We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feeling sorry we had to left so soon”
Review of Mekong Bamboo Hut

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampong Cham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mekong Bamboo Hut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

this place is magical. friendly french owners are really helpful and nice, we had fantastic dinner menu including fantastic 'sick' soup. some good drinks and overly bombastic evening with perfect people. good place for meeting more travellers. happy to experience this.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ondrej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2016

We had heard about the Bamboo hut from a friend in southern Cambodia and were not disappointed: the place is made and maintained with SO MUCH love. You feel part of a family during the communal dinners (the food is delicious!). We spent three days there, played golf on the Mekong, card games after dinner and had great conversations with the other guests. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bettina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

When we arrived we were invited to play golf in the dried out mekong. I learned how to turn on the slackline and played chess with the owner until late in the night. If you like circus stuff (juggling) and games then this place is your paradies. The family meals in the evening were just perfect as well.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

I never stayed here. Even though I'm not the guest, the lovely couple was still welcoming us warmly. You may find a small football field (without grass), a hidden slide to Mekong river, a playful slackline, a relaxing spot to chill and natural voices. If you love nature, I'll highly recommend to you. And remember to visit on 2nd of February, you may bump into a happening birthday party for the owner.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cici Lim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this beautiful place for three nights and enjoyed every single minute! It's a little paradise just next to the Mekong and there's everything you need: hammocks that are more comfortable than you might think, absolutely amazing (!!) food freshly prepared by Max and his little team, cool drinks & always a good company. You can rent bicycles or a motorbike to explore the island with its pagodas and the area around or just relax between lemon and jackfruit trees, enjoying the view over the Mekong River - even a little pool is available.
Definitely the best place to stay we've been to in Cambodia!!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Christian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

Awesome and relaxed place at the riverside. Living kind of an community live on a Mekong island with people from all over the world. Very good food, Max worked as a cook once. Perfect place to stay a week and discover the countryside with a bike. Thank you Max and Hélène

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Tassilo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015 via mobile

This is such an awesome place to stay. The owners a a lovely couple who look after every guests needs 100%. They have created a place with a lovely relaxed atmosphere.

Within a really short space of time you become part of the Mekong Bamboo community. This is largely due to the communal table that encourages everybody to sit and eat together (and drink together!)

The food is amazing. Max and Helen were so good at providing me with vegetarian meals and asked in the morning what I would like for dinner I'm the evening. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them.

The hammocks are extremely cheap at $2 a night or a mattress for $3 a night. All the bedding is very clean.

The bathrooms and toilets are cleaned everyday and are spotless.

I meant to stay for 2 nights and ended up staying here a week. It's a hard place to leave.

I couldn't recommend staying here enough.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Hayley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampong Cham hotels
3.1 km away
Reasmey Cheanich Hotel
Reasmey Cheanich Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kampong Cham
90 reviews
3.0 km away
LBN Asian Hotel
LBN Asian Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kampong Cham
19 reviews
3.2 km away
Mekong Hotel
Mekong Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kampong Cham
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
OBT Chiro Village Homestay
OBT Chiro Village Homestay
#1 of 14 in Kampong Cham
72 reviews
0.0 km away
No photo provided
SunRise Villa
#3 of 9 in Kampong Cham
5 reviews
2.9 km away
Moon River Guest House
Moon River Guest House
#3 of 14 in Kampong Cham
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Bamboo Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Bamboo Hut

Address: Phum Koh Chas | Koh Pene Island, Kampong Cham 31000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kampong Cham Province > Kampong Cham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Kampong Cham
Price Range: $3 - $10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a luxurious garden with plenty of fruit trees, Mekong Bamboo Hut Guesthouse offers an amazing way to discover Cambodia.In the island of koh Pene in a middle of the Mekong river front of Kampong Cham, cross the biggest bamboo brige of Asia and come discover a Khmer traditional life style. In our Guesthouse, guests sleep in a hut, using a hammock or a matress with mosquito net for 3$/night. The place is very relaxing with a platform overlooking the Mekong. We have a bar restaurant with homemade food. Nice beach for swimming on the dry season. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing