We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcom to India”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gratitude, a Heritage Home
Ranked #3 of 160 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was the first hotel we arrived at in india, and was the perfect welcome to the country. We were very jet-lagged so slept really late on the first morning, but virginia kept breakfast for us so we could eat late. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, and courtyard is lovely relaxing. It is located in a very peaceful street close to the sea, although the beach has been completely swept away and it is not so much of a swimming place at all any more. Pondicherry is a good base to explore the local sights.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

Our second stay here following a similar stay last here. We loved it. Gratitude is the most beautifully restored heritage house and one can see the care and attention to detail in the restoration everywhere.

And that standard of care extends to the warmth with which you are welcomed and looked after. The rooms are gorgeous, large and airy and very comfortable. The place is quiet and tranquil with beautiful trees and plants growing in the central courtyard around which the place is built.

You are set up for the day with a large and varied breakfast and then you can wander out into the French Quarter of Pondicherry. Gratitude is very well located and most places of interest are just a short walk away.

We love the place and will be back again for sure.

Room Tip: Each room has something different and unique. We love no. 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russamehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed 5 nights in this wonderfully renovated heritage house, located in the heart of the historic French quarter. The house is a haven for travelers seeking tranquility and a convivial atmosphere. We were stranded at Gratitude during tropical cyclone Thane (30 December 2011) and the owners couldn't have been more helpful; the improvised New Year's eve feast was absolutely memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rostagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Take a look at their website and see if that is what you are looking for. If so, you will not be disappointed. This place is a true gem. I have left a piece of my heart behind. I hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annbeate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

If you want to be far from crowds, this is a place to stay, a heritage home indeed, due care is given by the management to ensure pristine clean rooms and a meditative silence with early morning chants and instructions on due care of this beautifully restored house, just two minutes walk from the Promenade.

Remember this is a home that has been restored with a lot of care, attention to detail and at great cost, it provides you a bed, wholesome breakfast, quiet relaxation. In our case of 8 ladies who could not speak too softly, we still had the option of late evening rooftop parties, kindly accommodated by the management, who understood our need to unwind.

Remember to carry your home footwear (go for a soft variety to avoid scuffing floors) in case you do not find the acupressure type they provide uncomfortable.

Room Tip: No room service, just a well maintained room and excellent day to day care, options for massage on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenukaNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

'Gratitude' is all that is was advertised as and much more. It has been lovingly restored with attention to original architectural detail and yet has most modern amenities that a present day home should have. It is a real home as the owners live there and welcome all their guests like family. The ambience lends itself to slowing down, introspection and contemplation and afternoon naps in the big, comfortable beds. My daughter and I enjoyed meeting the other guests over a healthy, delicious and long breakfast every morning. The devotional music in the background was a bonus and sets the right note for your day. The staff was very helpful and willing to accomodate reasonable requests. Virginia is the axis on which this oasis of calm rotates and Kakoli the brain behind Gratitude's existence. Even Cyclone Thane could not stop them! These two ladies are owed my heartfelt gratitude for making me feel like a long lost friend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

we went to pondy for our anniversary and decided to stay at Gratitude. Got in touch with Virginia, very helpful lady and an excellent host. She also arranged a wine, cake and rose surprise for my wife (btw... she baked the cake herself which was a very nice gesture. Cake was extremely yummy!!)

The place smells of lemon grass and has a very soothing and relaxing feel to it. The beds / rooms / toilets are all streilised and fab india type bed linen / curtains gives the entire place a very heritage feel.

The place is in the french part of pondy and very near to the beach. Virginia also arranged for a heritage walk on the following morning around the town.

Overall a lovely place. Do stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms good. Take any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankitparul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
517 reviews
0.3 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#4 of 82 in Pondicherry
508 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,143 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 82 in Pondicherry
207 reviews
1.4 km away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gratitude, a Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gratitude, a Heritage Home

Address: 52 Rue Romain Rolland Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range: $48 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Gratitude’ is a home and a place of retreat in Pondicherry, India. It has been restored lovingly over a period of three years maintaining the authenticity of the architectural style and method of construction that was prevalent when this house was built. What gives ‘Gratitude’ its true essence is the quiet joy and peace that gives this home a healing atmosphere which is rare to find in the world outside without compromising on comfort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing