-fashioned.

Room Tip: If you've got time, use the ferry from Blaye (pronounced like Captain Bligh) to Lamarque to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix-0156, Propriétaire at Les Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014
Google Translation

nous avons eu plaisir de vous recevoir, nous restons simple pour toutes circonstances. A bientôt pour de prochaines vacances.
we were pleased to see you, we remain simple for all circumstances. Stay tuned for next holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Nice place, really handy for visiting the vineyards (recommend Lynch Bages and Michel Lynch)around the corner, everything within walking distance. If you arrive by bus or train give the owner a ring he will pick you up! The night we stayed we had the whole house to ourselves it was very luxurious, and there is plenty of space for the kids. The owner is such a nice helpful person.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfitz0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

My mother and I stayed here in the second house for 4 nights in September as we were participating in the annual Marathon du Medoc. Situated in a great location about 15min walk to station, 5 to the Carrefour supermarket and 15min to the waterfront, Les Phoenix was comfortable, enjoyable and homely for our entire stay. As previous reviews have mentioned Christophe really does go above and beyond to ensure that everything is ok, from preparing a wondrous breakfast spread each morning (think warm croissants, pastries, toasted baguettes, homemade jams and more),and providing information about the different chateaux to visit, to genuinely being concerned when I had a minor sprained ankle during the marathon, providing ice, painkillers and a bandage for the injury. We enjoyed being able to mingle with the other guests at the communal table over breakfast, especially as most of them were participating in the run as well. The pool available to use was also a bonus on a few hot days while we were there, and for our post-run recovery! Thanks to Christophe and his family for a great stay in Pauillac.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saree_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix-0156, Propriétaire at Les Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014
Google Translation

nous sommes très heureux de savoir que vous avez passé un agréable séjour et nous faisons une joie de vous recevoir a nouveau merci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pauillac
0.9 km away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
0.5 km away
Hotel de France et d'Angleterre
17.4 km away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Le Coeur des Vignes
Le Coeur des Vignes
#2 of 4 in Pauillac
15 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Les Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Phoenix

Address: 21 rue Jean Mermoz, 33250 Pauillac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Pauillac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pauillac
Price Range: $69 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here, the owners of places have sense of reception . They accept every public with the same respect and the same enthusiasm.very close to the town centre of Pauillac, in a quiet quarter, a recent pretty home put down on a big livened up garden swimming pool for happiness babies and bigin the rez of putting on, a big modern kitchen on stay and entrance which make service of common room. A lot space and of light to stay in peace there.The comfortable rooms and from good taste receive you with their new furniture. Two rooms have a corner washbowl. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing