We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointed”
Review of Sinclairs Siliguri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sinclairs Siliguri
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Siliguri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2017

The hotel, generally, appears tired. The service of staff is okay, but they don't go out of their way to assist. What really soured my experience was an email I received from the hotel after I left. In error I had given an incorrect room number when signing for one of my restaurant meals. At check out I hadn't picked this up. The day after I left the hotel I received an email advising me of the missed payment and how I could make the payment. This is all fine and acceptable. But what got me was then literally a threat, stating that if I didn't pay the bill the staff would be made to pay for my error! I did not appreciate this threat or the implied way that staff are treated. Until then my experience had been relatively neutral; neither impressed nor disappointed. However this tipped the balance. I would choose NOT to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Siliguri, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. We have taken note of the concerns pointed out by you and have briefed our team to be more responsive in serving our guests. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. We promise you that your next stay will be a delightful experience.

Regards,
Gunjan Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Sinclairs Siliguri
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

A comfortable hotel in a quiet oasis
Nice tidy rooms and friendly staff who are more than happy to assist to arrange any local transport
Fantastic food from hotel restaurant
I will return again on my next visit!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank JayfromAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Siliguri, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir,

Thank you for an excellent review of our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our food. Your appreciation of the staff will motivate us to work harder to deliver superior services to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Siliguri. We also invite you to visit our six other hotels/resorts in Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan, Ooty and Port Blair. The Sinclairs team in these locations will be happy to serve you.

Regards,
Gunjan Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

I have always stayed in Sinclairs whenever I was in Siliguri in the past. Sinclairs use to be a very nice hotel. I was just there this past month, July of 2017. I wished I had stayed somewhere else this time. The first room on the second floor had water damage on the ceiling and the wooden floor, and the room smelled moldy. The paint was peeling off the ceiling. They moved us to three other room after I complained, they were all the same. One of them had a leaky toilet, the leak was between the tile floor and the toilet itself, when you flush the toilet after use the raw sewage seeped out into the bathroom floor. I will never go back, and will never recommend Sinclairs to anyone.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Siliguri, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your review. We are indeed saddened by the fact that you did not find our services and amenities up to your expectations. The guests generally are appreciative of our property as well as the service. Your experience is an aberration and we promise you a memorable experience during your next stay with us at Siliguri or any of the six other Sinclairs locations.

Regards,
Gunjan Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

An amazing person very cooperative and amazing service in restaurant super amazing guy. He has ensured that our stay remains comfortable. A very enthusiastic guy . Hotel staff is also amazing . Overall a stupendous experience. Service is superb right from house keeping to restaurant staff

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank amrinder s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Siliguri, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review and the wonderful words about our property and the services.We are thankful to you for your appreciation of our team members.Your words of appreciation are all we need as motivation towards providing better services to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Siliguri. We also invite you to visit our six other hotels/resorts in Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan, Ooty and Port Blair. The Sinclairs team in these locations will be happy to serve you.

Regards,
Gunjan Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Rooms are ok but old nerds renovation. Food is not good.good location. Does not have airport drop facilities.dinning near poolside is ok.a bar which caters the need of middle class choice . Never try panda fish ..they are never fresh.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank swarup m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Siliguri, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you found shortcomings in our property. Generally guests appreciate the interiors and overall look of our hotel, therefore little surprised at your comments. The food in our restaurant is made of fresh ingredients as we do not recycle food. The airport transfer is not complimentary; we do arrange the same at cost.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Siliguri. We also invite you to visit our six other hotels/resorts in Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan, Ooty and Port Blair. The Sinclairs team in these locations will be happy to serve you.

Regards,
Gunjan Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

The thing about Sinclairs is that it's dependable, property is very good, professional staff so no unnecessary surprises or goof ups by anybody and of course great food and comfortable sleep quality. It's got a great secured perimeter and is a little difficult to spot as it's on the darjeeling highway so there's a high chance you'll miss it if you don't look for it or carefully slow down. Breakfast quality is excellent, my favourite time of the day. Dinner was also good both buffet and in-room dining. I had probably the best showers in the standard / deluxe rooms that which of course is very refreshing after hard day's work.
The pool is shallow and nothing special. Health club is ok and even if they say they have Spa, they actually don't. So all health club related expectations you can forget. Kind of misleading for Sinclairs on that front.
But overall it's the best you'll get in Siliguri.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aishwarya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Siliguri, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your review and the wonderful words about our property, the variety of our food and the services. Please note that we do have spa but we sincerely regret that the Spa was not operational for certain repairs.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Siliguri. We also invite you to visit our six other hotels/resorts in Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan, Ooty and Port Blair. The Sinclairs team in these locations will be happy to serve you.

Regards,
Gunjan Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

Sinclairs Siliguri is decent property on Hill Cart Road and is centrally located. It has well appointed rooms. Property is well maintained. It has good swimming pool and a gym catering to all basic requirements. Food quality needs improvement. While staff is good , there are at times service delays when property is sold out. We visited during Darjeeling agitation , since property was sold out , it had impacted service standards as well as food quality. My suggestion to management is to ensure there is no compromise on quality and " customer experience". Overall good and comfortable stay . Recommended.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank YogeshSriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Siliguri, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked the location of our property and the facilities.Guest feedback is an invaluable aid in our continuous endeavour to enhance customer experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Siliguri. We also invite you to visit our six other hotels/resorts in Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan, Ooty and Port Blair. The Sinclairs team in these locations will be happy to serve you.

Regards,
Gunjan Gupta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siliguri hotels
3.6 km away
Royal Sarovar Portico
Royal Sarovar Portico
#1 of 27 in Siliguri
327 reviews
3.7 km away
Barsana Hotel & Resort
Barsana Hotel & Resort
#4 of 27 in Siliguri
134 reviews
3.1 km away
Mount Milestone Hotel and Banquets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Cindrella Hotel
The Cindrella Hotel
#5 of 27 in Siliguri
87 reviews
2.3 km away
Mount Embassy Hotel
Mount Embassy Hotel
#19 of 27 in Siliguri
169 reviews
1.5 km away
CHAS Rajdarbar Hotel & Banquets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Siliguri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Siliguri

Address: PO Pradhan Nagar, Siliguri 734403, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Siliguri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Siliguri
Price Range: $86 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinclairs Siliguri 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled close to the Mahananda River and surrounded by lush greenery, Sinclairs Siliguri is an ideal destination for both business and leisure. Perhaps the best address in town, Sinclairs Siliguri is renowned for professional and attentive service. The 41 well-appointed executive rooms and five luxurious suites are equipped with TVs, direct dial STD telephones and modern amenities. Sinclairs Siliguri is an excellent venue for conferences and meetings. The Emperor, a tastefully decorated board room, The Summit, a stylish banquet hall, The Regency, a medium size conference hall, The Heritage, a large pillar less conference venue and the opulent Darbar Hall with an open air terrace are sure to make your meetings a success. The hotel also has a multi-cuisine restaurant, The Palms, and a trendy lounge bar called the 03. Additional facilities include a swimming pool, gymnasium and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sinclairs Siliguri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing