We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just got back from the Gaviotas Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Certificate of Excellence
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just got back from the Gaviotas Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Fabulous family holiday, may be a bit quiet for teenagers or people looking to go out on the town but we really enjoyed our stay. Great if you enjoy nice long beach walks, proper sand for the kids! Nice spacious rooms, very clean, microwave and fridge included, handy for heating baby food. Good childrens entertainment even if it was mainly German! The food was absolutely fine and varied there was always something different on the menu, nice salads, pastas and pizzas, fish and meats from the grill. Some evenings there was Chinese or Japanese food which was delicious. You help yourself to drinks, glasses or bottles of wine and cava, beer, spirits, tea and good expresso coffee, this meant no waiting to be served which can be a problem in some all inclusive establishments. The staff were all fantastic, they seemed happy in their jobs and nothing was a problem.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from the entertainment would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela186351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    297
    67
    29
    7
See reviews for
490
318
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BIRMINGHAM
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We have just returned from the Gaviotas Park and we really enjoyed our stay. The majority of the staff were German but that was not a problem as most were very pleasant. I understand from speaking to other British guests that the number of Brits had increased this year, so maybe it is going the right way if you prefer that.
The food on the whole was very good and always something you will like - sometimes it was not piping hot, but how many times do you get everything perfect when you are abroad? Breakfasts were excellent, good selection at lunch from either main restuarant or snack bar (not forgetting you can also use the other gaviotas hotel, although we found it a bit too busy at times). 4 times a week there was a specialised themed evening meal at the pool bar - Asian, Oriental, Bavarian & BBQ. We went to Oriental twice as it was great, BBQ was pretty good but a bit busy queing at just 1 grill, Asian was fully booked when we tried to book the night before as very popular, so suggest you book a few days in advance. We didn't try Bavarian as we thought it may be geared too much towards the Germans!
Beer was very good and wine very nice - just help yourself to bottles of Red, White or Rose and champagne was freely flowing from breakfast.
Animation staff were great during the day - especially Javi who was great fun for Adults & Kids. The evening entertainment was as usual 'hit and miss' - a couple of great shows (liked Michael Jackson show), a couple of poor one's and the rest were average, but again the Animation Team worked very hard.
The beach was excellent - nice waves and breeze. You can walk for miles down the golden sands, feed chipmunks out of your hands or try the various watersports if you wish.
Rooms were spacious and kept very clean. The air con was a little noisy and the wind on some nights did rattle the balcony doors at times (we were back of hotel, overlooking car park but did have a side sea-view).
We were surprised that the Tennis was not included under the Al-Inclusive - it cost 14 Euros for an hour (2 rackets) and you didn't get anything back! This was the 1st time we have had this and feel the hotel needs to look at reviewing this.
Other things I liked - peanuts on the bar, icecreams and most sweets, life guards at swimming pools were very friendly and always willing to help to find beds etc., the bowling bar in the other hotel was nice for kids (bowling alley, pool tables, air hockey, darts, table football).
On the whole very good and would definately consider returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WAVECRESTBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed for one week end July 2011 (41, 43 + girl 12), The greeting from reception was excellent and possibly one of the best I have experienced. The layout of the hotel was clearly explained and bags delivered to the room in a timely manner. The rooms are very spacious exceeding our expectations; they were very clean and bottled water replenished daily. A lick of paint is rather desparately needed as for an Iberostar Hotel they are looking a little shabby and dated. It will also pay to check the patio door after the maid has been as on three occasions it was closed but unlocked. As per other reviewers, the beds are a little hard.
The food is acceptable but not great. As an example, why no orange juice at breakfast? There is a rather nasty tasting selection of squash available but sorry Iberostar, this is not juice, why can't we have it please? We did use the facility of taking our evening meal at the sister hotel, Playa Gaviotas (no Park).This hotel has many more German clients who I guess have higher expectations than us brits; the food here was of a better standard and the atmostphere was much nicer, though this could be a reflection on us brits? I would suggest dining in this hotel as much as possible. The service is efficient in both hotels and the staff very polite, removing used plates etc very quickly. There is plenty of alcoholic choice including spirits freely available to pour for yourself!
There are many notices and letters informing you not to reserve sunbeds and that towels will be removed; as usual this is not enforced at all, after 8:45am you cannot get a sunbed if you havent got one already. we observed one of the rather nice four poster sunbeds reseverd for over five hours (we were on the next one), without ever seeing whos towels wer on them! Much of the time it is the towels enjoing the sun, not so much people, as probably only 25% of the beds are occupied at any time which is a real shame for many others. The pools are clean and the area surrounding is well maintained and a good quality snack bar available throughout the day.
The beach is fantastic and you should make the most of it; there are a number of nudist bathers close to the lighthouse but these shouldn't pose a problem for most people these days.
The resort of Jandia is rather dull, possibly not helped by the ever increasing all inclusive hotels that doubless kill off many of the bars etc that gave the town some life in the past. Many of the shops are empty and those that are open are mostly a bit tacky. Some gems exist but you'll have to look hard to find them. In general we found most of the towns in the south dull an lifeless in the daytime.
In summary, if you are happy to stay at the hotel for the whole of your week (two would be a struggle for anyone!), and you're not bothered about visiting the local area then this will suit you fine. Canary Island weather is not for everyone; strong breezes catching many a sunbather out and sometimes spoiling what would be a fantastic day of sun. I'd be happy here for three days, after that it was pretty boring.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the pool/sea, the others are dull
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40somethingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed here for a week at the beginning of July. Firstly, we had amazing weather and it certainly helped to make for a great holiday.
Rooms were well maintained, clean, comfy and spacious. Although not much English TV, we didn’t watch it, so no big problem for us. I’m veggie and my fella is a total carnivore, and we were both very happy with the choice of food available. Breakfasts were great, lunch was either at the pool par or the main restaurant, and had more choice in the larger main restaurant. Evening meal gave a plentiful selection and wines were good.
Drinks were of good quality, and you could get certain branded ones included. The cava, sangria, port were enjoyed by us both. Although I’d have liked some JD, this wasn’t available. There are even lollipops, jelly beans and peanuts in the bar!
The staff throughout are great, friendly, and very good prompt service.
The beach is amazing and we went through the sister hotel (Gaviotas Playa - lift down to floor 2 and walked out – there is a lovely bar here at this hotel especially nice on an evening overlooking the sea) although if it is sometimes too windy the sand gets everywhere. It’s a short walk to the shops and there’s a weekly market – but I wasn’t greatly impressed by the repetitive selection off goods.
The pools and clean and water was a good temperature at this time of year. We always managed to get a bed, even got a 4 poster one once which was very comfy!
English folk are definitely in the minority and we were aware of this prior to booking and it wasn’t an issue at all for us. But just to bear in mind if you are interested.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaaCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Experience Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Iberostar with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed all our services and felt so well attended to by our staff.
We assure you that we will continue working to improve your next experience with us.
Yours sincerely,
Online Experience Manager, Iberostar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solinn
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

pros; Staff very friendly, AI very good, food good but only for one week then you get bored of the same selection. Nice pool area. 5 min to a nice beach down a slope. Evening entertainment range from exelent to very poor. A full sea or a pool view is a must, nice rooms with small balcany.
cons; A lot of Mosquitoes in rooms therefore the rating of cleanliness. Towels reserve the sunbed very early and the management dont care. Even reserved a whole days without using, mostly Germans. To get a sunbed and umbrella ypu must reserve before 9 ! We bought photos at the Hotel photographer, they gave us a dvd without many of our photos, complained with email but hotel didnt care to reply.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank solinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

booked hotel for my husbands 4oth. Fabulous location, right near to the beach. Good sea views. Very good and safe for children. Staff were very friendly especially the entertainers. Food was hot and there was a good choice. Beds were abit hard. Rooms were cleaned every day. Fresh bottled water supplied. Would definetely go back.
Swimming pools were very nice, great for all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We (2 adults & 2 children aged 11 & 8) enjoyed an excellent week at the Iberostar Gaviotas Park & would love to return sometime. All the staff were polite, efficient & helpful, & even managed to track down a children's sun suit which had inadvertantly been sent to the laundry with swimming towels!
The food was wonderful, though there was pretty much the same things on offer each day. However there was so much choice that there was no need to eat the same food all the time, & they never ran out of anything. This was the first time we'd been all-inclusive & would certainly pay the extra to go AI again. We thoroughly enjoyed a themed a la carte meal at the neighbouring Hotel Playa Gaviotas one evening, & also found out on our last night that there is the option to eat at the poolside restaurant in the evenings, where there was a barbecue (this may be seasonal??). Plenty of pizza/ pasta/ child- friendly food too.
Yes, there were hundreds of Germans, & they do get their towels out early, so we adopted the "if you can't beat them, join them!" policy, & no-one seemed to remove unattended towels as it states in the hotel's info.
The Mini & Maxi clubs were excellent, & the staff work really hard. We've been to several hotels in the past offering kids' clubs, but this was undoubtedly the best, with lots of different activities. Evening entertainment for children was good too, with Mini-discos nearly every night, & a parrot show. Mama Mia show much enjoyed by us girls!
We had a lovely suite on the top floor with a small kitchenette (microwave, hob & fridge), but no saucepan or crockery was provided (we borrowed cups from the restaurant for early morning coffee with no problem). The room was comfortable & quiet, & very adequately accomodated the 4 of us.
The only disappointment was that children under 16 are not allowed to use the spa (indoor pool), & this was not stated in our brochure. I did use the spa pools once & was surprised at how cold the water was. However the outdoor pools were excellent (with life guard) & as the weather was excellent, it wasn't a huge problem for us.

Room Tip: Check out the a la carte restaurant (as above)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BritsinAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
0.6 km away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - ...
#4 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
59.1 km away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.6 km away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
#2 of 16 in Morro del Jable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.1 km away
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas
#1 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.1 km away
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
#2 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park

Property: IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park
Address: Urb. Las Gaviotas Pasaje Playa 3, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park hotel is an all-inclusive family hotel in Playa Jandia, Fuerteventura. Next to the IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas and 200m away from a fine, endless sandy beach. Next to the IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas and 200m away from a fine, endless sandy beach. It’s one of the most appreciated accommodations for family holidays with children or couples on the island, as the activities organised by the hotel are designed for all ages and all tastes. Beaches, sand, water. Fuerteventura has a warm climate throughout the year. Its beaches, and in particular the Jandia beach, are wide, with soft sands, deep clear water, and offer all types of sports. For the palate. Gastronomy is number one at both the IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park hotel as well as its twin, the IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas hotel. Breakfast, lunch and dinner from the hotel buffet restaurant offer typical Canarian dishes, as well as Spanish and international cuisine. A full spa. (Charge) To achieve the full connection between body and mind, the SPA Sensations of the hotel practices ancient relaxation techniques. Using natural products, the team of therapists of this magnificent Jandia beach hotel spa develops wellness programmes catered to the needs of each client. The SPA Sensations at Fuerteventura includes a wide range of massages, facials, body wraps and water experiences, among others. Free premium Wi-Fi. Connect to the Internet with Iberostar. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection – 3.5Mb in up to three devices – to use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas Park Hotel Playa De Jandia
IBEROSTAR Playa Gaviotas Park Fuerteventura/Playa De Jandia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing