We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our holiday ”
Review of SBH Taro Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SBH Taro Beach
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Costa Calma
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

So far no particularly good at all.
We have a 3 yr old with us and to start with there is no food at all on the menu suitable for him at all.
Not ignorant but none of the hotel staff speak a word of English meaning communication is very difficult.
We do try by the way to speak their language as best we can.
Out little boy was not so good this evening and despite talking to reception and pleading if we can collect some dinner from the restaurant to enable us to eat in our room this was declined.
We had to struggle with our boy down to eat.
The hotel is quite clean but it appears not very helpful.
Beware if you have any intention of going for a wander there is next to nothing to do and you are a good distance from the next resort, some 25 mins away by taxi.
The resort has very minimal places to eat approximately 5 restaurants and nothing really special to eat and relax in.
I would not recommend anyone comes to this hotel or resort with children.
Will not visit again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Zak1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Zak1124,

Thank you very much for writing your comments about your stay in our SBH Taro Beach.

Our hotel is located just right in front of the beach and has a direct access. Near the hotel our clients can find bars, restaurants and a variety of shops and shopping centre as well as a pharmacy.

We are very happy to cater for different nationalities like Italians, Germans, English, Spanish etc. Normally our staff, started from the front desk to the house maid, is ready to help and solve any questions and most of our staff speaks different languages.

We offer a big variety of food on the normal buffet for our children, where the parents can select the food, like soup, pizza, chips, fish, nuggets, salad etc for their children. Our kitchen prepares a vast choice of international delicacies freshly on a daily basis.

It seems that we could not meet your expectations at all. Hopefully you will find better options in the future within our hotels of SBH.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

went on a family Holiday me with my 3 children ages 9, 9, and 7 with another family, the sfat are very friendly and make you feel welcome. kids loved the holiday but we don't go an many and give the kids a beach and a pool and they will love it.

my problem was it is not a 4 start hotel which Thomson admitted once we got there, and the facilities were very limited. Food is nice and a lot of variety but still not 4 star quality.

over all we did have a nice time but i would not rush to go back unless it was a lot cheaper because i know what to expect.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mr R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear R M,

Thank you so much for having left your detailed review of your stay in our hotel SBH Taro Beach. We appreciate reviews like yours as it helps us to improve our service. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and we try to fulfil their expectations on a daily basis.

We would like to assure you that our hotel has 4* Standard. Our maintenance team is on duty everyday to repair minor faults and if needed assist the customers with anything they might need. This guarantees the upkeeping of our 4* Standart.

We would like to mention that our chefs prepare a variety of foods on a daily basis. As we cater for a wide range of nationalities, we offer an international menu as well as we offer to our clients a wide range of choice between fresh fish and meats, daily soups and vegetables. We also have themed nights in our restaurants such as a Spanish night.

Again, thank you for sharing your impressions. It gives us the opportunity to improve and offer better service hope to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Well, it's our last night at the Taro Beah Hotel, WOW What a hotel!! Food-Amazing, great choice -something different each night -spoiled for choice!, Room - lovely and spacious -very very clean, superior double overlooking the beach, Staff - Fantastic, always pleasant, couldn't do enough for you!, Pool - very clean and large, Sunloungers -sturdy and comfortable and plenty of.
Only 2 negatives - no ball games in the pool and all-inclusive drinks finishes at 11pm, but we had a fridge in our room so we just purchased a few bottles of wine and some cans from the supermarket and had a drink on the patio over looking the sea after 11pm.
This has been one of the best holidays we've ever had!! The beach is stunning, clear water, clean beach, great sun beds (approx €18 per day for 3 with a brolly), there is a restaurant on the beach called Horizonte which serves lovely food if you want a break from the hotel.
Taro Beach Hotel also has a beach bar which is idyllic and has great views.
Please go all inclusive as virtually EVERY drink is included and the meals are amazing!
Costa Calma itself does not have much in ways of Cafes, restaurants etc, but a 10 min walk to Bahia Calma shopping area there are a few restaurants including an Italian which is called Mamma Mia's which serves delicious Pizza.
All in All, a fantastic hotel, Beach and resort (even though tailored more for the German visitors).
It's mostly German, French and Polish at the Hotel and Costa Calma but that didn't bother us as there were no lairy drunken Brits around to spoil it (Brits ourselves so we know!). The Germans can be a bit rude (they don't know what a queue is!) BUT at least they are well behaved.
WE WILL BE BACK WITHIN THE NEXT FEW YEARS!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank vfarmer2235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Vfarmer2235,

Thank you very much for have taken the time to write a review about our SBH Taro Beach. We are very pleased you are happy with all aspects of the hotel and have made the decision to visit us again in the future.

We are delighted to read that you had enjoyed one of your best holidays here with us.
All our staff is very thankful you for your kind words as this confirms our well doing and pushes us to continue with our excellent service.

The high quality and variety of foods and drinks on offer are mentioned here on Tripadvisor very positively. Our chefs prepare a large choice of freshly prepared food on a daily basis. We offer food such as fresh fish, meats, etc.

We are greatly looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We stayed in SBH Taro Beach for 10 days in June 2017.

First of all, a few negatives: our room was rather small - we had booked a studio apartment, and it really was just too small for us.
The television service was rather poor: Fuerteventura is on the edge of many European services, but satellite coverage should not be impaired. We had only two English language channels: CNN and MTV - not much of a choice.

However in spite of these details, it was a lovely holiday. For a start, we arrived quite late in the evening, and when we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist told us that a plate of food had been put aside for us in the restaurant - this kind of thoughtful attention to detail meant a lot to us, and was borne out throughout our stay.
The daily maid service was very good - the beds were made and the towels changed every day, including Sunday.The receptionists were friendly, cooperative, and well-informed. There seemed to be plenty of staff to do the various maintenance jobs that need to be seen to, and they certainly appeared to be proud of their work.
The entertainment team was just two - Johnny and Johanna. They were pretty overworked, between doing various poolside games by day, followed by their multilingual cabaret shows in the evening.
The half-board option proved fine for us. Breakfast tended to reflect German taste, with plenty of meat and cheese, and ther ewas always fruit, muesli and various cereals. There was boiled, fried and scrambled egg every morning, and pancakes.
Evening meals were always high quality, with abundant salads of various kinds, roast pork / chicken/ beef / duck, fish, pizza and pasta meals each day and plenty of vegetables made in various ways. It would be quite OK to eat vegetarian every day if we wished.
Most of all, though, we loved the position of the hotel. It faces directly on the beach of beautiful golden sand, so it was just 100 yards from our hotel room to the sand. Costa Calma is quite a quiet resort, there was not much in the way of commercial activity or nightlife anywhere nearby apart from the cabaret in the hotel itself. This did suit us just fine though.

We are hoping to come back again next year.

Room Tip: Bring your own kettle and iron
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Stephen R,

Thank you so much for having left your detailed review of your stay in our hotel SBH Crystal Beach. We appreciate reviews like yours as it helps us to improve our service. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and we try to fulfil their expectations on a daily basis.

We are glad to read that you spend a lovely holiday here with us that we have met your expectations of our facilities and services.

Sorry, if you have received the impression that we are more oriented to the German taste. We cater for a lot of different nationalities among them English, German, French, Italians, Spanish, Polish, etc. hence we offer international food. Our clients can enjoy fish, meat, veg, salads, soup, pasta, etc. and live cooking every day.

We will also look to installing more English channels for our English speaking guests.

We still hope that you were able to bring back some positive experience and memories and we would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Sbh Taro beach, Costa Calma, Fuerteventura

Good - Food was good, room fine - did not find mattress hard. Pool was lovely and comfy sunbeds. Staff nice and drinks were okay.

Bad - We were the only Brits there apart from one elderly lady and a couple we only met at the end of their holiday. Key cards for entry into your room don't seem to work well - we had 3, had to have them re-set and finally insisted maintenance look at door mechanism. They did this within 20 minutes of asking and managed to fix it, pity we were going home next day.

Ugly - Hotel is like a concrete maze, very ugly beige high walls everywhere on way to room and restaurant. Wall outside one set of rooms was sellotaped!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Liz L,

We appreciate your valuable feedback and taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are sorry to see that not all aspects of your stay were up to your expectation. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. Fulfil their expectations is our highest goal.

We would like to point out our hotel is not only designed for one market and we always had a wide range of nationalities like German, British, Spanish, Polish etc. in our hotel.

Our kitchen staff and chef prepare a variety of good quality food on a daily basis. That way we can guarantee a big choice and freshness in our meals.

Our technicians are resolving each defects or repairs. Our entrance doors are delicate, and so we always suggest to our guests to keep away the key card especially from mobile phones, as this can lead to the blocking of the door.

Once again we thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and we would be happy to welcome you again in our SBH Taro Beach.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

To be honest, I was hesitant to book this place having read so many of the not so great reviews. I'm really glad I listened to my gut and booked it. I had a great vacation.

Here were the pros and cons:

PROS:
FOOD: It was actually quite good. I saw a lot of comments saying it was not great but the truth is that if you eat the dishes that are more for local people, like the Mojo and the fish, you can't go wrong. I would avoid any Italian food here, as it did not look great. There was a good level of variety, the food was freshly prepared, and there were never any lines to get a dish. The restaurant staff were all very accommodating and efficient.
LOCATION:great location. The beach was literally in front of the hotel and it was a beautiful beach. Not too crowded, white sand and long. Loved it. There was also a little supermarket where you can buy odds and ends just outside of the hotel. The room had a small fridge where you could stock your items- very convenient.
GROUNDS: very well kept grounds. The pool was immaculate. The brightly colored bougainvillea creeping up the walls and running over the trellises was really something. The breakfast area outdoors was a joy to have our breakfast on.
QUIET: There was some entertainment available in the evenings but they did this in the downstairs area and this ensured that there was no noisy music in your rooms, which I really appreciated.
VIEW: we got a ocean view room and it was actually a true ocean view. Absolutely amazing view. I could not have been more pleased. The balcony was really big and offered plenty of privacy with its high walls.
STAFF: very friendly, always available.
GUESTS: I noticed in the T/A comments that a lot of people were complaining that the hotel had a disproportionate number of German guests. While it is true that it seemed the guests were mostly German, with a few Italians and Brits thrown into the mix, I really don't understand what the problem is. Everyone I met was respectful, friendly and well mannered. Definitely a plus in my opinion.

CLEANING: The cleaning staff were good. No complaints.

CONS:

BEDS: Wow, this was probably the biggest con. The beds were really not comfortable. They were hard and when we woke up we would have sore backs or shoulders from the bed. All three of us slept poorly because of the mattresses. I asked at the front desk if by any chance the hotel had bought any new mattresses and the girl grimaced and said that all the mattresses were like this. What a shame! I would certainly have rated this with five stars had I had the chance to get a better nights sleep. Good mattresses are super important for a hotel that promises a relaxing vacation.

NOISE INSULATION: this was a bit of a shame. We happened to be under a family with young children that played, I think soccer, in the room. Problem was that the kids would start to rough house past 11:30PM so it was hard to fall asleep. Not sure I can put this down to a problem with the hotel room, as the night prior to the arrival of this family, we did not hear any noise.

COFFEE: do not come here for the coffee, it is down right awful.

WIFI: the wifi the hotel offers, for a fee, is weak and intermittent. I recommend using your own calling plan. Vodafone picks up quite well.

AGE: the hotel needs a general updating, like the couches are really not great- starting to show their age. Was not super happy to sit on them.

SUMMARY: All in all, I had a really great, relaxing vacation. I would definitely come again to this hotel if I were to learn that they got new mattresses. Otherwise, I'm not certain. Missing a week's worth of sleep was tough. I really want to go back because I liked almost everything else about the experience but would have a hard time without a better mattress.

ADVICE: if you can sleep on anything, then don't hesitate to book, it really is a great value. If you need a decent mattress, maybe call and ask them if they intend to buy any before you book.

Room Tip: We had room 711 and it had a great view. Suite that could sleep up to 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gina-lucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Dear Gina-Lucca,

Thank you very much for have taken the time to write a detailed review about our hotel SBH Taro Beach.

Our hotel is located right on the beautiful beach of Costa Calma where you enjoy a stress free and relaxing holiday.

Our maintenance team works daily to maintain our 4* standards. They repair minor faults and help customers whenever they need a hand.

All our clients enjoy the service of AI in our hotel, where the normal coffee is included. In order to offer a better flavour to our guests, they pay a small amount of 1€ to enjoy an exquisite coffee.

Our colleagues of the reception do their best to offer alternatives, in case that one client is unsatisfied with the assigned room (depend of the availability of the hotel).

In order to offer a good basic rate to our clients, we can not offer extra charges like Wife without any supplement. We are working on it to improve the quality.

We will consider all your comments to improve day by day and follow to meet our clients’ expectations.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Room look like it wasn't updated since 1990! Squeaky balcony door, fridge empty and not working, tiny TV probably 15'',no free wifi. If you want you can pay for WIFI 15Euro for 4 days per ONE Device!!!What a joke!
Room safe is 10 Euro plus some deposit.
Food pretty good on breakfast and huge choice
Good hotel location but sea view wasn't great
Majority of older people at the time mostly from Germany

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank chriskb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Taro Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Dear Chriskb5,

Thank you very much for your review about our SBH Taro Beach.

Extras like safe or Wifi are charges for the guarantee a very good basic rate. We are very sorry that you were not informed about it prior to your stay even though it is explained in all travel catalogues.

We have passed your comment regarding of the non-functional fridge and have informed our technical to check and repair it immediately. We would also like to mention that our fridges are empty.

We would also like to point out that our hotel is not only designed for German and we always had a wide range of nationalities and different ages in our hotel.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Calma
3.9 km away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.4 km away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
0.6 km away
SBH Costa Calma Palace
SBH Costa Calma Palace
#3 of 27 in Costa Calma
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
SBH Crystal Beach Hotel & Suites
15.8 km away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.5 km away
SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH Taro Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH Taro Beach

Address: De Ltu, s/n, 35627 Costa Calma, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sunrise Taro Beach)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Costa Calma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Calma
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Calma
Price Range: $138 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SBH Taro Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Informal ambience in the accommodations with half board or all inclusive, relaxing entertainment and privileged location at Costa Calma, directly on the long white sand beach and only a few meters from the shopping center with various stores, restaurants, bars, banks, car rentals, drug stores etc. are some of the features that make SBH Taro Beach an ideal place to spend a pleasant vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your SBH Taro Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Taro Beach Hotel Costa Calma
Sunrise Taro Beach Costa Calma
SBH Taro Beach Costa Calma, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing