We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tight on Pocket "Ginger" is the answer”
Review of Ginger Pondicherry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ginger Pondicherry
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Pondicherry
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Tight on Pocket "Ginger" is the answer”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We had drove down from Chennai and did not have much expectations with this Hotel. It was intentionally booked by us since we were family of two and had two children each. It was for the weekend getaway and did not want to spend a huge amount since we decide to roam around the town. It is especially designed for travellers who move on tight strring budget. The bathroom were quite ok and there was good supply of cold and warm water.
The kids enjoyed it as the rooms had bright colors and it attracted the kids.
Pondicherry is a nice cosy town and still retains its French charm. Ginger Hotel was not at all a bad experience. The rooms though were small but we did not complain. The service was not bad at all and the breakfast was free. The whole idea was to spend and drive around Pondicherry. I really enjoyed the Aurbindo Ashram.
I would certainly recommend staying in Ginger chain if you are moving on tight budgets and do not want 5 star facilities.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    207
    130
    44
    44
See reviews for
178
128
25
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights with family. Clean room... with basic facility. Good clean dinning place... Very good location... maybe will not be very convenient for buisness trip as everything there is "self service".

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biswajitdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Clean, well-furnished rooms, typical of any Ginger Hotel. Located in the city, off the ECR. however, the road leading upto the hotel is narrow and chaotic. overall, had a pleasant stay, as is always the case with any ginger hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nowisthetime6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed in Pondi during March.. The climate is almost as hot as any part of the country where i come from.. Was a leisure trip that my partner and i had. Had to change multiple rooms and this is the second time that i was visiting Ginger in Pondi. The first time also i had the same problems. Horrible service from the staff.. put you through a cumbersome check in process. The good thing though is that they do allow an early checkin. Breakfast is complimentary however very very average. The airconditioning pretty much sucks in all the rooms.. Its a measly 0.8 ton AC which is as good as a blow fan and provides no actual cooling. The room furnishings are in a very sorry state. Door knobs rusted and hinges almost about to break. The water heating in the room is below average. one of the hotel staff came to check the water heating issue... felt the water is luke warm but still says it was Hot. The toilets are also not upto the mark.. found someone elses hair sticking on the bathroom walls. The flush didnt work either. Overall experience though not terrible but very very poor. Ginger needs to rethink how they would want to stick up compared to other hotels in Pondi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PS1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Basic hotel meant for business travelers or overnight stay. Nothing fancy. Mostly self service. Enroute to Chidrambaram, we had stayed here for a night. There was quite a bit of construction going on but didn't bother us much. They have a coffee day at the lobby and an outsourced resturant/service at the lobby. Again nothing fancy.
They are extremely strict about photo id even for the secondary guest.

Room Tip: I would suggest rooms in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karjanmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Ginger Pondy needs a MAKEOVER!! Their staff need some serious training and their rooms need some serious makeover.
1. First, they should throw away the small 0.8 ton air-conditioners and fit some 1.5 or 2 ton split air-conditioners in the rooms. There is literally NO COOLING in the room, even if the a/c is run for 24 hours continuously.
2. The Wi-fi (advertised as free!!) never works. Dear TATA, we are ready to pay, but don't fool us by saying, it is free and hence don't bother if it doesn't work. Both the times I stayed, Wi-fi never worked.
3. The TV set was not in working condition.
4. When we asked for ice-cubes, the reply was "please bring a plastic cover and get some from the coffee day outlet".. outrageous isn't it?

What they call as budget may be budget in Delhi or Mumbai. But, in Pondy, you get excellent rooms at 1000 - 1500 per day.. So, Pondy Ginger is not a "cheap" property as they claim. Inspite of this price, we travellers are fooled, as mentioned above!

On the whole, our vacation became a nightmare in Ginger Pondy! I am not stepping there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank euphoricindian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Good stay for you and your family..nice rooms,nice food,4km frm town..comes wit a CAFE COFFEE DAY Too...dats kool.. But to get rid of mosquitoes..never open the window..the complementary breakfast best in class..stand by auto and taxi stand...in short GINGER ROCKZZ...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drbilal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.8 km away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#32 of 81 in Pondicherry
99 reviews
1.2 km away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
1.5 km away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#33 of 81 in Pondicherry
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#28 of 81 in Pondicherry
374 reviews
4.4 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 81 in Pondicherry
596 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Corbelli
Hotel Corbelli
#51 of 81 in Pondicherry
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Pondicherry

Property: Ginger Pondicherry
Address: Old Venus Theatre, Karuvadikuppam, Main Road | Saram Revenue Village, Oulgaret Municipality, Pondicherry 605008, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Pondicherry 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Ginger Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Hotel Pondicherry
Pondicherry Ginger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing