We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't just book it...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

We booked an apartment here last year with Thomas Cook for the last week of June. We couldn't help feeling we got ripped off by Thomas cook for price we paid as we heard locals had paid much less and hotel certainy wasnt at full capacity ...but if anyone has planned a lads holiday away you will know how hard it can be to rally troops so a package holiday was easy answer in the end an you always pay a mark up.

As for hotel:

Apartment was 1 bedroom with a lounge and two sofa beds. bright and airy and cleaned daily we couldnt complain although on the small side to squeeze 4lads into it did the job perfectly as we were partying in las Americas every night and sunning ourselves by the pool in the day so weren't sleeping there much. I would recommend paying for air con though which consists of a fan not pre installed. The large balcony is a winner for a quiet drink or two in evening overlooking quiet resort of Los Cristianos.

Location

Fantastic for the four of us. As 25 year old lads we were obviously here to party but not in a 18-30 type of way. We wanted to be away from the action of Americas but close enough to he there by taxi. Los Cristianos certainly delivered. It the "classier" side of Tenerife but I only had Veronica's strip at 3am to compare to and anything is classy compared to that.

There are some wonderful restaurants nearby. I've already reviewed the oyster catcher which is a must see but the Mongolian BBQ was great for 4hungry lads on a budget and there was a nice but expensive Italian

Facilities

The pools are great. Both good size and you have use of the pool at the sister hotel Across the road although we didn't bother. The onsite cafe is great we ate here every day and we can all
Recommend the club sandwich delicious and value for Money.

Overall

My review is caveated with the fact all four of us lads were either fresh out of university or on gap years waiting to start graduate jobs and so money was tight and an option when choosing location an restaurants. What is budget for us may have been expensive for us may not be for others etc

for those on budget this is a fantastic hotel and location. Or even couples young and old although perhaps more to the older generation as Los cristianos is so quite. Even as a budget resort shop around as for a self catering resort based on two sharing originally it was £600ish which i believe very expensive for tenerife or europe full stop but the place is flexible to sleep 4 to a room which is why we brought two more on board.

I'd recommend for lads or girl groups who want a quiet place in the day away from brash and Chav americas but who wants to experience the brash and Chav after a few drinks come midnight via short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

First visit, appartment was clean and well equipped for our needs. Maid service excellent.
Loved the pools, plenty of sun-beds for all. Vistied over Easter and temperture was hot enough for us. Siam Water Park worth a visit, as was Jungle Park. Kids loved it all too.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
6  Thank paula5957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just got back after a great family holiday in the Cristian Sur (2 bed self-catering).
Staff were friendly, apartment was basic but clean, 10 minutes to the beach. It is an attractive-looking complex with lots of greenery around it and in the courtyards. Very pleasant. It's also in a part-residential area so the noise of the bars stopped around midnight, and it wasn't at all rowdy. The 'heated pool' is barely heated, but the pool is lovely and clean. The water is apparently safe to drink BUT we bought 5litre bottles for 82c (around 70p) from HyperDino supermarket just to be on the safe side. Overall great - We would go there again.
A few tips:
* Most 2-bed apartments are split-level with a bedroom upstairs and one downstairs (and a thin spiral staircase) so just bear that in mind if you have small children or travelling with someone with impaired mobility.
* Autoreisen car hire at the airport is cheap and straightforward (we paid £60 for the week, including free childrens car seats). Car hire in Los Cristianos is very expensive in comparison.
* The Glass bottom boat trip from the port is brilliant - lots of whales and dolphins to see.
* Orange Tree cafe by the complex does great English breakfasts for 2.50 euros (and pleasant service too).
* the supermarket by the complex is ok BUT the nearby HyperDino supermarket 5 minutes walk away is MUCH cheaper and has more variety! Unfortunately we discovered this too late...
* Mt Tiede is worth a visit BUT the cable car is 25 euros (adults) 12.50 euros children and to see the volcano crater it's another 40 mins walk plus a pass which you need to apply for online before going. Interesting though :-)
* 3 beaches within walking distance - all clean and well kept.
* checkout is midday but there is a luggage room and toilets / showers available, plus fresh towels and shower gel.
Would recommend.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views and are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Squiggles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

apartment was clean and tidy as usual , good facilities , we have stayed here 3 times now and have booked for july , we love it.
Did not love the drunken very noisy scousers (everton fans) singing football songs and generally being noisy and rude until 3am .
this was not the fault of the cristian sur , although security guard could of told them to be quiet ??

Room Tip: ask for poolside if possible if you like that kind of thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamespershore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The HG Cristian Sur apartments are twinned with their sister apartments, the HG Tenerife Sur, which lie directly across a busy road. Guests at the Cristian Sur may use the facilities of the Tenerife Sur and just as well it has the only heated pool between both complexes.
When booking it is worth noting that you may be allocated an apartment in either complex but that the two bedroom apartments are all situated in the Cristian Sur and are all on the second floor (with no lifts).
At first sight our two bedroom apartment was clen, tidy, spacious and basic with the second bedroom situated upstairs and accessed via an open plan spiral staircase. Beware of this staircase as it is not suitable for the infirm or children. It is very narrow and is barely secured to the wall cuasing it to sway and move when being used.
Service at the Cristian Sur was pleasant enough and any minor complaints regarding the apartment were dealt with promptly.
Should you arrive and be allocated an apartment overlooking the main road ask for a move immediately unless you are partial to singing along with the patrons at the karaoke bars across the road every night - there is no soundproofing in the apartments at all.
As stated the complexes are advertised as having five pools three of which are heated - not so, the only heated pool (and it is barely heated) is at the Tenerife Sur complex. Plently of sunloungers and mattresses but few parasols leading to the ridiculous sight of people standing guard over parasols from 7.30am until the sunloungers are unchained at 9.00am - completely unbelieveable!!
The apartments are situated a 10-15 minute stroll to the resort centre and rather shabby looking harbour. Sadly the whole strip from Los Cristianos to Playas de las americas is an incongruous mix of fashionable stores and restaurants mixed in with strip clubs, pole dancing bars and very poor restaurants. It has a very seedy feeling.

In Summary:

Apartments - solid 2/3 star but don't expect sophistication.
The resort - needs a lot of TLC
Redeeming features - Margaritas restaurant (100 metres from the Cristian Sur) - quite superb service and food!!!
Siam Water Park - tremendous for all ages - would be hard to beat it for value for money

Room Tip: Avoid apartments overlooking the main road - too much noise from karaoke bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steph794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed for a week in early march. The hotel was basic but offered everything a couple could need on a week self catering.
Twin room, open plan living area with a kitchette that contains hob, microwave, toaster, kettle and plenty of cutlery and utensils.
The complex has 4pools (two heated) and two mini markets on site, providing most provisions.
There's bars and restaurants a short walk away in all directions & Los Cristianos beach is a 10min walk away with a bigger beach a few mins past that beach.
Weather was in the mid 20s so made the trip even better, would recommend to couples of any age & off season seemed like the best time, as there was plenty of people but not crowded

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have been to this complex on and off for over 10 years. It is slightly dated and in need a little make over but the rooms and complex is great. They have two pool, two supermarkets and one bar on site. The area is surrounded by amazing restaurants. It is only 20 minute walk to the beach front. The rooms are clean and spacious and most have great views of the mountains, sea or swimming pools.The staff are very helpful too. The apple pie from the supermarket next to reception which goes through the complex is just to die for!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view which is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisW1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Cristianos hotels
0.1 km away
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
HG Tenerife Sur Apartments
#8 of 13 in Los Cristianos
985 reviews
0.3 km away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,424 reviews
0.4 km away
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
H10 Big Sur Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Los Cristianos
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#4 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,537 reviews
0.2 km away
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
Checkin Bungalows Atlantida
#11 of 13 in Los Cristianos
1,044 reviews
0.2 km away
Apartamentos Aguamar
Apartamentos Aguamar
#3 of 30 in Los Cristianos
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur

Address: Avenida de Amsterdam, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Los Cristianos
Price Range: $90 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Hg Cristian Sur Hotel Los Cristianos
Cristian Sur Tenerife
Apartamentos HG Cristian Sur Los Cristianos, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing