We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
29
77
55
31
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
77
55
31
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 204 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2016

We stayed for 2 nights. This hotel is good value, compared to others in the area.

We cycled there - they have a secured garden area where one can park bicycles, and it feels very safe.
The rooms themselves are in a motel style, with a common balcony leading to each one. Ours smelled a little like smoke when we entered first - that didn't bother us, but ask ahead if it would concern you.
The downside for me: no air conditioning and no easy way of naturally ventilating the room - only a fan. You could open the window but I would not recommend doing so if asleep as it's directly beside the door, and the way in which the window opens makes it possible for any would-be intruder to simply put their hand in and unlock the door. (Sure it feels safe but I'm not about to leave a window open to prove a point!). So, the upshot is, the room is closed, it's very warm (>35 degrees in August) and there is a fan, but it has limitations. Not so much fun if you're trying to acclimatise.

The shower is good - high pressure but can occasionally 'spray' a little.
Decor fine - could do with a wardrobe instead of a curtained alcove, but no issues otherwise. We were on the first floor, which I would recommend as it feels more private.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Evening_bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Perfect location for a trip to the wonderfull region of Medoc.
Rigth in the center on the Quai in Pauillac. A city in the center of the great areas of Medoc.
Nice and spacy rooms with all needs covered and a big terrace with excellent serving of lunch and dinner.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JesperKrarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is on the front at Paillac with a clear view of the Gironde estuary from the terrace bar. We were there as part of a group and had rooms at the back which were shady and quiet. We also ate dinner on a table at the back which was private and shaded from the hot sun, and stopped us disturbing anyone else. The food was local and deliciously cooked and we got good wine recommendations from the waiters. The service was excellent and very friendly, but the rooms were small and a bit tired. I'd stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Barkbysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2016

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while we explored the northern wine country. We wanted something fairly far north and Pauillac turned out to be a pretty good choice, though St. Julienne would have been another possibility.

The Hotel de France & d’Angleterre is located at the southern end of the waterfront, not far from the excellent Tourist Information Center. Free parking is across the street in an open lot or along the side streets. The front desk staff were efficient and friendly. The lobby opens into the hotel restaurant (we didn’t try it so we can’t comment) and into a small courtyard with additional rooms beyond. We were in the main part of the hotel on the second floor (room 119) overlooking the waterfront. The room was small and simply furnished with a luggage stand, desk & chair, two night stands, a low but comfortable bed (with low and hard pillows) and a built-in closet with a curtained entrance (no safe), a few hangers and just one shelf. There was no other storage space. Wifi was ok. Despite its location overlooking the street it was quiet. There was no a.c. but at this time of year we didn’t need it.

The bathroom was adequate-sized with a tub/shower combo. The shower head tended to “wander” and there was some grout discoloration. The counterspace was ok.

All in all, the Hotel de France is a comfortable place, adequate (but hardly outstanding) for a short stay.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

No problems here. Acceptable English spoken and understood, very helpful and courteous personnel. The room has two areas, two and three stars. We stayed in the 3 star wing, found the room to be as expected, nothing to complain about. Quiet, comfortable. Good Wi-Fi! Recommended.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Espen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews