We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“return to peaceful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Light and bright charming self contained cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Light and bright charming self contained cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Light and bright charming self contained cottage
spacious open plan living/kitchen/diner
lots of space to get ready!
super comfortable king size bed
brand new luxury shower room
double height living room
view from living area
view from bedroom window
barbecue and seating area
seating area behind cottage
cosy and warm in winter
one acre walled garden
Lovely in the spring
surrounded by beautiful gardens
Hot tub, 12 metres from cottage, on request from April - October
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Cranleigh, Surrey, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christoph...
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“return to peaceful retreat”
Reviewed August 6, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

we returned for our third visit, this place is in a great location for visiting family for us. All so it situated perfectly (in our opinion) to visit in Surrey and not to far from London, but one the main reasons we keep coming back is that you can shut yourself off from the the world in the private walled garden and recharge your batteries if want to. Such a relaxing stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christoph...
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“return to a little secret in the english country side”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

this is our second visit to Rooks cottage, just as delightful and idealic as our first vist. Barbara is very welcoming and is willing to help you any which way she can. The surroundings are peaceful and beautiful you can just arrive and forget about everything else. We will be returning in the future.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Thank you so much Chris for your kind review.
I look forward to greeting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you Deborah for your lovely review. It was a pleasure hosting you at Rooks Cottage and I do hope that you will visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
curtistra...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous Fabulous Fabulous”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A stunningly beautiful place to stay , Barbara was SO helpful and friendly ,and when my children and grandchildren came for the day , one granddaughter thought that it must be a ' Princess's garden, the other thought it must have been the setting for ' The Secret Garden.'
The breakfast pack was a huge surprise, very welcome, Bed was as comfortable as my own , and towels, linen, utensils etc were all excellent. It is very close to amenities, ( Cranleigh is beautiful with lots of good , independent shops and places to eat ) and Guildford, Godalming , Arundel all easy drives . Trains to London etc from Guildford so a perfectly placed , tranquil place to stay. But my overriding memory is of the utter peace , tranquillity and relaxation we experienced.We'd had a traumatic previous 6 weeks due to unex[ected family bereavement , and returned home totally refreshed and relaxed .... MUCH better than a health farm. The garden is so beautiful and peaceful we just sat out there most evenings , drinking wine and reading, having spent glorious , full days out every day. None of this would have been possible without being made to feel totally welcome and at home by Barbara. A perfect holiday stay in every way Thankyou

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being made to feel totally at home
Liked least: Pot holes in private road outside property filled with flint , made for bumpy ride ....a minor point , but the only thing i could think of to say
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for the fabulous review. It was a pleasure having you stay at Rooks Cottage and I hope that you will come again one day.
Best Wishes, Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania M
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely accomodation”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was cosy with all the essential amenities. Barbara was very accommodating and the location is perfect for couples who want to get away and enjoy the peace and quiet of the country. There are plenty of walks and attractions in surrounding villages however a car is needed. Booking a taxi when we wanted to go out in the evening did prove difficult, early booking would be advised.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danshephe...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great relaxing little stay at Cranleigh”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We literally have just returned today from our little stay in Cranleigh! Barbra was such a pleasant and joyful host, she made our stay that more relaxing! The cottage is stunning, bed is comfy and surroundings so peaceful! The only nick picks I'd have would be the cooking facilities as I tried cooking a full breakfast one morning, but it seemed quite a long task on the oven/cooker counter top! Jacuzzi is up by the main house but Barbra gave us plenty of privacy and it was amazing! 100% would like to return and somewhere I would recommend to anyone wanting to relax!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max M
Esher, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely getaway”
Reviewed January 22, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a weekend in mid January and had a lovely stay. The cottage is well equipped for everything you need, comfortable and perfect for a little getaway. Barbara was very helpful when we turned up and even recommended a few good restaurants to go to during our stay.
We had a great stay and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a nice little cottage that feels away from it all, but within easy distance to civilisation and surrounded by nice walks in the Surrey Hills.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing