We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de Saint Paterne
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Hussard(Alencon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ibis Alencon(Alencon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
234
61
11
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
61
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsdining roomone nightset menubefore dinnertable tennisswimming poolfirst floora wonderful stayhis wifemain coursean excellent restaurantlambhigh ceilingsan aperitifgreat hostsbeautiful building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for one night and did not fail to fall under the charm of this place. The charming hosts will receive you personally, even hosting an aperitif in the garden every day. Excellent breakfast buffet with a large variety of food. The rooms are all different but they seem to all face the beautiful garden. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stekype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The castle is a wonderful place to spend a romantic weekend. The rooms have all the details, you can also book a massage and enjoy a fantastic dinner and walk in the moonlight. We arrived by car, not sure if there is better access by public transport.

Room Tip: There is a room behind a secret door in a tower.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mariasalvarez2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Had a 2 day stop over on our way back to the uk. This place is great as really close to the motorway so doesn't feel like you do a detour at all.
Firstly we had a lovely welcome and we were pretty much the only ones staying in the chateau so had the place to ourselves. We had a candlelit dinner in front of the fire on our first night which was absolutely lovely and the food was delicious. This is an old fashioned chateau so don't expect any modernities!
I think would be lovely in summer and the grounds are beautiful, it's not cheap but we enjoyed our stay nonetheless .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Camilla88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

The Chateau is literally one of the most amazing places I have ever been too. Our room was lovely, the grounds are stunning and the food is among the best I have ever had. The two meals we had there were a rival to any of michelin starred restaurant I’ve been to. The experience of having drinks on the terrace and then eating in an intimate dining room is truly special. I’ll remember the Citrus Buerre Blanc that we had with trout for a long long time! Segolene and Charles-Henry are excellent hosts. They tread the line of hotelier and B&B owners perfectly with just enough interaction but not too much. I’m so thankful that they have offered their home to stay in - the house is truly breathtaking. If I didn’t go back year after year I’d be very sad!

Whether you’re going for a longer break as we were to whether you’re stoping off on your way to the south it is well worth dropping in to the Chateau. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to the Dordogne. It proved to be a most enjoyable break from motorway driving.

The experience is somewhere between that of a country house hotel and a visit to the home of (well heeled) friends. The house is impressive, but has a lived in air. The service is friendly.

Dinner was a set menu. Excellent food without frills or fripperies. Pre dinner drinks were served by our hostess, Ségolėne de Valbray, who has a charming manner as well as excellent English. The atmosphere was not formal, but I was glad that I had brought a jacket. Over dinner, each couple or group had their own table.

Breakfast was a good buffet, served in the dining room.

Our dog was made most welcome throughout.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fasaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews