We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very HOT” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ginger Pondicherry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ginger Pondicherry
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in Pondicherry
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very Very HOT”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed in Pondi during March.. The climate is almost as hot as any part of the country where i come from.. Was a leisure trip that my partner and i had. Had to change multiple rooms and this is the second time that i was visiting Ginger in Pondi. The first time also i had the same problems. Horrible service from the staff.. put you through a cumbersome check in process. The good thing though is that they do allow an early checkin. Breakfast is complimentary however very very average. The airconditioning pretty much sucks in all the rooms.. Its a measly 0.8 ton AC which is as good as a blow fan and provides no actual cooling. The room furnishings are in a very sorry state. Door knobs rusted and hinges almost about to break. The water heating in the room is below average. one of the hotel staff came to check the water heating issue... felt the water is luke warm but still says it was Hot. The toilets are also not upto the mark.. found someone elses hair sticking on the bathroom walls. The flush didnt work either. Overall experience though not terrible but very very poor. Ginger needs to rethink how they would want to stick up compared to other hotels in Pondi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PS1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    193
    123
    42
    38
See reviews for
154
126
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Basic hotel meant for business travelers or overnight stay. Nothing fancy. Mostly self service. Enroute to Chidrambaram, we had stayed here for a night. There was quite a bit of construction going on but didn't bother us much. They have a coffee day at the lobby and an outsourced resturant/service at the lobby. Again nothing fancy.
They are extremely strict about photo id even for the secondary guest.

Room Tip: I would suggest rooms in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karjanmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Ginger Pondy needs a MAKEOVER!! Their staff need some serious training and their rooms need some serious makeover.
1. First, they should throw away the small 0.8 ton air-conditioners and fit some 1.5 or 2 ton split air-conditioners in the rooms. There is literally NO COOLING in the room, even if the a/c is run for 24 hours continuously.
2. The Wi-fi (advertised as free!!) never works. Dear TATA, we are ready to pay, but don't fool us by saying, it is free and hence don't bother if it doesn't work. Both the times I stayed, Wi-fi never worked.
3. The TV set was not in working condition.
4. When we asked for ice-cubes, the reply was "please bring a plastic cover and get some from the coffee day outlet".. outrageous isn't it?

What they call as budget may be budget in Delhi or Mumbai. But, in Pondy, you get excellent rooms at 1000 - 1500 per day.. So, Pondy Ginger is not a "cheap" property as they claim. Inspite of this price, we travellers are fooled, as mentioned above!

On the whole, our vacation became a nightmare in Ginger Pondy! I am not stepping there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank euphoricindian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Good stay for you and your family..nice rooms,nice food,4km frm town..comes wit a CAFE COFFEE DAY Too...dats kool.. But to get rid of mosquitoes..never open the window..the complementary breakfast best in class..stand by auto and taxi stand...in short GINGER ROCKZZ...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drbilal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
195 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Location:
This hotel is very much at the beginning of the city on the EC road, just a turn on the right side at the big clock tower when coming from Mahabalipuram.
Though the entry and exit from the hotel is a bit strenuous because of the heavy traffic leading to cudalore.

Parking:
An excellent well designed parking for four wheeler with round the clock security.

About the Hotel:
Nothing to comment on the hotel being a Ginger property, everything was on dot, with clean floors and happy welcoming staff.

About Room:
Having seen a couple of Ginger properties i felt these rooms very bit compact compared to other properties, the worst part was the window air conditioner, the room allotted to me initially , the air conditioning was so bad that even after half an hour after check in, the temperature inside the room was not cool at all considering the size of the room, the same was complained and the staff was good enough to accommodate me in an another room, but i feel taking the hot conditions in Pondi, they should change over to better and powerful air conditioners.

Breakfast:
Excellent south Indian breakfast, the spread was too good, no complaints at all. The North Indian food ordered was not up to the mark, but manageable.

Overall:
I would definitely suggest this property looking out for a clean room in the budget category.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

You stay here, you spoil your vacation. That’s how I would put it across. Ginger Pondicherry was a great hotel to stay a year back with an average budget. Today when I went back I almost vowed not to put up there ever again.

I drove down from Bangalore to Pondicherry. Started at 10 am and reached around 5 pm in the evening with a few halts on the way. The actual drive time would be around 5-6 hours, though distance is only 310 km. Blame it on the bad roads. The road from Chengam (after Krishnagiri) to Tindivanam is like hell and not worth calling road itself - NH66. The stretch is about 50 km full of hue pot holes and sudden broken road that have the potential to break your car down. While the rest of the road you can cruise at 100 kmph. Also travellers check weather before they arrive here as it is really hot during most part of the year and carry enough medicines and drinking water.

I had booked two rooms as my parents also accompanied us for 3 nights. After we reached Ginger they allotted us a room where the electronic keys didn’t work. Despite being tired I had to come back to the reception from 3rd floor and plead. They asked me to manage in the same room and their staff is going to open the room with the normal or non-electronic key. I agreed but there was no solution. Their staff could open the room but the room got no electricity as the electronic keys didn’t work. Back to square one and they allotted another room - they tried to talk me into one of their twin rooms but I didn’t agree. Finally got a standard double room – what I had booked.

There are a few things that you should consider if you plan to stay here. The rooms get very heated because of the sunrays falling on them and they have a big glass on the walls which is not even tinted and prevented with a cheap blind. To make things worse they have what I call a mini-AC which takes a few hours to cool the room and that also is not maintained well. So, if you go out in the morning and return to your room in the evening, the room would be quite a furnace. It’s a peculiar temperature in the room which is not only uncomfortable staying in but also unhealthy. Moreover, the hotel has become a den of mosquitoes. I am not sure if there cost cutting measures have cut down the spray also. I passed a sleepless night there before I could buy mosquito repellents the next day.

The house-keeping staff is worthless and rude. They do not clean rooms until you have repeatedly told them. The bed linen and towels are old and carry dirty patches all over. It’s so bad that with basic hygiene in place it would be difficult to use those bed sheets or covers. Complaining just lands on deaf years and one of the staff told me that they are cleaning things from morning till evening. It is not possible to clean every room :)

Eating here is another waste. The breakfast which hotel might have given you complimentary is completely bogus. All you get to eat is some breads-butter or south Indian food like idly & vada. It’s a perfect chaos there for breakfast where half of the things would not be available and you wait infinitely for food to arrive, besides shortage of spoons, glasses etc. Lunch and dinner costs 200 INR per person per meal. Not worth at all. Same food is recycled over and over.

I have been very passionate about TATA enterprises over all these years. For me that's an Indian name that stood for ethics and quality but I feel that this hotel chain has severely let it down. Also be careful, you need to pay additional 5% service tax, besides what you book by paying. Normally all such taxes are included in the hotel price but they are just getting smarter with time. I paid 1650 per room per night + 5% taxes for service charge.

We spent the whole day and evening outside visiting places in Pondy - Auroville, Aurobindo ashram, the different beaches including unmanned ones and the small shopping street. We ate at a restaurant named Surguru – it’s a south Indian vegetarian restaurant. But you also get enough north Indian stuff to survive. This is a good hygienic hotel with good food. I saw they have been rated no. 1 restaurant on this site as well. Last day we drove down to Mahabalipuram and ventured the sculptures and temples there. The drive via ECR was especially pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saurav-Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamshedpur, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I went to this hotel during new year 2012 (just next day after the cyclone). Staff was very supportive and cooperative. They tried to provide services even after Thane cyclone which is highly appreciated. I highly recommend this hotel for all visitors to pondicherry.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhavuk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.8 km away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#28 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.1 km away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
4.4 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#4 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#30 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#7 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.5 km away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#33 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Pondicherry

Property: Ginger Pondicherry
Address: Old Venus Theatre, Karuvadikuppam, Main Road | Saram Revenue Village, Oulgaret Municipality, Pondicherry 605008, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Pondicherry 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Ginger Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Hotel Pondicherry
Pondicherry Ginger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing