We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Farmhouse and family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murphy's Farmhouse

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Murphy's Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boolteens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Farmhouse and family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed at this wonderful farmhouse for 4 days and loved every minute of it. It is a working farm with the whole family involved with the day to day operations. We loved the view to the pasture from our room. We could watch them pick up hay in the afternoon. If you took a short walk to the back of the house you could watch the cows get milked in the mornings. Her garden in front was really beautiful. The breakfast selection was the biggest we saw during our stay in Irelandand delicious. Mrs. Murphy was very helpful with suggestions on which tour operator to take for Ring of Kerry as well as providing an extra early breakfast so we could hit the road early for Dingle. If we come back to Ireland we would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LALAPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    27
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

first stop on our 13 day self tour of ireland. the rooms were comfortable, breakfast selection was more than adequate. the town was small and we could walk to the pubs and church/cemetary. mary and her daughter made us feel as though we were family, directions, things to see and overall kindness throughout our stay.people in town were extremely friendly and helpful. would definitely stay here when in ireland again. jack the dog is well and as welcoming as the rest of the "murphy's"

Room Tip: pay in euros, folks work hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outer London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

What a beautiful area! farmhouse lovely, loved my cuppa & muffin when I arrived, thank you.
I stayed in a single room which has a view out of the window over a flat roof & other room windows - disappointing. The ensuite shower room was truly miniscule ( I thought it was a cupboard door, and at first was wondering where on earth my ensuite was!!). .. you almost touch knees with the shower door when you sit on the loo!! The sink is in the bedroom.. that tells you how small the shower room is!! The room although comfortable and spotlessly clean could do with updating decor wise.
I was disappointed that there was no evening meal available as that was a reason for me booking (as a single traveller). I ate at the Anvil Bar about 4 mins walk away).
I feel it was a little over priced given the view out of the window and the tiny ensuite.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank singleparentfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

Murphy's Farmhouse is a so lovely & quiet place to stay.
We've been there 3 nights.
Mrs Murphy's & her daughter are nice and friendly. The Breakfast is delicious & generous !
We thank them a lot, our stay here was so well located to drive in the Kerry and Dingle areas.

Looking forward to come back :)

Amélie & Laurent

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMLOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Kentucky
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

My wife and I just returned from a self-drive trip to Ireland. Our first stay was at Murphy's Farmhouse in Boolteen's Village just outside Castlemaine in County Kerry. You will be hard put to find a more delightful place to stay. We arrived about 3:00 in the afternoon and were greeted by Mary Murphy who welcomed us, showed us our room and then asked if we would like tea. We accepted and it was the best tea we have ever had. The farmhouse is located 100 yards off a road perhaps 300 yards from the village. In the background are mountains. Mary's house is partially covered with ivy and she has roses and other flowers to welcome you. An easy and pleasant walk of 10 minutes takes you to the village where there is a choice of two pubs for sandwiches and a Guiness. The room was very large with a queen size bed which was very comfortable. The shower was great, a lot of power. The room was very comfortable. We had our first Irish breakfast with Mary Murphy. You will not go hungry. Mary served eggs, sausages, bacon (which is more like our ham) and black and white pudding. There was also fresh juice, cereals, breads. And Mary served tomatoes and mushrooms with breakfast. The puddings are different for Americans, but it was a great meal. We stayed two nights and Mary's hospitality was incredible. The farmhouse is also centrally located for going to Dingle or getting over to Killarney to tour the Ring of Kerry. Dingle is less than an hour even when you don't know how to drive on the left. Take your time, relish the oppotunity to meet and have interaction with the wonderful Irish people. And don't stay in hotels. Stay in wonderful places such as Mary Murphy's Farmhouse.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prabedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

Murphy's Farmhouse was an excellent location for touring Dingle Peninsula, Ring of Kerry, Tralee and other areas in the southwest of Ireland. Enormous breakfast with many choices, comfortable rooms, powerful showers, room straightened and fresh towels every day. Mary Murphy's beautiful flowers in front of the house added to the beauty of the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

I booked my stay at Murphy's farmhouse based on reviews I had read. My room was lovely, very comfortable and roomy. The bathroom was tiny. Sitting on the toilet my knees touched the wall. Could not be claustrophobic and use that bathroom.
I could not get anyone to answer the door when I arrived. I rang the bell and knocked numerous times. Finally, I called on my cell phone and told her I was standing in her hallway.
The owner furnished tea and cookies when I arrived. That was a nice treat on a rainy day.
The breakfast was standard and the service was pleasant. I did not see the owner again after I checked in.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — unresponsive
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Flutterbyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boolteens
9.9 km away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
36.6 km away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
12.4 km away
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
Towers Hotel
Towers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenbeigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
23.7 km away
Brassil's Guest House
Brassil's Guest House
#1 of 2 in Ballyheigue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 km away
Kerry Ocean Lodge
Kerry Ocean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Glenbeigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Farmhouse

Property: Murphy's Farmhouse
Address: Boolteens | Castlemaine, Boolteens, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Boolteens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boolteens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Murphy's Farmhouse is a sixth generation dairy farm nestling at the foot of the Slieve Mish Mountains on the Dingle Peninsula. The farmhouse is ideally located for touring the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula, as Castlemaine village is the gateway between both areas. This traditional and comfortable farmhouse is renowned for its friendly welcome and excellent cuisine providing an extensive range of breakfasts to choose from which will satisfy the most discerning of food lovers. You can look forward to refreshments on arrival. Murphys Farmhouse has 14 en-suite bedrooms with television, tea/coffee making facilities, electric blankets and king size beds. It is ideally located for organised tours. Transport is also available. Location: Murphy's Farmhouse is located 150 metres from Boolteens village where guests can enjoy the local entertainment and music in Murphy's Bar. Boolteens is located along the Dingle Peninsula road 1km from Castlemaine village. For the golfing enthusiast Murphy's Farmhouse is ideally located as it is within a 30 minute drive from the following world renowned golf courses, Killarney, Ballybunion, Barrow, and Dooks. Walking is another activity that the area is proud to offer, Murphy's Farmhouse is perfectly situated for the Kerry Way and the Dingle Way walking routes. For the visitor seeking a more leisurely holiday, Inch Beach - Blue Flag Awarded - provides over 3 miles of safe sandy beach. Kerry Airport - 7 miles. Shannon and Cork Airport - 2 hours drive. Tralee and Killarney provide train services - 20 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Murphy's Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Farmhouse Boolteens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing