We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bianconi(Killorglin)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$137
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tralee Townhouse(Tralee)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tralee Benners Hotel(Tralee)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Ashe Hotel(Tralee)
US$100
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Anvil Bar(Boolteens)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
57
34
9
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
34
9
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdingle peninsularing of kerrylarge double bedb bseach morningfamily pubfull irish breakfastroom was very clean and comfortablesalmonfront of the housewithin walking distancenext morningstayed one nightfresh fruitwould definitely stay here againkillarney national parkcows
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 109 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2011

first stop on our 13 day self tour of ireland. the rooms were comfortable, breakfast selection was more than adequate. the town was small and we could walk to the pubs and church/cemetary. mary and her daughter made us feel as though we were family, directions, things to see and overall kindness throughout our stay.people in town were extremely friendly and helpful. would definitely stay here when in ireland again. jack the dog is well and as welcoming as the rest of the "murphy's"

Room Tip: pay in euros, folks work hard
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2011

What a beautiful area! farmhouse lovely, loved my cuppa & muffin when I arrived, thank you.
I stayed in a single room which has a view out of the window over a flat roof & other room windows - disappointing. The ensuite shower room was truly miniscule ( I thought it was a cupboard door, and at first was wondering where on earth my ensuite was!!). .. you almost touch knees with the shower door when you sit on the loo!! The sink is in the bedroom.. that tells you how small the shower room is!! The room although comfortable and spotlessly clean could do with updating decor wise.
I was disappointed that there was no evening meal available as that was a reason for me booking (as a single traveller). I ate at the Anvil Bar about 4 mins walk away).
I feel it was a little over priced given the view out of the window and the tiny ensuite.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singleparentfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Murphy's Farmhouse is a so lovely & quiet place to stay.
We've been there 3 nights.
Mrs Murphy's & her daughter are nice and friendly. The Breakfast is delicious & generous !
We thank them a lot, our stay here was so well located to drive in the Kerry and Dingle areas.

Looking forward to come back :)

Amélie & Laurent

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMLOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a self-drive trip to Ireland. Our first stay was at Murphy's Farmhouse in Boolteen's Village just outside Castlemaine in County Kerry. You will be hard put to find a more delightful place to stay. We arrived about 3:00 in the afternoon and were greeted by Mary Murphy who welcomed us, showed us our room and then asked if we would like tea. We accepted and it was the best tea we have ever had. The farmhouse is located 100 yards off a road perhaps 300 yards from the village. In the background are mountains. Mary's house is partially covered with ivy and she has roses and other flowers to welcome you. An easy and pleasant walk of 10 minutes takes you to the village where there is a choice of two pubs for sandwiches and a Guiness. The room was very large with a queen size bed which was very comfortable. The shower was great, a lot of power. The room was very comfortable. We had our first Irish breakfast with Mary Murphy. You will not go hungry. Mary served eggs, sausages, bacon (which is more like our ham) and black and white pudding. There was also fresh juice, cereals, breads. And Mary served tomatoes and mushrooms with breakfast. The puddings are different for Americans, but it was a great meal. We stayed two nights and Mary's hospitality was incredible. The farmhouse is also centrally located for going to Dingle or getting over to Killarney to tour the Ring of Kerry. Dingle is less than an hour even when you don't know how to drive on the left. Take your time, relish the oppotunity to meet and have interaction with the wonderful Irish people. And don't stay in hotels. Stay in wonderful places such as Mary Murphy's Farmhouse.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prabedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Murphy's Farmhouse was an excellent location for touring Dingle Peninsula, Ring of Kerry, Tralee and other areas in the southwest of Ireland. Enormous breakfast with many choices, comfortable rooms, powerful showers, room straightened and fresh towels every day. Mary Murphy's beautiful flowers in front of the house added to the beauty of the area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews